The Shocking Secret of a Guest at the Wedding

Author: Victoria Alexander

Publisher: Zebra Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 243

The bride and groom cordially request your presence for a wedding at Millworth Manor. . . Guests will include Jackson Quincy Graham Channing, New York City banker, and Lady Theodosia "Teddy" Winslow, wedding planner to the finest families in England. Introductions shall be followed by light conversation, dancing, flirtation, arguing, reconciliation, and an impulsive kiss that both parties are quite certain they will never repeat. Until they do. A mutually beneficial fake engagement will be accompanied by all manner of very real complications, scandalous revelations, nefarious schemes, and one inescapable conclusion: That true love--unlike the perfect wedding--is impossible to plan. . . Praise for Victoria Alexander "Sparkling dialogue and endearing characters make this an enthralling read." --Sabrina Jeffries

The Scandalous Adventures of the Sister of the Bride

Author: Victoria Alexander

Publisher: Zebra Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 157

"Sparkling dialogue and endearing characters make this an enthralling read." --Sabrina Jeffries, New York Times bestselling author The bride and groom cordially request the presence of. . . The bride's sister, Delilah, the very proper widowed Lady Hargate, and Samuel Russell, the groom's friend, a very eligible, slightly improper bachelor, at their upcoming wedding. Lady Hargate and Mr. Russell, previously acquainted during one unforgettable night in New York City when caution--and clothing--were thrown to the wind will choose to pretend they have never met before. The lady plans to avoid love and its complications at all costs.The gentleman intends to change her mind. Guests are invited to enjoy the many diversions of Millworth Manor--delightful grounds, lavish drawing rooms, secluded corners--and the chance to discover that one night may have been only the beginning. . . Praise for Victoria Alexander "The perfect holiday treat." –The Chicago Tribune on What Happens at Christmas

The Daring Exploits of a Runaway Heiress

Author: Victoria Alexander

Publisher: Zebra Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 514

To Do: Swim naked in the moonlight Play in a high stakes card game Ride an elephant Be painted sans clothing. Take a lover. . . Lucy Merryweather has inherited a fortune--and her great-aunt's list of unfulfilled wishes. What better way to honor her memory than by accomplishing as many of them as possible? And with Lucy's family an ocean away in New York, nothing stands in her way--if one ignores the private investigator hired to spy on her. Yet Cameron Effington is infuriatingly difficult to ignore. . . As a reporter, Cameron is always looking for a good story. An American heiress running rampant between Millworth Manor and Mayfair is the perfect subject. Not to mention captivating. And extremely kissable. And if Lucy believes he's a detective? Well, the truth should never get in the way of a good story--or hinder delicious, impetuous passion. . .

A Secret in the Family

One shocking discovery can change your life forever...

Author: Lyn Andrews

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 808

A secret about one young woman's fiancé will tear a family apart... A Secret in the Family is a compelling and atmospheric saga, written by bestselling author Lyn Andrews, of the devastating consequences of long buried secrets. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson. When best friends Dee Campbell and Jean Williams leave school in 1959, it feels like every opportunity awaits them. Their families haven't long moved from a rundown part of the city to leafy Kirkby when Jean's father wins the Irish sweepstake and soon Jean's set up her own hairdressing salon, while both girls have fallen for good-looking lads with prospects. But Dee's father is about to discover a disturbing truth about her fiancé which will tear the family apart. As Dee flees to Ireland, Jean marries Tony, blissfully unaware that she's not the only pretty girl to catch his eye... Tumultuous years lie ahead but Dee and Jean will learn that the people who love you will always be there when you need them most... What readers are saying about A Secret in the Family: 'One of the best. Enjoyable in all ways, sadness, laughter and tears. Written with the same dedication as all of her other books' 'Held my attention right to the end! Excellently written' 'Very well written and will capture your imagination'

The Wedding Guest

An Alex Delaware Novel

Author: Jonathan Kellerman

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 522

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Jonathan Kellerman’s psychology skills and dark imagination are a potent literary mix.”—Los Angeles Times Psychologist Alex Delaware and detective Milo Sturgis unravel a shocking crime at a raucous wedding reception in this gripping psychological thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling master of suspense. LAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis is a fine homicide detective, but when he needs to get into the mind of a killer, he leans on the expertise of his best friend, the brilliant psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware. While Sturgis has a knack for piecing together the details of a crime, Delaware can decipher the darkest intents driving the most vicious of perpetrators. And there’s no better place for the doctor’s analytical skills to shine than a rowdy hall full of young men and women intoxicated on life and lust . . . and suddenly faced with the specter of death. Summoned to a run-down former strip joint, Delaware and Sturgis find themselves crashing a wild Saints and Sinners–themed wedding reception. But they’re not the only uninvited guests. A horrified bridesmaid has discovered the body of a young woman, dressed to impress in pricey haute couture and accessorized with a grisly red slash around her neck. What’s missing is any means of identification, or a single partygoer who recognizes the victim. The baffled bride is convinced the stranger snuck in to sabotage her big day—and the groom is sure it’s all a dreadful mistake. But Delaware and Sturgis have a hundred guests to question, and a sneaking suspicion that the motive for murder is personal. Now they must separate the sinners from the saints, the true from the false, and the secrets from those keeping them. The party’s over—and the hunt for whoever killed it is on.

British Playwrights, 1880-1956

A Research and Production Sourcebook

Author: William W. Demastes

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 457

View: 160

Bio-critical essays overview and assess the life and work of some 40 British playwrights active from 1880 through 1956.

Sir James Barrie

Author: Harry M. Geduld

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 187

View: 571

Florence Harding

The First Lady, the Jazz Age, and the Death of America's Most Scandalous President

Author: Carl Sferrazza Anthony

Publisher: William Morrow

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 645

View: 241

A biography of a woman who became the forerunner of today's strong First Ladies finally reveals whether or not Florence Harding poisoned her husband