The American Boy

Author: Andrew Taylor

Publisher: HarperPerennial

ISBN:

Category: Americans

Page: 512

View: 265

Interweaving real and fictional elements, 'The American Boy' is a major literary historical crime novel in the tradition of 'An Instance of the Fingerpost' and 'Possession'. Repackaged as part of the Perennial fiction promotion. England 1819: Thomas Shield, a new master at a school just outside London, is tutor to a young American boy and the boy's sensitive best friend, Charles Frant. Drawn to Frant's beautiful, unhappy mother, Thomas becomes caught up in her family's twisted intrigues. Then a brutal crime is committed, with consequences that threaten to destroy Thomas and all that he has come to dearly value. Despite his efforts, Shield is caught up in a deadly tangle of sex, money, murder and lies - a tangle that grips him even tighter as he tries to escape from it. And what of the strange American child, at the heart of these macabre events - what is the secret of the boy named Edgar Allan Poe?

American Boys

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: PHOTOGRAPHY

Page: 188

View: 943

The American Boys project is an in-depth photographic book of young Americans across the country united through their expression of trans masculine gender identity.

The American Boy's Handy Book

What to Do and How to Do It

Author: Daniel Carter Beard

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 408

View: 489

Each summer, millions of children complain, "There's nothing to do." Originally published in 1888, The American Boy's Handy Book resoundingly challenges this age-old dilemma by providing a huge number of ideas for fun and instructional projects for young boys. Everything from camping and kite building to raising dogs and building boats is detailed for the would-be adventurer and do-it your-selfer.

Diary of an Early American Boy

Noah Blake 1805

Author: Noah Blake

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 108

View: 281

This reprint of an actual early-19th-century diary provides today's readers with an engaging rarity: a 15-year-old's brief, concise notebook and Sloane's 72 drawings and explanatory narrative. "An extraordinary glimpse into everyday Early American rural life . . . will delight readers of all ages." — History in Review.

What to Do and how to Do it

The American Boy's Handy Book

Author: Daniel Carter Beard

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Amusements

Page: 391

View: 406

A manual of past times, which includes instructions for making kites, fishing poles, a blow gun, boats, and theatrical costumes, and for raising dogs, stuffing animals, stocking an aquarium, and camping. Contains small sections on recreational mind-reading and fortune-telling.

All American Boys

Author: Jason Reynolds

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 765

A 2016 Coretta Scott King Author Honor book, and recipient of the Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature. In this New York Times bestselling novel, two teens—one black, one white—grapple with the repercussions of a single violent act that leaves their school, their community, and, ultimately, the country bitterly divided by racial tension. A bag of chips. That’s all sixteen-year-old Rashad is looking for at the corner bodega. What he finds instead is a fist-happy cop, Paul Galluzzo, who mistakes Rashad for a shoplifter, mistakes Rashad’s pleadings that he’s stolen nothing for belligerence, mistakes Rashad’s resistance to leave the bodega as resisting arrest, mistakes Rashad’s every flinch at every punch the cop throws as further resistance and refusal to STAY STILL as ordered. But how can you stay still when someone is pounding your face into the concrete pavement? There were witnesses: Quinn Collins—a varsity basketball player and Rashad’s classmate who has been raised by Paul since his own father died in Afghanistan—and a video camera. Soon the beating is all over the news and Paul is getting threatened with accusations of prejudice and racial brutality. Quinn refuses to believe that the man who has basically been his savior could possibly be guilty. But then Rashad is absent. And absent again. And again. And the basketball team—half of whom are Rashad’s best friends—start to take sides. As does the school. And the town. Simmering tensions threaten to explode as Rashad and Quinn are forced to face decisions and consequences they had never considered before. Written in tandem by two award-winning authors, this four-starred reviewed tour de force shares the alternating perspectives of Rashad and Quinn as the complications from that single violent moment, the type taken directly from today’s headlines, unfold and reverberate to highlight an unwelcome truth.

The American Boy's Handy Book

Build a Fort, Sail a Boat, Shoot an Arrow, Throw a Boomerang, Catch Spiders, Fish in the Ice, Camp w

Author: Daniel Carter Beard

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 288

View: 504

A Simon & Schuster eBook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every reader.

The American Boy's Handy Book

Turn-of-the-Century Classic of Crafts and Activities

Author: Daniel Beard

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 464

View: 975

Used by generations of Boy Scouts, this classic features scores of projects — from stocking aquariums and performing puppet shows to sculpting snowmen and making sleds. 254 black-and-white figures. 63 illustrations.

