That Scandalous Summer

Author: Meredith Duran

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 372

View: 739

The darling of the ton, beautiful widow Elizabeth Chudderly longs for something more and finds what she is looking for in Lord Michael de Grey, a dashing aristocrat raised in scandal who, in order to escape family duty, must marry a woman of his brother's choosing. Original. 125,000 first printing.

That Scandalous Summer: Rules for the Reckless 1

Author: Meredith Duran

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 282

Meredith Duran returns with another witty, humorous and smart romance in the first novel in her Rules for the Reckless series. Fans of Julia Quinn, Jane Feather and Eloisa James will delight in Meredith's trademark headstrong heroine, cunning hero and tale of deep emotional intensity! One Daring Widow In the social whirl of Regency England, Elizabeth Chudderley is at the top of every guest list, the life of every party, and the belle of every ball. But her friends and admirers would be stunned to know the truth: that the merriest widow in London is also the loneliest. Behind the gaiety and smiles lies a secret longing - for something, or someone, to whisk her away . . . One Reluctant Suitor Raised in scandal, Lord Michael de Grey is convinced that love is a losing gamble - and seduction the only game worth playing. But when duty threatens to trump everything he desires, the only way out is marriage to a woman of his brother's choosing. Elizabeth Chudderley is delightful, delicious - and distressingly attractive. With such a captivating opponent, Michael isn't quite sure who is winning the game. How can such passionate players negotiate a marriage of necessity - when their hearts have needs of their own? Want more Rules for the Reckless? Don't miss Your Wicked Heart or Fool Me Twice.

Oscar Wilde's Scandalous Summer

The 1894 Worthing Holiday and the Aftermath

Author: Antony Edmonds

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 224

View: 891

In the summer of 1894 Oscar Wilde spent eight weeks in Worthing, and it was during this family holiday that he wrote his masterpiece, The Importance of Being Earnest. The Worthing holiday was a microcosm of Wilde's turbulent life during the three years between his falling in love with Lord Alfred Douglas in 1892 and his imprisonment in 1895. Constance Wilde, lonely and depressed, became emotionally involved with her husband s publisher, to whom she wrote a love letter on the day he visited the Wildes in Worthing. Meanwhile Wilde was spending much of his time with the feckless and demanding Douglas, and with three teenage boys he took out sailing, swimming and fishing. One of these boys was Alphonse Conway, with whom Wilde had a sexual relationship, and about whom he was to be questioned at length and to damaging effect in court six months later when he sued Douglas's father, the Marquess of Queensberry, for libel. This book tells for the first time the full story of the Worthing summer, set in the context of the three years of Wilde's life before his downfall. In the final chapter the author reassesses the trials, offering fresh insights into Wilde s attitude to the boys and young men with whom he had sexual relations. There are fifty-six illustrations, over thirty of which are photographs of Worthing as it was in Wilde s time, and three contemporary maps of the town.

Your Wicked Heart

Author: Meredith Duran

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 256

A sexy and evocative Regency romance e-novella! Jilted overseas and abandoned without a penny, Amanda Thomas is desperate to get home. She’ll do whatever it takes to secure a berth on an England-bound ship, even if it means pretending to be the wife of the absentee viscount who jilted her. But when the anchor lifts, she’s not the only impostor on board—for the stranger in her bed claims to be the real Viscount Ripton. Can she trust this devastatingly attractive scoundrel? Or is his offer of friendship only a pretext for seduction...and revenge?

A Little Bit Scandalous

Author: Robyn DeHart

Publisher: Entangled: Scandalous

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 583

A Little Bit Scandalous by Robyn DeHart A woman in search of a gamble... Mathematics prodigy, Caroline Jellico, plans to support herself by winning big in the gaming hells of London - while dressed as a boy. She's tired of waiting for the elusive Roe to notice her. She'll marry him or no man. A gambler in need of redemption... Monroe Grisham, Duke of Chanceworth, needs to marry off his beautiful young ward and ensure she attaches herself to the right man, not an irresponsible cad like him. But all grown up now, Caroline's presence is an utter distraction. One he can neither act on nor deny. A game of seduction... But when Roe and Caroline meet across the gambling table, all bets are off. Seduction is in the cards and the winner will take all... or lose everything.

