Sea Monsters

Author: Chloe Aridjis

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 270

'Sea Monsters is a mesmerizing, revelatory novel, smart and funny and laced with a strangeness that is never facile but serves as a profound and poetic tool for navigating our shared world. Chloe Aridjis is the rare writer who reinvents herself in each book; she is, for my money, one of the most brilliant novelists working in English today' Garth Greenwell One autumn afternoon in Mexico City, 17-year-old Luisa does not return home from school. Instead, she boards a bus to the Pacific coast with Tomás, a boy she barely knows. He seems to represent everything her life is lacking – recklessness, impulse, independence – and may also help her fulfil an unusual obsession: to track down a troupe of Ukrainian dwarfs who have recently escaped a Soviet circus touring Mexico. They head for Zipolite, the ‘Beach of the Dead’, a community peopled by hippies, nudists, beach combers and eccentric storytellers, and Luisa searches for someone, anyone, who will ‘promise, no matter what, to remain a mystery’. But as she wanders the shoreline, she begins to discover that a quest is more easily envisioned than accomplished. And so unfolds a phantasmagorical tale of adolescence, transgression and disenchantment in late 1980s Mexico, a place of long nights, insistent sun and relentless rain. Sea Monsters is an intoxicating evocation of past selves and buried histories, the pull of fantasy colliding with the stark light of reality – a dreamlike yet vivid novel about the moments and mysteries that shape us.

North Sea Monster

A Novel the Action of which Commences Next August

Author: Douglas Arthur Spencer

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 245

View: 997

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters: The Graphic Novel

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 128

View: 910

You can't tell by looking at me that my dad is Poseidon, God of the Sea. It's not easy being a half-blood these days. Even a simple game of dodgeball becomes a death match against an ugly gang of cannibal giants - and that was only the beginning. Now Camp Half-Blood is under attack, and unless I can get my hands on the Golden Fleece, the whole camp will be invaded by monsters. Big ones . . . This full-colour graphic novel is adapted by Robert Vendetti, with art by Attila Futaki and colour by Tamàs Gàspàr.

Sea Monsters Vs. Dragons

Showdown of the Legends

Author: Michael O'Hearn

Publisher: Capstone

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 636

"Describes the features and abilities of sea monsters and dragons, and how they may battle each other in a fight"--Provided by publisher.

Sunrise With Seamonsters

Travels And Discoveries 1964-1984

Author: Paul Theroux

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 512

View: 640

Sunrise with Sea Monsters is Paul Theroux's immensely entertaining collection of his shorter writings, ranging from sketches to critical essays. Each piece marks a new 'confrontation with the world' and throws new light on the political and social climate of diverse cultures such as those of New York, Singapore, Ireland and Malawi. Others give a lively portrayal of the people Theroux has met or books and landscapes which have inspired him. Above all, this is a fascinating perspective on two decades of travelling, writing and living away from home.

Mewranters: Attack of the Sea Monster

A Novel

Author: Kachi Ugo

Publisher: Morgan James Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 844

Mewranters: Attack of the Sea Monster uniquely blends adventure with an engaging fast-paced writing style to present readers with an action-packed story of wits, wisdom, and sheer force of will. Every Mew in the country is out to kill Perry, and the sea monster is calling him out to the sea. Therefore, he must quickly learn why every Mew is threatened by the existence of an eagle Mew if he is to stand a chance at saving his parents and killing the monster. On the day of his initiation, he shifts into a huge Golden Eagle. However, this is a bad thing since no eagle Mew makes it past the age of twelve. To complicate his life, his shifting into an eagle Mew has reawakened the sea monster. A tentative partnership is formed between the different clans. But when Perry Johnson realizes that this partnership could mean the death of his parents, he has a decision to make. With every Mew in the country out to kill him, and the sea monster calling him out to the sea, Perry must quickly learn why every Mew is threatened by the existence of an eagle Mew if he is to stand a chance at saving his parents and killing the monster. If he fails, it may very well be the end of his family... and the rest of the world. This fast-paced story, with its intriguing plot and original fantastical world, keeps every zoo-going, animal-loving kid wanting more as they follow Perry’s adventure.

