Skate Life

Re-imagining White Masculinity

Author: Emily Chivers Yochim

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 225

View: 538

An in-depth look at skateboarding culture by a promising young scholar

My Skating Life: Fifty Plus Years of Skating

Author: Jo Ann Schneider Farris

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page:

View: 172

Travel on a wonderful journey with skating author, figure skating competitor, skating coach, and skating parent, Jo Ann Schneider Farris. Learn everything and anything about skating as you travel through Jo Ann's skating life. In addition to reading Jo Ann's story, purchasers of the digital edition of MY SKATING LIFE can also enjoy embedded links, articles, photos, and videos that will take the reader on more wonderful skating adventures. The photos in the digital edition are in color and can be enlarged and enjoyed. Happy Skating!

A Skating Life

My Story

Author: Dorothy Hamill

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 404

The dazzling smile, the signature haircut, the staple spin. "America's Sweetheart" Dorothy Hamill grew up on the ice, working toward the dream she was to accomplish by age nineteen: winning Olympic gold in figure skating. But life was not the picture of perfection it appeared to be. Dorothy faced a painful inner struggle from the time she was a young girl that followed her into adulthood--though she would not know about the depression that ran in her family until much later in life. Weeks and months away from home to train and compete took a difficult toll, yet little reprieve could be found in the tumultuous and fragile relationship she had with her parents. Dorothy went on to marry the man of her dreams, only to have the partnership end in heartache and a tragedy that almost pushed her to her breaking point. Then, just when a light at the end of the tunnel finally began to appear, a second failed marriage tried and tested Dorothy's trust and strength yet again--a travesty that could have led her to give up. But, she found a remarkable strength in what she did have--her greatest love, her daughter Alexandra. "Thank goodness, I had my skating. There was certainly a pattern to my life. When times were tough, I went skating. It was only while I was out on the ice, enjoying the freedom of movement and my love of music, that I was able to escape from my bottomless heartache." In her deeply moving and honest memoir, Dorothy opens up for the first time about love, family, courage, and what it means to truly win both on and off the ice.

Orser

A Skater's Life

Author: Brian Orser

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Figure skaters

Page: 214

View: 559

Hosoi

My Life as a Skateboarder Junkie Inmate Pastor

Author: Christian Hosoi

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 279

A mix of Tony Hawk and Brian Welch comes together in skateboarding legend Christian Hosoi, who reveals everything about his rise, fall, and redemption, in this amazing tell-all—from being named the greatest skater of all time to bottoming out on drugs to finally finding redemption through God. Fans of Slater Kelly’s Pipe Dreams and Brian Welch’s Save Me From Myself, and followers of Tony Alva, Jay Adams, and Steve Caballero, will be captivated by this extraordinary, star-studded story, a gripping read that ranges from the heart of the 1980s skateboarding scene to the inside of a prison, from Hollywood parties to intense prayer sessions. Hosoi: My Life as a Skateboarder Junkie Inmate Pastor takes readers to the heart of one little-known world after another—and he portrays them in all their gore and glory for all the world to see.

The Hearthstone, Or, Life at Home

A Household Manual Containing Hints and Helps Forhome Making : Home Furnishing; Decoration; Amusements ... Together with a Complete Cookery Book

Author: Laura Carter Holloway

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 558

View: 318

The Most Fun Thing

Dispatches from a Skateboard Life

Author: Kyle Beachy

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 958

Perfect for fans of Barbarian Days, this memoir in essays follows one man's decade-long quest to uncover the hidden meaning of skateboarding, and explores how this search led unexpectedly to insights on marriage, love, loss, American invention, and growing old. In January 2012, creative writing professor and novelist Kyle Beachy published one of his first essays on skate culture, an exploration of how Nike’s corporate strategy successfully gutted the once-mighty independent skate shoe market. Beachy has since established himself as skate culture's freshest, most illuminating, at times most controversial voice, writing candidly about the increasingly popular and fast-changing pastime he first picked up as a young boy and has continued to practice well into adulthood. What is skateboarding? What does it mean to continue skateboarding after the age of forty, four decades after the kickflip was invented? How does one live authentically as an adult while staying true to a passion cemented in childhood? How does skateboarding shape one's understanding of contemporary American life? Of growing old and getting married? Contemplating these questions and more, Beachy offers a deep exploration of a pastime—often overlooked, regularly maligned—whose seeming simplicity conceals universal truths. THE MOST FUN THING is both a rich account of a hobby and a collection of the lessons skateboarding has taught Beachy—and what it continues to teach him as he strugglesto find space for it as an adult, a professor, and a husband.

