The Bookcase

Author: Lo' Rhena

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 596

View: 758

This book is about love and the trials one face, while in love. Love can often be very blind. This is the case with Dyllus Johnson. She was raised in Royal Oaks, a small town in Tennessee. Her parents were struggling middle class people, and she was the only child. Being the only child, she was sheltered from the seedy side of life, and the hurt it can bring. No longer young and innocent, she explains to her daughter about her and her friends’ growing up years. They were filled with comedy, sadness, adventure, and wonderment. Also, she talks candidly about her event filled marriage to Jake, her former husband, the bookcase, and her life after all the love fires have died.

Behind the Bookcase

Miep Gies, Anne Frank, and the Hiding Place

Author: Barbara Lowell

Publisher: Millbrook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 40

View: 861

Anne Frank’s diary is a gift to the world because of Miep Gies. One of the protectors of the Frank family, Miep recovered the diary after the family was discovered by Nazis, and then returned it to Otto Frank after World War II. Displaced from her own home as a child during World War I, Miep had great empathy for Anne, and she found ways—like talking about Hollywood gossip and fashion trends—to engage her. The story of their relationship—and the impending danger to the family in hiding—unfolds in this unique perspective of Anne Frank’s widely known story.

Behind the Bookcase

Author: Mark Steensland

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 288

View: 397

A girl stumbles into a fantastic world in this tale perfect for fans of Coraline, Alice in Wonderland, and The Twilight Zone. Spending the summer at her grandmother's house is the last thing Sarah wants to do—especially now that Grandma Winnie has died—but she has no choice. Her parents have to fix the place up before they can sell it, and Sarah and her brother, Billy, have to help. But the tedious work turns into a thrilling mystery when Sarah discovers an unfinished letter her grandmother wrote: Strange things are happening behind the bookcase. . . . Sarah's mother dismisses the letter as one of Grandma Winnie's crazy stories, but Sarah does some investigating and makes a remarkable discovery: behind the bookcase is a doorway into Scotopia, the land where shadows come from. With a talking cat named Balthazat as her guide, Sarah begins an unforgettable adventure into a world filled with countless dangers. Who can she trust? And can she face her fears, not only in Scotopia, but also back at Grandma Winnie's house, where more secrets and strange goings-on await her?

The Bookcase of Sherman Holmes

A Holmes and Garden Anthology

Author: Andrea Frazer

Publisher: Accent Press Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 265

View: 579

After their decision to move into the world of sleuthing, Sherman Holmes and John Garden have a tricky time coming to grips with their new roles as private investigators. Things would work out just fine if people didn’t keep getting themselves murdered all the time. The local police aren’t very sympathetic – they even have the audacity to consider that Holmes & Garden aren’t much help at all! This anthology of five stories covers their early cases, as shadowy undercover investigator Joanne puts in some surprising appearances, and Holmes continues on his campaign to woo the lovely Mrs Garden ...

The Book on the Bookshelf

Author: Henry Petroski

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 770

From the author of the highly praised The Pencil and The Evolution of Useful Things comes another captivating history of the seemingly mundane: the book and its storage. Most of us take for granted that our books are vertical on our shelves with the spines facing out, but Henry Petroski, inveterately curious engineer, didn't. As a result, readers are guided along the astonishing evolution from papyrus scrolls boxed at Alexandria to upright books shelved at the Library of Congress. Unimpeachably researched, enviably written, and charmed with anecdotes from Seneca to Samuel Pepys to a nineteenth-century bibliophile who had to climb over his books to get into bed, The Book on the Bookshelf is indispensable for anyone who loves books.

The Magic Bookcase

William Meets a Chimney Sweep

Author: Karen Barlow

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 60

View: 168

Six year old William, with the help of his pet frog, Filo, are regularly to be found on the 'naughty step' but their adventures are only just beginning when William takes a book from a bookcase to reveal a secret passageway which leads him back in time to London in 1874. William makes friends with a climbing boy, Feather, who shows him a glimpse of Victorian life. Filo can't help but cause mischief getting William into more trouble. William is led from an upper class mansion through the streets of London to a Victorian school. Eventually he is brought back to 'the naughty step' when he leaves the school room making him realise that maybe his school isn't so bad after all. Throughout the book the readers have to find Victorian artefacts that appear on most pages thus extending their Victorian knowledge. After his adventure William researches his Victorian history producing his 'worth knowing' facts. The readers get to extend their learning by deciding whether the facts are true or false. In subsequent books William goes back in time to other periods in history relevant to the various Key Stages. He is an actor in the Company of William Shakespeare in Elizabethan times. He is a servant in the kitchen to Henry VIII, a gladiator in Roman times, part of the ambulance crew in WWII and so on. In each book, artefacts of the era need to be found within the pictures and there is also a present day object that should not be in one of the pictures so that the children learn by comparison.

Every Man His Own Mechanic

A Complete and Comprehensive Guide to Every Description of Constructive and Decorative Work that May be Done by the Amateur Artisan at Home and in the Colonies

Author: Francis Chilton-Young

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Carpentry

Page: 924

View: 662

English Mechanic and World of Science

With which are Incorporated "the Mechanic", "Scientific Opinion," and the "British and Foreign Mechanic."

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Industrial arts

Page:

View: 800

Behind the Bookcase

Miep Gies, Anne Frank, and the Hiding Place

Author: Barbara Lowell

Publisher: Millbrook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 40

View: 554

Kar-Ben Read-Aloud eBooks with Audio combine professional narration and text highlighting to bring eBooks to life! Anne Frank’s diary is a gift to the world because of Miep Gies. One of the protectors of the Frank family, Miep recovered the diary after the family was discovered by Nazis, and then returned it to Otto Frank after World War II. Displaced from her own home as a child during World War I, Miep had great empathy for Anne, and she found ways—like talking about Hollywood gossip and fashion trends—to engage her. The story of their relationship—and the impending danger to the family in hiding—unfolds in this unique perspective of Anne Frank’s widely known story.

The Boy Who Lived in the Bookcase

Author: Stephanie Darvasi

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 24

View: 416

Three young children discover a four-inch boy living in Bella Rosess grandparents library. He has never been outside, and the three friends decide to take him on his first adventure outdoors. Together, they discover the joys of being outside in the summer sunshine and using their imagination to come up with all sorts of games.