American Boy's Handy Book

Author: Daniel C. Beard

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 320

View: 672

Long before "danger" was a book for boys, there was The American Boy's Handy Book by Daniel Beard—a beloved classic by one of the original founders of the Boy Scouts of America. The American Boy's Handy Book was designed to provide hundreds of activities for restless young boys—adventures and games, indoors and out, in every season of the year. It was originally published in 1882 and became an instant bestseller. Now, this much-loved classic is back in print for a new generation to enjoy. If you're not too young to fly a kite, or too old to enjoy a day of good fishing, The American Boy's Handy Book is chock full of games and activities just for you! There's something for boys of every age and for every day of the year in this book: Building and flying your own kite Making an aquarium Rigging and sailing small boats Camping without a tent Making a corn stalk fiddle Building a snow fort Daniel Beard, a founding member of the Boy Scouts of America, firmly believed in letting boys make their own playthings with their hands, to encourage them to value their own work and gain skills needed to successfully invent, construct and dream. This is truer today than ever before—in a world of video games and cell phones. Welcome the joys of childhood back into your children's lives with The American Boy's Handy Book, and help them discover hobbies, games and activities that will stimulate their imagination and create a sense of adventure in the real world around us.

The American Boys' Book of Bugs, Butterflies and Beetles

Author: Dan Beard

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 126

View: 292

Daniel Carter "Uncle Dan" Beard (June 21, 1850 - June 11, 1941) was an American illustrator, author, youth leader, and social reformer who founded the Sons of Daniel Boone in 1905, which Beard later merged with the Boy Scouts of America (BSA).Beard was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, into a family of artists.As a youth, he explored the woods and made sketches of nature. His father was the artist James Henry Beard and his mother was Mary Caroline (Carter) Beard. His uncle was the artist William Holbrook Beard. He lived at 322 East Third Street in Covington, Kentucky near the Licking River, where he learned the stories of Kentucky pioneer life. He started an early career as an engineer and surveyor. He attended art school in New York City. He wrote a series of articles for St. Nicholas Magazine that later formed the basis for The American Boy's Handy Book. He was a member of the Student Art League, where he met and befriended Ernest Thompson Seton in 1883. He illustrated a number of books for Mark Twain, and for other authors such as Ernest Crosby. In 1908 while living in Redding, Connecticut, Beard was among those on hand to welcome Mark Twain upon his arrival to the author's new villa Stormfield.

The American Boy's Handybook Of Camp Lore And Woodcraft

Author: Dan Beard

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 284

View: 925

FOREWORD TO THE SECOND EDITION BOYS, this foreword is too highbrow for your taste, skip it, but the author dont believe you will, and even if he has used some dictionary words he feels that you will forgive him after he tclls you that he did so only because of the lack of time to think up more simple terms. What he wants to say is that . . . Bolhood is a wonderful and invaluable asset to the nation, for in the breast of every boy there is a divine spark, materialists call it the urge of youth, others caII it the Christ in man, the Quakers caII it the inner light, but all view it with interest and anxiety, the ignorant with fear and the wise with understanding sympathy, but also with a feeling akin to awe. Those of us who think we know boys, feel that this inner light illuminating their wonderful powers of imagination, is the compelling force culminating in the vigorous accomplishments of manhood. It is the force which sent Columbus voyaging over the unknown seas, which sent Captain Cool on his voyage around the world, the same force which carried Lindbergh in his frail airship across the Atlantic. Yes, it is the subIine force 15-which has inspired physirians and laymen to chearfully risk and sacrifice their lives in search of the cause of Iellom Fever, Anthrax, IIydrophobia and other communicabIe diseases . . ...

The American Boy's Book

Comprising the Most Striking and Illustrative Scenes and Passages in the History of Our Country

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: United States

Page: 196

View: 415

Building Character in the American Boy

The Boy Scouts, YMCA, and Their Forerunners, 1870-1920

Author: David I. Macleod

Publisher: Univ of Wisconsin Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 404

View: 348

Among established American institutions, few have been more successful or paradoxical than the Boy Scouts of America. David Macleod traces the social history of America in this scholarly account of the origins of the Boy Scouts and other character-building agencies, through which adults tried to restructure middle-class boyhood. Back in print; First paperback edition.

Escape from Saigon

How a Vietnam War Orphan Became an American Boy

Author: Andrea Warren

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 110

View: 275

A compelling account of a half-American, half-Vietnamese boy's escape from war-torn Vietnam, his childhood with an Ohio family, his success as a doctor, and his return to Vietnam.