BC Blue (KS2) B/4A Awfully Beastly Business

Saving a Sea Monster

Author: Beastly Boys (Writers' group)

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Sea monsters

Page: 56

View: 127

This title is part of Bug Club, the first whole-school reading programme to combine books with an online reading world to teach today's children to read. In this Year 5 Blue B (NC level 4a) fiction novel ... A sea monster at the RSPCB is dying. The only way it can survive is for Dr Fielding to perform an operation on its brain... but she can't get close to the monster as it has a massive stinger full of deadly venom. Can Ulf remove the monster's deadly venom without being stung?

A Crack in the Sea

Author: H. M. Bouwman

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 368

View: 544

An enchanting historical fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Thanhha Lai's Newbery Honor-winning Inside Out and Back Again No one comes to the Second World on purpose. The doorway between worlds opens only when least expected. The Raft King is desperate to change that by finding the doorway that will finally take him and the people of Raftworld back home. To do it, he needs Pip, a young boy with an incredible gift—he can speak to fish; and the Raft King is not above kidnapping to get what he wants. Pip’s sister Kinchen, though, is determined to rescue her brother and foil the Raft King’s plans. This is but the first of three extraordinary stories that collide on the high seas of the Second World. The second story takes us back to the beginning: Venus and Swimmer are twins captured aboard a slave ship bound for Jamaica in 1781. They save themselves and others from a life of enslavement with a risky, magical plan—one that leads them from the shark-infested waters of the first world to the second. Pip and Kinchen will hear all about them before their own story is said and done. So will Thanh and his sister Sang, who we meet in 1978 on a small boat as they try to escape post-war Vietnam. But after a storm and a pirate attack, they’re not sure they’ll ever see shore again. What brings these three sets of siblings together on an adventure of a lifetime is a little magic, helpful sea monsters and that very special portal, A Crack in the Sea. From the Hardcover edition.

Sea of Monsters, The (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney Electronic Content

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 550

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson—a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any "normal" friends. But things don't stay quiet for long...

Cryptofiction - A Collection of Fantastical Short Stories of Sea Monsters, Dangerous Insects, and Other Mysterious Creatures

Including Tales by Arthur Conan Doyle, Jack London, William Hope Hodgson, and Many Other Important Authors in the Genre

Author: Various Authors

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 860

View: 489

These early works by various authors were originally published in the late 19th century and early 20th century and we are now republishing them with a brand new introduction as part of our Cryptofiction Classics series. 'Cryptofiction - Volume II.' contains a collection of short stories that include 'The Messenger' by Robert W. Chambers, 'The Brazilian Cat' by Arhur Conan Doyle, 'A Relic of the Pliocene' by Jack London, and many other classic tales of strange creatures. The genre of cryptofiction has grown up in the shadow of its older brothers, science fiction and fantasy, and specialises in the concept of mysterious creatures such as sea monsters, wolf-men, and lost pre-historic creatures. Cryptofiction takes its name from another, non-literary practice: cryptozoology. This is generally regarded as a pseudoscience by mainstream scientists, relying as it does upon anecdotal, often unverifiable evidence. However, it still boasts many enthusiasts, and continues to exert considerable artistic allure. Cryptofiction is here to stay, and the stories in this collection map the development of a genre which is as strange as it is fascinating. The Cryptofiction Classics series contains a collection of wonderful stories from some of the greatest authors in the genre, including Ambrose Bierce, Arthur Conan Doyle, Robert Louis Stevenson, and Jack London. From its roots in cryptozoology, this genre features bizarre, fantastical, and often terrifying tales of mythical and legendary creatures. Whether it be giant spiders, werewolves, lake monsters, or dinosaurs, the Cryptofiction Classics series offers a fantastic introduction to the world of weird creatures in fiction.