Secret Drugs of Buddhism

Psychedelic Sacraments and the Origins of the Vajrayana

Author: Michael Crowley

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 340

View: 510

Secret Drugs of Buddhism explores the historical evidence for the use of entheogenic plants within the Buddhist tradition and calls attention to the central role which psychedelics played in Indian religions.

Secret Drugs of Buddhism

Psychedelic Sacraments and the Origins of the Vajrayāna

Author: Mike Crowley

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 468

View: 522

An investigation of the role of psychedelic sacraments in Indian spirituality

Der Schild Europas

der Kampf d. Malteserritter gegen d. Türken 1565

Author: Ernle Dusgate Selby Bradford

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 309

View: 633

Psychedelic Buddhism

A User's Guide to Traditions, Symbols, and Ceremonies

Author: Lama Mike Crowley

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 328

View: 673

• Presents guidance and techniques for Buddhists who wish to incorporate psychedelics into their practice as well as for psychonauts who are interested in the maps of inner space provided by Buddhism • Explores the use of psychedelics in Buddhist practice, sharing the kind of spiritual experiences that can be gained with each • Describes meditation techniques, with special attention being given to the generation of the Four Positive Attitudes In this user’s guide to Psychedelic Buddhism, Lama Mike Crowley presents techniques for Buddhists who wish to incorporate psychedelics into their practice as well as for psychonauts who are interested in the maps of inner space provided by Buddhism. The author details how psychedelics have led to spontaneous awakening experiences, such as “Indra’s net” and universal voidness, that were once thought to be available only to advanced meditators. He explores the use of psychedelics, such as LSD or psilocybin mushrooms, in a Buddhist context, sharing the kind of spiritual experiences and benefits that can be gained with each. The author also looks at the use of psychedelics encoded in Vedic and Buddhist scriptures, particularly in the Vajrayāna tradition, from the Middle Ages until the present day. Presenting an informed summary of Buddhism for psychonauts, the author explores the key beliefs of Buddhism, the life of the Buddha, and the practices followed in various yānas, or paths. He describes meditation techniques, with special attention being given to the generation of the Four Positive Attitudes: loving-kindness, compassion, sympathetic joy, and equanimity, each being taken from their personal to their universal forms. He looks at Buddhism symbols, ceremonies, deities, and initiations, as well as psychic powers in Buddhist tradition, and how these ideas and practices can be used in the exploration of the inner realms of consciousness. Providing a complete guide to integrating psychedelics into Buddhist practice, this book reveals how the ancient Buddhist teachers discovered their universal maps of consciousness and how you can use their wisdom to guide your journey.

The Hasheesh Eater and Other Writings

Extended Edition

Author: Fitz Ludlow

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 224

View: 862

Fitz Hugh Ludlow's Classic Tome of "Hasheesh", combined as well with the chronology of his life, Reviews of "The Hasheesh Eater" from the 19th century on as well as "What Shall They Do to be Saved?", "The Apocalypse of Hasheesh", "The Vial of Dread" & "E Pluribus Unum". An extra addition to the book is Bayard Taylor's "The Vision Of Hasheesh". The book is lavishly illustrated by the artist/writer Gwyllm Llwydd, known for his Orientalist & Collagist leanings. Foreword written by Mike Crowley, author of "The Secret Drugs Of Buddhism" A volume for those who are interested in exploration of the various mental& visionary states, using cannabis, and otherwise. This is the Special Extended Edition For Private Sales Only

Alchemically Stoned - The Psychedelic Secret of Freemasonry

The Psychedelic Secret of Freemasonry

Author: P.D. Newman

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 561

P.D. Newman's bold and daring theory provides a radical interpretation of Masonic symbolism. In the tradition of Wasson, Hofmann and Ruck, in ""The Road to Eleusis: Unveiling the Secret of the Mysteries"" (1978), and Heinrich's ""Strange Fruit: Alchemy, Religion, and Magical Foods"" (1995), Newman suggests that practical psychoactive pharmacology, rather than philosophy, lies concealed in the root of some of our allegories and mysteries. Admitting to being more than a mere theoretician, Newman draws from his own personal experiences, and a wide range of sources, in presenting his theory in a logical manner, which merits consideration. - Arturo De Hoyos, 33* Grand Archivist and Grand Historian Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite, Southern Jurisdiction

Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha

An Unusually Hardcore Dharma Book - Revised and Expanded Edition

Author: Daniel Ingram

Publisher: Aeon Books

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 616

View: 186

The very idea that the teachings can be mastered will arouse controversy within Buddhist circles. Even so, Ingram insists that enlightenment is an attainable goal, once our fanciful notions of it are stripped away, and we have learned to use meditation as a method for examining reality rather than an opportunity to wallow in self-absorbed mind-noise. Ingram sets out concisely the difference between concentration-based and insight (vipassana) meditation; he provides example practices; and most importantly he presents detailed maps of the states of mind we are likely to encounter, and the stages we must negotiate as we move through clearly-defined cycles of insight. Its easy to feel overawed, at first, by Ingram's assurance and ease in the higher levels of consciousness, but consistently he writes as a down-to-earth and compassionate guide, and to the practitioner willing to commit themselves this is a glittering gift of a book.In this new edition of the bestselling book, the author rearranges, revises and expands upon the original material, as well as adding new sections that bring further clarity to his ideas.

Seeking the Sacred with Psychoactive Substances: Chemical Paths to Spirituality and to God [2 volumes]

Chemical Paths to Spirituality and to God

Author: J. Harold Ellens

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 830

View: 119

Can drugs be used intelligently and responsibly to expand human consciousness and heighten spirituality? This two-volume work presents objective scientific information and personal stories aiming to answer the question. • Includes coverage of a variety of drugs, most of which are currently illegal in the United States, accompanied by scientific explanations of how they spur spiritual experiences • Offers compelling narratives from individuals—both laypeople and professionals—who found new dimensions within their lives and heightened their spirituality by the use of entheogens • Supplies information about medical experiments and new treatment modes that provide definitive breakthrough methods for caring for suffering people

The Psychedelic Policy Quagmire: Health, Law, Freedom, and Society

Health, Law, Freedom, and Society

Author: J. Harold Ellens

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 423

View: 502

Edited by two preeminent scholars, this book provides coverage of the policy issues related to the increasingly diverse treatments, practices, and applications of psychedelics. Hallucinogenic substances like LSD, mescaline, peyote, MDMA, and ayahuasca have a reputation as harmful substances that are enjoyed only by recreational users committing criminal acts. But leading international researchers and scholars who contributed to this book hold that the use of psychedelic substances for health, religious, intellectual, and artistic purposes is a Constitutional right—and a human right. Based on that conclusion, these scholars focus on policy issues that regulate the use of psychedelic drugs in medicine, religion, personal life, and higher education, arguing that existing regulations should match current and anticipated future uses. This volume has two parts. The first surveys research on the use of psychedelic drugs in medicine, religion, and truth-seeking, following these topics through history and contemporary practice. The second section treats government policices that regulate the psychological, physiological, biochemical, and spiritual aspects of research and experience in these fields. The Psychedelic Policy Quagmire: Health, Law, Freedom, and Society challenges medical and legal policy experts, ethicists, scientists, and scholars with the question: How can we formulate policies that reduce the dangers of psychedelics' misuse and at the same time maximize the emerging diverse benefits? • Covers history, law, social use, intellectual and sacramental practice, and current medical research, bringing the debate about psychedelic drugs up to date for the 21st century • Summarizes evidence regarding the positive therapeutic effects of psychoactive drugs to show why regulations need to be changed • Encompasses the work of the leading international researchers in the field • Includes personal observations, vignettes, and narratives