Shadows in the Cotswolds

Author: Rebecca Tope

Publisher: Allison & Busby

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 267

When Thea Osborne agrees at the last minute to house-sit for Oliver Meadows, she expects a few days of peace with her spaniel, Hepzie. Uncomfortable with the news of her mother’s sudden involvement with an old flame, and herself unsure of how to deal with her feelings for Drew Slocombe, Thea hopes that some time alone in the historic town of Winchcombe will help to clear her head. But with the disturbing discovery of a dead body in the gardens of the house, she quickly finds herself at the heart of a sinister mystery. Thea must work quickly to unravel the secrets kept by Oliver Meadows and his brother, Fraser, and discover exactly what lies beneath the surface of their turbulent relationship. But without Drew there to help her, she finds it ever more difficult to uncover the truth. And amidst the chaos caused by the investigation, will Thea find time to deal with her own problems?

Shadows in the Cotswolds - Book 11

Murder Lies Beneath the Beauty of a Tranquil Town

Author: Rebecca Tope

Publisher: Cotswold Mysteries

ISBN:

Category: Cotswold Hills (England)

Page: 300

View: 307

When Thea Osborne agrees at the last minute to house-sit for Oliver Meadows as a favour to her mother, she expects a few days of peace with her spaniel, Hepzie. Uncomfortable with the news of her mother's sudden involvement with an old flame, and Thea herself unsure of how to deal with her feelings for Drew Slocombe, she hopes that some time alone in the historic town of Winchcombe will help to clear her head. But, as usual, Thea quickly finds herself at the centre of a dark mystery when she discovers a dead body in the gardens of the house.

Death in the Cotswolds

Author: Rebecca Tope

Publisher: Allison & Busby

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 265

Thea Osborne is thanking her lucky stars. After two disastrous housesitting incidents in which she unwittingly became embroiled in murder and mayhem, she is only too happy to have a bit of time to concentrate on her blossoming releationship with DI Phil Hollis. The couple has retreated to Phil's late aunt's cottage in Cold Aston, and other than the odd interruption from his childhood acquaintance, the eccentric Ariadne, they look forward to some peace and quiet. But the bad luck that plagues the hapless Thea and her beloved spaniel Hepzibah is never far away. With autumn drawing in, preparations for Samhain, the pagan origin of Halloween, are well underway when Ariadne discovers a very tangible reminder of the season of death: a body laid out like a sacrificial victim on Notgrove Barrow. It soon becomes apparent that the cosy village has more than its share of secrets. But just how far will some go to keep them hidden?

The Shadow Hour

Author: Kate Riordan

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 500

View: 463

For fans of Rachel Rhys' The Dangerous Crossing and Victoria Hislops's Cartes Postales from Greece, NOW AT THIS SPECIAL EBOOK PRICE It was in the shadow hours of deepest night that this tapestry of lies fell to rags . . . Harriet Jenner is just twenty-one when she walks through the gates of Fenix House. Reeling from a personal tragedy, she doesn't expect her new life as a governess to be easy. But she certainly does not foresee the spell Fenix House will cast. Almost fifty years later, Harriet's granddaughter Grace follows in her footsteps. For Grace, raised on Harriet's spellbinding stories, Fenix House is a fairy tale; a magical place suspended in time. But the now-faded grandeur of the mansion soon begins to reveal the holes in Harriet's story and Grace finds herself in a place of secrets and shadows. For Fenix House hides truths about her family, and everything that she once knew is about to change. Praise for The Shadow Hour 'I was immediately drawn in by this beautifully written tale. I loved the sense of intrigue and the air of mystery at Fenix House, and was itching for answers as the two narratives unfolded' Dinah Jefferies 'A perfect gothic, big-house mystery that kept me turning the pages' Katherine Webb 'It's wonderful - the dark suspense and evocative descriptions are perfect' Liz Fenwick 'We loved last year's The Girl in the Photograph and this latest atmospheric saga is just as thrilling' Essentials 'Intelligent, poignant, unexpected: highly recommended' Louise Candlish 'Beautifully written and utterly compelling, I loved this' Katie Fforde 'Gorgeously written - Kate's evocative storytelling held me rapt until the very end' Lucy Diamond 'Full of dark intrigue, rich description and haunting secrets, this kept me reading and reading! Beautifully written and compelling until the end. I adored it' Ella Harper

