The Accidental Beauty Queen

Author: Teri Wilson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 355

In this charming romantic comedy perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Sophie Kinsella, critically acclaimed author Teri Wilson shows us that sometimes being pushed out of your comfort zone leads you to the ultimate prize. Charlotte Gorman loves her job as an elementary school librarian, and is content to experience life through the pages of her books. Which couldn’t be more opposite from her identical twin sister. Ginny, an Instagram-famous beauty pageant contestant, has been chasing a crown since she was old enough to enunciate the words world peace, and she’s not giving up until she gets the title of Miss American Treasure. And Ginny’s refusing to do it alone this time. She drags Charlotte to the pageant as a good luck charm, but the winning plan quickly goes awry when Ginny has a terrible, face-altering allergic reaction the night before the pageant, and Charlotte suddenly finds herself in a switcheroo the twins haven’t successfully pulled off in decades. Woefully unprepared for the glittery world of hair extensions, false eyelashes, and push-up bras, Charlotte is mortified at every unstable step in her sky-high stilettos. But as she discovers there’s more to her fellow contestants than just wanting a sparkly crown, Charlotte realizes she has a whole new motivation for winning.

The Accidental Princess (Mills & Boon Vintage Cherish)

Author: Peggy Webb

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 375

SHE WAS PLAIN. A CHURCH SECRETARY. A VIRGIN, FOR PETE'S SAKE! How could CJ Maxey possibly let herself get talked into running for Dairy Princess? Worse, once she was cajoled into doing just that, how would she survive Clint Garrett, the lip-smackingly gorgeous, love-'em-and-leave-'em reporter assigned to stick to her like a burr?

Death of A Beauty Queen

Author: E.R. Punshon

Publisher: Dean Street Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 786

Description Mr. Sargent, the manager of the Brush Hill Central Cinema, wished he had never held a Beauty Competition. Caroline Mears, the predicted winner, had already caused trouble with one of the other girls. Paul Irwin, a strong Puritan and influential councillor, had taken it into his head to come backstage to look for his son Leslie, who hoped to marry Caroline against his father's wishes. Just as the winner of the competition was being announced, different news spread through the cinema like lightning - Caroline Mears had been murdered! Superintendent Mitchell of Scotland Yard and his young sergeant, Bobby Owen, were faced with one of the most puzzling cases of their careers. There were at least seven suspects, against four of whom an equally good case could be made out. There was Paul Irwin's maddening reiteration that he had 'nothing to say' to all questions, and a multitude of confusing evidence, none of which fitted the main jigsaw puzzle. Conundrums abound in this whodunit: one which will keep even the most seasoned mystery reader guessing - right to the very last page. Death of A Beauty Queen is the fifth of E.R. Punshon's acclaimed Bobby Owen mysteries, first published in 1935 and part of a series which eventually spanned thirty-five novels. This edition features a new introduction by crime fiction historian Curtis Evans. "What is distinction? The few who achieve it step - plot or no plot - unquestioned into the first rank. We recognized it in Sherlock Holmes, and in Trent's Last Case, in The Mystery of the Villa Rose, in the Father Brown stories and in the works of Mr. E.R. Punshon we salute it every time." Dorothy L. Sayers

The Accidental Anarchist

From the Diaries of Jacob Marateck

Author: Bryna Kranzler

Publisher: Bryna Kranzer

ISBN:

Category: Jewish soldiers

Page: 338

View: 302

At 25, Jacob Marateck was a Jewish officer in the notoriously anti-Semitic Russian army during the Russo-Japanese War. After avoiding a firing squad for a third time, he escaped from a Siberian forced labor camp with Warsaw's colorful "King of Thieves." This is the remarkable, true story of an ordinary man made extraordinary by participating in the history-making events of the 1900s in Russia and Poland.

