Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine

Author: Alan Lightman

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 240

View: 839

From the acclaimed author of Einstein's Dreams, here is an inspires, lyrical meditation on religion and science that explores the tension between our yearning for permanence and certainty, and the modern scientific discoveries that demonstrate the impermanent and uncertain nature of the world. As a physicist, Alan Lightman has always held a scientific view of the world. As a teenager experimenting in his own laboratory, he was impressed by the logic and materiality of a universe governed by a small number of disembodied forces and laws that decree all things in the world are material and impermanent. But one summer evening, while looking at the stars from a small boat at sea, Lightman was overcome by the overwhelming sensation that he was merging with something larger than himself—a grand and eternal unity, a hint of something absolute and immaterial. Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine is Lightman's exploration of these seemingly contradictory impulses. He draws on sources ranging from Saint Augustine's conception of absolute truth to Einstein's theory of relativity, from the unity of the once-indivisible atom to the multiplicity of subatomic particles and the recent notion of multiple universes. What he gives us is a profound inquiry into the human desire for truth and meaning, and a journey along the different paths of religion and science that become part of that quest.

Lost & Found

Author: Jacqueline Sheehan

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 881

A poignant and unforgettable tale of love, loss, and moving on . . . with the help of one not-so-little dog Rocky's husband Bob was just forty-two when she discovered him lying cold and lifeless on the bathroom floor . . . and Rocky's world changed forever. Quitting her job, chopping off all her hair, she leaves Massachusetts—reinventing her past and taking a job as Animal Control Warden on Peak's Island, a tiny speck off the coast of Maine and a million miles away from everything she's lost. She leaves her career as a psychologist behind, only to find friendship with a woman whose brain misfires in the most wonderful way and a young girl who is trying to disappear. Rocky, a quirky and fallible character, discovers the healing process to be agonizingly slow. But then she meets Lloyd. A large black Labrador retriever, Lloyd enters Rocky's world with a primitive arrow sticking out of his shoulder. And so begins a remarkable friendship between a wounded woman and a wounded, lovable beast. As the unraveling mystery of Lloyd's accident and missing owner leads Rocky to an archery instructor who draws her in even as she finds every reason to mistrust him, she discovers the life-altering revelation that grief can be transformed . . . and joy does exist in unexpected places.

Island Boy

Story and Pictures

Author:

Publisher: Viking Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 36

View: 704

Matthais grows from a little boy to a grandfather on a small island off the coast of New England.

Time of Wonder

Author: Robert McCloskey

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 64

View: 355

Winner of the Caldecott Medal! For fans of Blueberries for Sal, One Morning in Maine, and Make way for Ducklings. "Out on the islands that poke their rocky shores above the waters of Penobscot Bay, you can watch the time of the world go by, from minute to minute, hour to hour, from day to day . . ." So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal. The spell of rain, the gulls and a foggy morning, the excitement of sailing, the quiet of the night, the sudden terror of a hurricane, and, in the end, the peace of the island as the family packs up to leave are shown in poetic language and vibrant, evocative pictures.

Enchanted August

Author: Brenda Bowen

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 521

'Brenda Bowen's Enchanted August is a perfect summer read – for any time of the year' Everyone needs a place like Hopewell Cottage – a romantic holiday rental on a small, sunny island. For Rose and Lottie, it’s a refuge from the frenzy of the school gates. For Beverly, it’s a chance to say goodbye to two lost loves. And for disgraced movie star Caroline, it offers the anonymity she craves. But on tiny Little Lost Island, with its cocktail parties, tennis matches and Ladies’ Association for Beautification, will they really find the answers to their very modern problems? ‘Delightful... I'm dreaming of blueberries and Maine lobster. We all need a sunny island or castle to which we can run away’ Helen Simonson, author of MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND

The Colorado Kid

Author: Stephen King

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 184

View: 744

On an island off the coast of Maine, a man is found dead. There's no identification on the body. Only the dogged work of a pair of local newspapermen and a graduate student in forensics turns up any clues. But that's just the beginning of the mystery. Because the more they learn about the man and the baffling circumstances of his death, the less they understand. Was it an impossible crime? Or something stranger still...? No one but Stephen King could tell this story about the darkness at the heart of the unknown and our compulsion to investigate the unexplained. With echoes of Dashiell Hammett's The Maltese Falcon and the work of Graham Greene, one of the world's great storytellers presents a surprising tale that explores the nature of mystery itself...

Halloween

Everything Important About the Most Popular Secular Holiday

Author: LEONARD R. N. ASHLEY

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 539

View: 373

This big, informed, witty, and entertaining book, actually several books in one, covers all the aspects of the secular holiday unlike any other. Only the exhaustive is interesting. - Thomas Mann HALLOWEEN HISTORY AND TRADITION, THE JACK-O- LANTERN, TRICK OR TREAT, HOLIDAY FOLKLORE, MASKS AND VARIOUS COSTUMES, HALLOWEEN BUSINESS, HALLOWEEN AROUND THE WORLD, HALLOWEEN PARADES AND PARTIES, HALLOWEEN RECIPES AND PARTY IDEAS, HALLOWEEN STORIES AND OTHER LITERATURE, HUNDREDS OF BIG AND SMALL SCREEN DELIGHTS FOR YOUR WATCHING AT HALLOWEEN WITH A FULL, CASUAL, GIANT ANNOTATED FILMOGRAPHY, & COMMENTS ON HORROR IN ARTS OF YESTERDAY AND TODAY.