That Scandalous Summer

Author: Meredith Duran

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 372

View: 144

The darling of the ton, beautiful widow Elizabeth Chudderly longs for something more and finds what she is looking for in Lord Michael de Grey, a dashing aristocrat raised in scandal who, in order to escape family duty, must marry a woman of his brother's choosing. Original. 125,000 first printing.

That Scandalous Summer: Rules for the Reckless 1

Author: Meredith Duran

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 715

Meredith Duran returns with another witty, humorous and smart romance in the first novel in her Rules for the Reckless series. Fans of Julia Quinn, Jane Feather and Eloisa James will delight in Meredith's trademark headstrong heroine, cunning hero and tale of deep emotional intensity! One Daring Widow In the social whirl of Regency England, Elizabeth Chudderley is at the top of every guest list, the life of every party, and the belle of every ball. But her friends and admirers would be stunned to know the truth: that the merriest widow in London is also the loneliest. Behind the gaiety and smiles lies a secret longing - for something, or someone, to whisk her away . . . One Reluctant Suitor Raised in scandal, Lord Michael de Grey is convinced that love is a losing gamble - and seduction the only game worth playing. But when duty threatens to trump everything he desires, the only way out is marriage to a woman of his brother's choosing. Elizabeth Chudderley is delightful, delicious - and distressingly attractive. With such a captivating opponent, Michael isn't quite sure who is winning the game. How can such passionate players negotiate a marriage of necessity - when their hearts have needs of their own? Want more Rules for the Reckless? Don't miss Your Wicked Heart or Fool Me Twice.

Oscar Wilde's Scandalous Summer

The 1894 Worthing Holiday and the Aftermath

Author: Antony Edmonds

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 224

View: 214

In the summer of 1894 Oscar Wilde spent eight weeks in Worthing, and it was during this family holiday that he wrote his masterpiece, The Importance of Being Earnest. The Worthing holiday was a microcosm of Wilde's turbulent life during the three years between his falling in love with Lord Alfred Douglas in 1892 and his imprisonment in 1895. Constance Wilde, lonely and depressed, became emotionally involved with her husband s publisher, to whom she wrote a love letter on the day he visited the Wildes in Worthing. Meanwhile Wilde was spending much of his time with the feckless and demanding Douglas, and with three teenage boys he took out sailing, swimming and fishing. One of these boys was Alphonse Conway, with whom Wilde had a sexual relationship, and about whom he was to be questioned at length and to damaging effect in court six months later when he sued Douglas's father, the Marquess of Queensberry, for libel. This book tells for the first time the full story of the Worthing summer, set in the context of the three years of Wilde's life before his downfall. In the final chapter the author reassesses the trials, offering fresh insights into Wilde s attitude to the boys and young men with whom he had sexual relations. There are fifty-six illustrations, over thirty of which are photographs of Worthing as it was in Wilde s time, and three contemporary maps of the town.

Your Wicked Heart

Author: Meredith Duran

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 190

A sexy and evocative Regency romance e-novella! Jilted overseas and abandoned without a penny, Amanda Thomas is desperate to get home. She’ll do whatever it takes to secure a berth on an England-bound ship, even if it means pretending to be the wife of the absentee viscount who jilted her. But when the anchor lifts, she’s not the only impostor on board—for the stranger in her bed claims to be the real Viscount Ripton. Can she trust this devastatingly attractive scoundrel? Or is his offer of friendship only a pretext for seduction...and revenge?

Bound by Their Secret Passion

Author: Diane Gaston

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 793

A forbidden attraction… A hidden desire! Years ago, penniless Lorene Summerfield wed for duty, giving her siblings the chance to marry for love. But now the generous-hearted countess finds herself widowed…and the man she's loved in silence for years is falsely accused of her husband's murder! Although he closed his heart to love long ago, the Earl of Penford has always found Lorene irresistible. Their newly ignited passion may be scandalous, but now he'll stop at nothing to clear his name and win Lorene's hand!

Bound by Duty (Mills & Boon Historical) (The Scandalous Summerfields, Book 1)

Author: Diane Gaston

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 367

His Scandalous Bride Tess Summerfield’s life is changed for ever when she’s rescued from drowning by the mysterious Marc Glenville. Forced to shelter with him in a deserted cottage, she spends the night wrapped in his arms for warmth.

The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc

A Novel

Author: Loraine Despres

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 755

It's a steamy June afternoon in Louisiana, circa 1956, and Sissy LeBlanc is sitting on her front porch, wondering -- half seriously -- if she could kill herself with aspirins and Coca-Cola. She's been living in stifling old Gentry since the day she was born and trapped in a sham of a marriage to PeeWee LeBlanc since she was only seventeen. In short, she's fed up, restless, and ready for an adventure. Sissy just never imagined temptation would come into her life that breathless summer day as she sat smoking on her porch swing. For although she may have been fixated on the taut muscles of the lineman shimmying down the telephone pole across the street, she hadn't allowed herself to imagine that he'd be none other than her high school sweetheart, Parker Davidson, who left town fourteen years before without so much as a wave good-bye. But suddenly, here he is, leaning in for a kiss that will stir up more excitement than Sissy could ever have imagined...

The Scandalous Summerfields/Bound By Duty/Bound By One Scandalous

Author: Diane Gaston

Publisher: HarperCollins Australia

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 760

Bound By Duty Tess Summerfield's life is changed forever when she's rescued from drowning by the mysterious Marc Glenville. Forced to find shelter in a deserted cottage, she spends the night wrapped in his arms for warmth. When they are discovered the tongues of the ton start wagging and Marc knows the only way to silence them is to marry Tess. But his duties as a spy soon tear Marc away from the marriage bed. When they're at last reunited, can they rekindle the flame born from the ashes of scandal? Bound By One Scandalous Night On the eve of battle, Lieutenant Edmund Summerfield rescues mysterious Amelie Glenville from attack by marauding soldiers. Heady from the anticipation and uncertainty in the air, they spend the night together, but their scandalous actions have one inescapable consequence...! The illegitimate son of an aristocrat, Edmund won't consign his unborn child to the same fate, so he offers Amelie marriage. With a honeymoon spent weathering a storm of scandal, can these two strangers hope to turn their convenient marriage into something real?

Bound by One Scandalous Night

Author: Diane Gaston

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 563

Marrying a stranger On the eve of battle, Lieutenant Edmund Summerfield rescues mysterious Amelie Glenville from attack by marauding soldiers. Heady from the anticipation and uncertainty in the air, they spend the night together, but their scandalous actions have one inescapable consequence…! The illegitimate son of an aristocrat, Edmund won't consign his unborn child to the same fate, so he offers Amelie marriage. With a honeymoon spent weathering a storm of scandal, can these two strangers hope to turn their convenient marriage into something real?