Skater Life

Author: Spencer Eltringham

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 42

View: 907

Skateboarding is an action sport originating in the United States that involves riding and performing tricks using a skateboard, as well as a recreational activity, an art form, an entertainment industry job, and a method of transportation. Skateboarding has been shaped and influenced by many skateboarders throughout the years. A 2009 report found that the skateboarding market is worth an estimated $4.8 billion in annual revenue, with 11.08 million active skateboarders in the world. In 2016, it was announced that skateboarding will be represented at the 2021 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, for both male and female teams.Since the 1970s, skateparks have been constructed specifically for use by skateboarders, freestyle BMXers, aggressive skaters, and very recently, scooters. However, skateboarding has become controversial in areas in which the activity, although illegal, has damaged curbs, stoneworks, steps, benches, plazas, and parks.

Skate for Your Life

Author: Leo Baker

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Nonfiction

Page: 64

View: 977

"In this moving, personal story, professional skateboarder Leo Baker shares their journey within the sport and the importance of authenticity and allyship as a non-binary athlete."--Provided by publisher.

Andy Howell

Art, Skateboarding & Life

Author: Andy Howell

Publisher: Gingko PressInc

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 304

View: 467

Art, Skateboarding & Life is an action packed story that is related in a series of awesome visuals. In his first monograph Andy Howells work on the deck and as an artist is presented within the context of an expansive network of artists, skaters and agitators, all bent on having an impact. It is an intense mixture of interviews, narrative text and non-stop visuals that follow Howells journey through pro skateboarding, the action sports industry, and allied segments of the DIY movements within art, music and design. Contributors include Tony Hawk, Shepard Fairey, Patricia Arquette, Dallas Austin, Ed Templeton, David Choe, Kenton Parker. The DVD features interviews with artists and skaters, skate videos, and music by Alyasha Owerka-Moore, Monkey Wrench, Mass Prophets, The Blowing Rock Triplets and more!!

Working My Way Through Life

Author: Allan Ede

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 230

View: 499

Working My Way Through Life is my autobiographical memoir of my experiences in the working world. I have worked at 25 different jobs besides teaching English for 40 years (36 in high school and 4 in college). I hope the readers of my book enjoy my stories. Each job has its own drama. Beginning with my first account, shining shoes in taverns at the age of four, to my final years of teaching, the readers will observe a vast array of working experiences, some more exciting than others, but all sharing different insights into the working world. Hopefully, my book will dispel that old saying; “Those who can--do; Those who can’t--teach.” I know that most people in the working world have many experiences and stories of their own. It is a matter of remembering and writing them down. Maybe I’ll be reading your book someday.

Skating on Air

The Broadcast History of an Olympic Marquee Sport

Author: Kelli Lawrence

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 244

View: 621

Of all winter sports, none is so widely watched and commented upon by the media as figure skating, which is often considered the Winter Olympics’ centerpiece. This critical text examines the ways in which media attention has gradually altered and affected the sport, from the early appearances of Sonja Henie, to skating’s gradual audience growth via television, and to the ramifications of the scandals in the 1994 and 2002 Olympics. The topic is illuminated by more than 30 interviews with commentators, skaters, producers, directors and others. In addition to numerous photos, illustrations show the compulsory figures for which “figure skating” got its name, as well as a sample of the charted-out “camera blocking” for TV directors. Appendices include collected anecdotes from early broadcasting experiences; a profile of broadcaster Jim McKay; and commentary from Carol Heiss on her 1961 musical Snow White and the Three Stooges.

My Skating Life

Fifty Plus Years of Skating

Author: Jo Ann Schneider Farris

Publisher: Createspace Independent Pub

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 526

Travel on a wonderful journey with skating author, figure skating competitor, skating coach, and skating parent, Jo Ann Schneider Farris. Learn everything and anything about skating as you travel through Jo Ann's skating life. In addition to reading Jo Ann's story, purchasers of the digital edition of MY SKATING LIFE can also enjoy embedded links, articles, photos, and videos that will take the reader on more wonderful skating adventures. The photos in the digital edition are in color and can be enlarged and enjoyed. This edition of MY SKATING LIFE includes a thorough index put together by indexing professional Ellen Phillips. Happy Skating!

Life in the Open Air

And Other Papers

Author: Theodore Winthrop

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American literature

Page: 374

View: 639

Skating Life After Death Skater Skateboard Gift

Journal (6x9 Inches) with 120 Pages

Author: Maximilian Armbruster

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 121

View: 532

This funny gift is for skaters who dont wan to get disturbed while they are skating. Men and women love to go skating with a skateboard. journal white paper 120 pages matte cover soft cover (paperback)