Watcher in the Shadows

Author: Geoffrey Household

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 613

A deadly pursuit through the English countryside from the acclaimed author of ROGUE MALE. After working as a double agent for the British in Nazi Germany during the war, Charles Dennim is now living a quiet, unassuming life in England. Until the postman delivers a letter bomb to his front door. Suddenly hunted by a killer with no name and no apparent motive, Dennim must use his wartime skills to stay alive, and the two master hunters embark on a deadly game of cat and mouse through the picturesque English countryside. With brilliant descriptions of the Cotswolds and a high-stakes manhunt, this is a pursuit novel that stands with Household's best.

The English Landscape in the Twentieth Century

Author: Trevor Rowley

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 472

View: 737

Trevor Rowley's new study is a highly topical account of the changes that have taken place and that continue to take place on the country around us.

Lady Robyn

Author: R. Garcia y Robertson

Publisher: Forge Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 304

The author of two highly praised novels, The Spiral Dance and American Woman, R. Garcia y Robertson returns with a charming time-travel romance sequence. In Knight Errant, Robyn Stafford, a young American woman hiking in England near the Welsh border, was swept back in time to the 1460s, the age of the War of the Roses. There she fell in love with a young knight, Edward, son of the Duke of York. Cast back in time by witchcraft, Robyn, a young executive from Hollywood, raised in Montana, has chosen to stay there out of love for Edward, who has promised to marry her. Now in Lady Robyn, Robyn's fantasy of courtly romance comes up against the brute reality of medieval politics: the politics of murder, warfare, and betrayal. The War of the Roses is no longer a textbook subject, it's messing up her life, and so is the noble witch who, though he doesn't know it, is Edward's enemy. Edward's father, Richard, is making a bid for the throne, and if he wins it, Edward will be heir apparent. And if Robyn marries him, she will someday be queen and her children heirs to the throne as well. In the 1460s, that means living with the constant threat of death. The survival rate for heirs is not high. Will Robyn reject her love or risk the lives of her children to be? This is an engrossing time-travel romance in the mold of Diana Gabaldon's bestselling timeslip tales. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Cotswolds Werewolf and other Stories of Sherlock Holmes

Author: Peter K. Andersson

Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 169

View: 996

Someone is killing sheep in the Cotswolds. Or something. As Holmes and Watson arrive in the tranquility of a little village of shepherds and farmers to enjoy a few restful days in the idyllic countryside, strange things start to occur. While Holmes locks himself in his hotel room, consumed by depression, Watson is left to explore the surroundings on his own, acquainting himself with both the local shepherding community, the eccentric vicar, and the local folklore concerning a mysterious werewolf. It isn't long before the murderer directs his attention to other prey than sheep, and Holmes is forced out of his ennui into a world of fog-enshrouded moors, wild men, pitchforks and a big bad wolf. This volume also includes four shorter stories in the vein of Conan Doyle: 'The Adventure of the Velvet Lampshade', 'The Adventure of the Missing Mudlark', 'The Adventure of the Forking Paths', and 'The Adventure of the One-Armed Pugilist'.

Stones of Empire

The Buildings of the Raj

Author: Jan Morris

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 234

View: 553

The attitude of the British to India was compounded partly of arrogance, but partly also of homesickness, and it shows in their constructions. Georgian terraces were adapted to tropical conditions, Victorian railway stations were elaborately orientalised, and seaside villas were adjusted to suit Himalayan conditions. This book, now reissued with a new introduction by Simon Winchester, is the first to describe the whole range of British constructions in India. Stones of Empire charts an enterprise in architecture, engineering, and social adaptation unique in human history.