The 12 Days of Lunar New Year

Author: Jenna Lettice

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 24

View: 497

Count out twelve ways to celebrate Lunar New Year! This fun-filled picture book inspired by "The 12 Days of Christmas" is perfect for fans of Natasha Wing's The Night Before series. Includes stickers! This cheery addition to the 12 Days series celebrates tradition, culture, and family in the lead-up to Lunar New Year! Young readers and their caregivers will enjoy counting all the different ways they can engage with their communities and honor their ancestors. This simple rhyming story is paired with warm illustrations and a full page of stickers, making these books the perfect gift for kids.

The 12 Days of Lunar New Year

Author: Jenna Lettice

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 24

View: 119

Illustrations and rhyming text invite the reader to count the days leading up to Lunar New Year, from one dancing dragon to twelve zodiac animals, using the rhythm of the traditional song, The Twelve Days of Christmas.

Business America

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Business

Page:

View: 900

Includes articles on international business opportunities.

The Lunisolar Calendar of the Germanic Peoples

Reconstruction of a bound moon calendar from ancient, medieval and early modern sources

Author: Andreas E. Zautner

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 625

The Lunisolar Calendar of the Germanic Peoples Reconstruction of a bound moon calendar from ancient, medieval and early modern sources

Generalhistoryofthechineseinsingapore,a

Author: Kwa Chong Guan

Publisher: World Scientific

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 1004

View: 141

A General History of the Chinese in Singapore documents over 700 years of Chinese history in Singapore, from Chinese presence in the region through the millennium-old Hokkien trading world to the waves of mass migration that came after the establishment of a British settlement, and through to the development and birth of the nation. Across 38 chapters and parts, readers are taken through the complex historical mosaic of Overseas Chinese social, economic and political activity in Singapore and the region, such as the development of maritime junk trade, plantation industries, and coolie labour, the role of different bangs, clan associations and secret societies as well as Chinese leaders, the diverging political allegiances including Sun Yat-sen's revolutionary activities and the National Salvation Movement leading up to the Second World War, the transplanting of traditional Chinese religions, the changing identity of the Overseas Chinese, and the developments in language and education policies, publishing, arts, and more.With 'Pride in our Past, Legacy for our Future' as its key objective, this volume aims to preserve the Singapore Chinese story, history and heritage for future generations, as well as keep our cultures and traditions alive. Therefore, the book aims to serve as a comprehensive guide for Singaporeans, new immigrants and foreigners to have an epitome of the Singapore society. This publication is supported by the National Heritage Board's Heritage Project Grant.

Historical Records 史记

The First and Most Important Biographical General History Book in China

Author: Sima Qian

Publisher: DeepLogic

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 402

史记 "Historical Records" was written by Sima Qian, the Western Han Dynasty historian. The biographical history book is the first biographical general history in China, documented on to the ancient legend of the Yellow Emperor era, down to the Han Dynasty between the beginning four years, a total of 3,000 years of history. In 104 B.C., Sima Qian began the creation of a history book called " Tai Shi Gong Shu " which was later called “史记”, or "Historical Records". It took 14 years before and after to complete. The "Historical Records" book includes twelve Origins Volumes recording the emperor's political achievements (“十二本纪”), thirty Family Volumes remembering the vassal state and dynasty princes (“三十世家”), honors and dying, Seventy Fame Verses remembering the deeds of important people (“七十列传”),ten Tables (chronology of major events, “十表”), eight Books remembering various rules and regulations, ritual, music, temperament, calendar, astronomy, meditation, water conservancy, financial use (“八书”), a total of 130 articles, 520 thousand words. The book is translation of full text of Historical Records, covering all contents aforementioned.

Mapping COVID-19 in Space and Time

Understanding the Spatial and Temporal Dynamics of a Global Pandemic

Author: Shih-Lung Shaw

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 358

View: 962

This book describes the spatial and temporal perspectives on COVID-19 and its impacts and deepens our understanding of human dynamics during and after the global pandemic. It critically examines the role smart city technologies play in shaping our lives in the years to come. The book covers a wide-range of issues related to conceptual, theoretical and data issues, analysis and modeling, and applications and policy implications such as socio-ecological perspectives, geospatial data ethics, mobility and migration during COVID-19, population health resilience and much more. With accelerated pace of technological advances and growing divide on political and policy options, a better understanding of disruptive global events such as COVID-19 with spatial and temporal perspectives is an imperative and will make the ultimate difference in public health and economic decision making. Through in-depth analyses of concepts, data, methods, and policies, this book stimulates future studies on global pandemics and their impacts on society at different levels.