Silver Bay

Author: Jojo Moyes

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 979

The stunning, RNA shortlisted novel by Jojo Moyes, internationally bestselling author of Me Before You, After You and the new bestseller Still Me. 'Compelling tale' - Heat Liza McCullen will never escape her past. But the unspoilt beaches and tight-knit community of Silver Bay offer the freedom and safety she craves - if not for herself, then for her young daughter, Hannah. Until Mike Dormer arrives as a guest in her aunt's hotel, and the peace of Silver Bay is shattered. The mild-mannered Englishman with his too-smart clothes and disturbing eyes could destroy everything Liza has worked so hard to protect: not only the family business and the bay that harbours her beloved whales, but also her conviction that she will never love - never deserve to love - again.

Me Before You: A Novel by Jojo Moyes | Conversation Starters

Author: dailyBooks

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Study Aids

Page:

View: 614

Me Before You: by Jojo Moyes | Conversation Starters A Brief Look Inside: The latest novel from Jojo Moyes, Me Before You, discusses the controversial topic of assisted suicide. Will Traynor had everything—a good job, the ability to travel, and a beautiful girlfriend— until an accident left him a quadriplegic. The accident changed Will’s life dramatically; he is not only disabled but also loses his house and his girlfriend. He becomes so disillusioned and depressed that he decides to travel to Switzerland to end his life through assisted suicide. His parents struggle with this decision and ask for some time before he leaves. Meanwhile, they hire Louisa Clarke to take care of him. They hope she will be able to change Will's mind. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes has been called “heartbreaking in the best sense” by the New York Daily News and was on Amazon's Best Books of the Month list in January 2013. The book was also nominated for a Goodreads Choice Award in 2013... EVERY GOOD BOOK CONTAINS A WORLD FAR DEEPER than the surface of its pages. The characters and their world come alive, and the characters and its world still live on. Conversation Starters is peppered with questions designed to bring us beneath the surface of the page and invite us into the world that lives on. These questions can be used to... Create Hours of Conversation: • Foster a deeper understanding of the book • Promote an atmosphere of discussion for groups • Assist in the study of the book, either individually or corporately • Explore unseen realms of the book as never seen before Disclaimer: This book you are about to enjoy is an independent resource to supplement the original book, enhancing your experience of Me Before You. If you have not yet purchased a copy of the original book, please do before purchasing this unofficial Conversation Starters.

No Regrets, Coyote: A Novel

Author: John Dufresne

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 251

“A very cool ride. If Raymond Chandler was reincarnated as a novelist in South Florida, he couldn’t nail it any better than Dufresne.”—Carl Hiaasen On Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, Wylie “Coyote” Melville, therapist and forensic consultant, is summoned to a horrific crime scene. Five members of the Halliday family have been brutally killed. Wylie’s rare talent is an ability to read a crime scene, consider the evidence seen and unseen, and determine what’s likely to have happened. The police are soon convinced that the deaths were a murder-suicide carried out by a broken and desperate Chafin Halliday, but Wylie’s not so sure. As Wylie begins his own investigation with the help of his friend Bay Lettique—a poker-playing sleight-of-hand artist with links to the Everglades County underworld—he discovers a web of corruption involving the police union, Ponzi-scheming lawyers, county politicians, and the Russian mob. What follows is a heart-stopping, edgy novel that introduces a completely original crime solver.

The Ship of Brides

A Novel

Author: Jojo Moyes

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 802

From the New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You and One Plus One, in an earlier work available in the U.S. for the first time, a post-WWII story of the war brides who crossed the seas by the thousands to face their unknown futures 1946. World War II has ended and all over the world, young women are beginning to fulfill the promises made to the men they wed in wartime. In Sydney, Australia, four women join 650 other war brides on an extraordinary voyage to England—aboard HMS Victoria, which still carries not just arms and aircraft but a thousand naval officers. Rules are strictly enforced, from the aircraft carrier’s captain down to the lowliest young deckhand. But the men and the brides will find their lives intertwined despite the Navy’s ironclad sanctions. And for Frances Mackenzie, the complicated young woman whose past comes back to haunt her far from home, the journey will change her life in ways she never could have predicted—forever.

A Reader's Guide to the Novels of Louise Erdrich

Author: Peter G. Beidler

Publisher: University of Missouri Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 435

View: 771

"A revised and expanded, comprehensive guide to the novels of Native American author Louise Erdrich from Love Medicine to The Painted Drum. Includes chronologies, genealogical charts, complete dictionary of characters, map and geographical details about settings, and a glossary of all the Ojibwe words and phrases used in the novels"--Provided by publisher.

Ghost Lights: A Novel

Author: Lydia Millet

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 113

“Surreal, darkly hilarious and profound.”—San Francisco Chronicle Ghost Lights stars an IRS bureaucrat named Hal—a man baffled by his wife’s obsession with her young employer, T., and haunted by the accident that paralyzed his daughter, Casey. In a moment of drunken heroism, Hal embarks on a quest to find T.—the protagonist of Lydia Millet’s much-lauded novel How the Dead Dream—who has vanished in a jungle. On his trip to Central America, Hal embroils himself in a surreal tropical adventure, descending into strange and unpredictable terrain (and an unexpected affair with a beguiling German woman). Ghost Lights is Millet at her best—beautifully written, engaging, full of dead-on insights into the heartbreaking devotion of parenthood and the charismatic oddity of human behavior. The book draws us into a darkly humorous, sometimes off-kilter world where bonds of affection remain a reliable magnetic north. Ghost Lights is a startling, comic, and surprisingly philosophical story.

Me Before You

A Novel

Author: Jojo Moyes

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 488

Look out for Jojo’s new book, Still Me, the next book featuring Louisa Clark from Me Before You and After You, coming soon! They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . . Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is. Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living. A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

The Cartographer of No Man's Land: A Novel

Author: P.S. Duffy

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 259

The lauded masterpiece about a family divided by World War I, hailed as “brilliant . . . altogether a remarkable debut” (Simon Mawer, author of The Glass Room). From a village in Nova Scotia to the trenches of France, P. S. Duffy’s astonishing debut showcases a rare talent emerging in midlife. When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a town torn by grief. Selected as both a Barnes & Noble Discover pick and one of the American Bookseller Association’s Debut Dozen, The Cartographer of No Man’s Land offers a soulful portrayal of World War I and the lives that were forever changed by it, both on the battlefield and at home.

Child of the Prophecy: A Sevenwaters Novel 3

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Pan Australia

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 247

The third book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series Child of the Prophecy is the eagerly-awaited follow-up to the winner of the Aurealis Award Son of the Shadows and the international bestseller Daughter of the Forest. Raised in an isolated cove, Fainne has been sent to live at Sevenwaters and burdened with a terrible task. She must use whatever powers she can to prevent the Fair Folk winning back the Islands, no matter what the cost. Even if it means denying herself the one she loves. But can Fainne turn her back on the people she has come to care for? And can she bring herself to rid the world of the chosen one-child of the prophecy? PRAISE FOR THE SERIES "Enormously satisfying ... enchanting, deftly told" Good Reading "There are some series so lyrical, so well-conceived, that every new book is a delight, and this describes Marillier's Sevenwaters." The Weekend West "A rousing page-turner, a heady blending of romance, magic and battle" Booklist Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

Landlords

A Novel

Author: Mia Kirsi Stageberg

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 279