The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc

A Novel

Author: Loraine Despres

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 579

It's a steamy June afternoon in Louisiana, circa 1956, and Sissy LeBlanc is sitting on her front porch, wondering -- half seriously -- if she could kill herself with aspirins and Coca-Cola. She's been living in stifling old Gentry since the day she was born and trapped in a sham of a marriage to PeeWee LeBlanc since she was only seventeen. In short, she's fed up, restless, and ready for an adventure. Sissy just never imagined temptation would come into her life that breathless summer day as she sat smoking on her porch swing. For although she may have been fixated on the taut muscles of the lineman shimmying down the telephone pole across the street, she hadn't allowed herself to imagine that he'd be none other than her high school sweetheart, Parker Davidson, who left town fourteen years before without so much as a wave good-bye. But suddenly, here he is, leaning in for a kiss that will stir up more excitement than Sissy could ever have imagined...

Cure for the Common Breakup

Author: Beth Kendrick

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 179

Welcome to Black Dog Bay, a tiny seaside town in Delaware known as “the best place in America to bounce back from your breakup.” Home to the Better Off Bed-and-Breakfast, the Eat Your Heart Out bakery, and the Whinery bar, Black Dog Bay offers a haven for the suddenly single. Flight attendant Summer Benson lives by two rules: Don’t stay with the same man for too long and never stay in one place. She’s about to break rule number one by considering accepting her boyfriend’s proposal—then disaster strikes and her world is shattered in an instant. Summer heads to Black Dog Bay, where the locals welcome her. Even Hattie Huntington, the town’s oldest, richest, and meanest resident, likes her enough to give her a job. Then there’s Dutch Jansen, the rugged, stoic mayor, who’s the opposite of her type. She probably shouldn’t be kissing him. She definitely shouldn’t be falling in love. After a lifetime of globe-trotting, Summer has finally found a home. But Hattie has old scores to settle and a hidden agenda for her newest employee. Summer finds herself faced with an impossible choice: Leave Black Dog Bay behind forever, or stay with the ones she loves and cost them everything....

Scandalous Summer Nights

Author: Anne Barton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 877

From "a delightful new voice in historical romance" (Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author) comes a scandalous Regency romance about a sinful rogue who falls in love with his best-friend's little sister. Lady Olivia Sherbourne isn't shy about speaking her mind, except when it comes to James Averill. For ten long years he has been her brother's best friend and her heart's only desire. But when Olivia hears James will soon set sail for an expedition to Egypt, she knows the time has come to make her move. It's now or never . . . James has always found Olivia bewitchingly attractive, but what kind of gentleman takes up with his best friend's sister? Not that he's thinking particularly gentlemanly thoughts when she appears on his exploratory trip-three hundred miles from home -- and incites a tavern fight. No matter what the devil she's doing there, it's his duty to see her safely back to her family. But how safe will she be when every starlit night brings wicked temptation?

Lady Be Good

Author: Meredith Duran

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 606

The third searing novel in the Rules for the Reckless series by Meredith Duran, the USA TODAY bestselling author of sexy and evocative Regency romances in the tradition of Sarah MacLean. CATCHING THE LADY RED-HANDED Born to a family of infamous criminals, Lilah Marshall has left behind her past and made herself into the perfect lady. Working as a hostess at Everleigh's, London’s premier auction house, she leads a life full of art, culture, and virtue. All her dreams are within reach—until a gorgeous and enigmatic viscount catches her in the act of one last, very reluctant theft. CHASING ONE RED-HOT PASSION Christian “Kit” Stratton, Viscount Palmer, is society's most dashing war hero. But Kit’s easy smiles hide a dark secret: he is haunted by a madman’s vow to destroy anyone he loves. When his hunt for the enemy leads to Everleigh’s Auction Rooms, he compels Lilah to help him. But one tempting touch may be their undoing—for what Kit needs threatens all Lilah holds dear, and losing her may destroy Kit.