Misdemeanours: Beauty Queen Scandals

Author: Sally-Ann Fawcett

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 170

View: 853

Beauty contests: as much as the feminists, the detractors and the TV executives tried, they never quite went away. Nor did the scandals that accompanied them, which became as much a tradition as the contests themselves. Misdemeanours celebrates the beauty queens that made the headlines: the sex, the drugs, the rock 'n' roll stars, as well as the tragedies and heartaches that lay behind those glittering prizes.

Beauty Queens on the Global Stage

Gender, Contests, and Power

Author: Colleen Ballerion Cohen

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 250

View: 614

Modern beauty contests were invented by P.T. Barnum in the United States, but in the 20th century pageants and contests have spread across the entire world from Nepal to Tierra Del Fuego. Why are women (and sometimes men in drag) parading on stage such a universally appealing spectacle, attracting an audience in the billions? This book is the first global comparison of pageants from different parts of the world, at the ways each contest is both intensely local and unique, and simultaneously global and remarkable repetitious. The authors use the latest tools of feminist, ethnographic, and literary scholarship to unpack and interpret one of the greatest and most universal spectacles of modern times.

The Accidental Feminist

How Elizabeth Taylor Raised Our Consciousness and We Were Too Distracted by Her Beauty to Notice

Author: M. G. Lord

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 534

Movie stars establish themselves as brands--and Taylor's brand , in its most memorable outings, has repeatedly introduced a broad audience to feminist ideas. In her breakout film, "National Velvet" (1944), Taylor's character challenges gender discrimination,: Forbidden as a girl to ride her beloved horse in an important race, she poses as a male jockey. Her next milestone, "A Place in the Sun" (1951), can be seen as an abortion rights movie--a cautionary tale from a time before women had ready access to birth control. In "Butterfield 8" (1960), for which she won an Oscar, Taylor isn't censured because she's a prostitute, but because she chooses the men: she controls her sexuality, a core tenet of the third-wave feminism that emerged in the 1990s. Even "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" (1966) depicts the anguish that befalls a woman when the only way she can express herself is through her husband's stalled career and children. The legendary actress has lived her life defiantly in public--undermining post-war reactionary sex roles, helping directors thwart the Hollywood Production Code, which censored film content between 1934 and 1967. Defying death threats she spearheaded fundraising for AIDS research in the first years of the epidemic, and has championed the rights of people to love whom they love, regardless of gender. Yet her powerful feminist impact has been hidden in plain sight. Drawing on unpublished letters and scripts as well as interviews with Kate Burton, Gore Vidal, Austin Pendleton, Kevin McCarthy, Liz Smith, and others, The Accidental Feminist will surprise Taylor and film fans with its originality and will add a startling dimension to the star's enduring mystique.

The Accidental Cheerleader

Author: Mimi McCoy

Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 176

View: 119

Best friends Sophie and Kylie have always done everything together, with Kylie leading the way, but when Sophie is good at cheerleading and Kylie is not, Sophie is torn between her friendship with Kylie and her cheerleading.

Druids, Dudes, and Beauty Queens

The Changing Face of Irish Theatre

Author: Dermot Bolger

Publisher: New Island Books

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 302

View: 699

The current state of theatre in Ireland has never been better. A relatively young playwright, Marina Carr, was recently chosen by a select committee in Ireland as one of Ireland's ten best living writers, along with two other dramatists, Brian Friel and Tom Murphy. Add these to the names of other fine dramatists such as Martin McDonagh, Thomas Kilroy, John B. Keane, Hugh Leonard, Eugene McCabe, and Jim Nolan, and it's clear to see that the state of Irish theatre today is strong. This collection of essays is a unique exploration of this topic. With contributions from seventeen of Ireland's leading cultural critics and authorities on theatre, this is one of the most important books to be published on Irish theatre for years. Included are pieces by Colm Toibin on Billy Roche; John Waters on Martin McDonagh; Ben Barnes on the Abbey; pieces on Irish theatre in the North, New York, and France; Donal O'Kelly; Irish women playwrights; Brian Friel; and Irish language theatre.