Staying

A Memoir

Author: Jessie Cole

Publisher: Text Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 461

• A searing memoir by acclaimed novelist Jessie Cole, about surviving the suicide of loved ones, and finding a place to heal • Jessie Cole's idyllic childhood with her hippie parents in the lush hinterland of northern NSW ended when her sister Zoe, committed suicide and their close, loving family was torn apart. Jessie's psychiatrist father spiralled into severe manic depression and six years later he also took his own life. It was only in coming home, to the place they had all lived together, that Jessie felt safe to emerge from her grief and begin to live again • Jessie Cole tells her heartbreaking story with lush poetic imagery and raw honesty. Her highly praised novels, Darkness on the Edge of Town and Deeper Water explore similar themes, but it is this, her own powerful story, she has been longing to write • For readers of Cory Taylor, Georgia Blain and Nikki Gemmell, this is a memoir of profound wisdom and redemptive beauty • Jessie Cole lives in the NSW Northern Rivers • To be supported by a major promotional campaign and author tour

Staying Alive

A Family Memoir

Author: Janet Reibstein

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 623

They were three beautiful, promising sisters, daughters of Jewish immigrants - Mary, Fannie and Regina, young women during the pre-war depression. In a tragic twist of fate, all three were to be diagnosed with breast cancer. Fannie died first, a young mother of three, then in the next decade, Mary, both lonely, painful deaths; while Regina struggled against her recurrent cancer until she was 64. Told by Janet, Regina's daughter, STAYING ALIVE is the story of the sisters - their battle with what seemed an invincible foe and the toll it took on their personalities, their sisterhood, their marriages and their children, particularly their daughters who, too, were likely to be victims. At the centre is the intense relationship between Regina and Janet bound by love and a genetic curse - and ultimately, Janet's momentous and far-reaching decision to be free of it.Candid and deeply moving, STAYING ALIVE is a truly inspiring story of survival, of hope and the possibility of overcoming destiny.

The Butterfly with Torn Wings

A Memoir of Staying Alive

Author: Giovanna Maria Acciavatti

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 244

View: 334

Born into a close-knit and loving Italian family, Giovanna Maria Acciavatti spent her early childhood years overcoming the illness that struck her as an infant. When World War II devastated Italy, her family lost everything except their unbreakable bond. Like so many others, she immigrated to the United States as a young woman, and, despite many setbacks, persevered with indomitable spirit to become a successful businesswoman. Acciavatti recounts her story in language both lyrical and down-to-earth, and spiced with a wry sense of humor.

My Fair Junkie

A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean

Author: Amy Dresner

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 739

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side. Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon." Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties. In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

Gloria – A Student’s Memoir of Intended Paths

Author: Priscilla Jacobson

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 154

View: 256

A speech professor and her student make a unique connection that changes each other’s lives. Mrs. Noble encourages Priscilla to engage in public speaking, yet discovers in her student that where spoken words faltered, writing flourished. Priscilla, driven to profess God in her speech, is unsure what her professor believes. When Mrs. Noble approves a persuasive speech about Ronald Reagan’s character and values, Priscilla begins an in-depth research project on the Cold War. The research reveals that Reagan was a former pacifist and Mikhail Gorbachev was a secret believer in God. This memoir contains analogies and metaphors that thread the research into the research experience. At the Reykjavik Summit, an agreement could not be made because neither Reagan nor Gorbachev revealed their beliefs. Both leaders were misunderstood. A misunderstanding which must be clarified as the research is prepared for the symposium presentation. A serendipitous path leads Priscilla to interview Mrs. Noble, only to discover her professor’s intended path was not the path on which she ended up. Priscilla writes about unexpected detours. Then Mrs. Noble reveals a paper she formerly wrote, quoting “A Road Less Traveled By.” This intuitive student later analyzes the two papers. How will Priscilla present Ronald Reagan in the Undergraduate Research Symposium, when she soon discovers her professor is battling cancer? Gloria – A Student’s Memoir of Intended Paths is a message of hope and faith. In it Priscilla looks up to God and Mrs. Noble during a brief crossroads and an unforgettable experience.

Confessions Of A Wildlife Filmmaker A Memoir

The Challenges of Staying Honest in an Industry Where Ratings are King

Author: Chris Palmer

Publisher: Stylematters Writing Services, LLC

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 272

View: 942

CHRIS PALMER is a professor, speaker, author, and environmental/ wildlife film producer, who has swum with dolphins and whales, come face-to-face with sharks and Kodiak bears, camped with wolf packs, and waded hip-deep through Everglade swamps.

Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir

Author: Cyndi Lauper

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 274

Legendary singer, songwriter, actress, and activist Cyndi Lauper offers a personal account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar in this “moving story of an American musical original” (Kirkus Reviews). Icon Cyndi Lauper offers a poignant account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar—from her years growing up in Queens, New York, to the making of enduring hits like “Time After Time,” “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” and “True Colors,” to becoming an actress, a mother, an outspoken activist, and maintaining a music career that has lasted more than thirty years. After leaving her childhood home at seventeen, Cyndi took on a series of jobs: racetrack hot walker, IHOP waitress, and, as she puts it, “gal Friday the thirteenth,” as she pursued her passion for music. She worked her way up playing small gigs and broke out in 1983 with She’s So Unusual, which earned her a Grammy for Best New Artist and made her the first female artist in history to have four top-five singles on a debut album. And while global fame wasn’t always what she expected, she has remained focused on what matters most. Cyndi is a gutsy real-life heroine who has never been afraid to speak her mind and stick up for a cause—whether it’s women’s rights, gay rights, or fighting against HIV/AIDS. With her trademark warmth and humor, Cyndi fearlessly writes of a life she’s lived only on her own terms, perfect for fans of Patti Smith’s Just Kids and Billy Idol’s Dancing with Myself.

More Than a Memoir

Author: NELSON J. LEONARD

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 431

View: 214

In this unusual autobiography you will find the full story of a life spanning much of the twentieth century. Selective reading will disclose How a teacher/scientist may develop The importance of focus and integrity The fascination of doing chemical and biochemical research with students and colleagues The excitement of discovery and of facing new challenges Personal details about family life and friendships Career choices and diversions Plus In the 23 (!) appendices, you will find details concerning Other activities attendant upon a career in science The influence of conferences, symposia, and international scientific connections The coworkers who built the reputation of the author

After Shock - A Memoir

Lost Childhood

Author: Margo Bouer

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 303

This is the story of an adolescent girl’s survival following electric shock treatments to enforce compliance. In a stark narrative, the girl recounts dysfunctional family dominance that forces her to escape further brain damage, death or suicide. The story moves through her experiences as a child in an adult psychiatric hospital where the patient/staff differences are often blurred. When “disowned and disinherited” by her dysfunctional family, she moves into adulthood, assumes a new identity, acquires and then loses a surrogate family through cancer, and becomes a psychiatric professional nurse, and ultimately achieves a Ph.D. in psychotherapy. Her professional life involved patient care, psychiatric training for psychiatrists and nurses, psychoanalysis, and sexual abuse by her own therapist. But there was always a need to cover up her early history and the daunting implications of possible brain damage from her early electric shock. She married a gentle physician, and with her own motherhood, found it imperative to go back to the memories and losses for a reconciliation with her past through successful treatment. The story is poignant, often funny, often gritty, and always compelling.