Run From Fear: Dead Wrong Book 3 (A page-turning serial killer thriller)

Author: Jami Alden

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 311

View: 709

Run From Fear is an unputdownable novel of romance, suspense, thrills and passion from Jami Alden, perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, Karen Rose and Laura Griffin. More than anything, Talia Vega wanted to leave behind her harrowing past, and she succeeded...until the one man who knows her darkest secrets wanders into the restaurant where she works. Now the agonizing memories come crashing back - along with an undeniable desire for the ex-Green Beret who rescued her from a sadistic monster. Jack Brooks knows that showing up unannounced is purely selfish. Talia doesn't need his protection, but he can't get the raven-haired beauty out of his mind. And when a twisted madman is hell-bent on resurrecting her torturous past, Jack vows to do anything to keep her safe - even risk his own life to save the only woman he's ever loved. Don't miss more edge-of-the-seat suspense from Jami Alden with her sexy, thrilling novels Beg For Mercy, Hide From Evil and Guilty As Sin.

Run from Fear

Author: Jami Alden

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: FICTION

Page: 215

View: 954

Talia Vega wanted to leave behind her harrowing past. Moving 800 miles away, she succeeded--until the one man who knows her darkest secrets wanders into the restaurant where she works. Now the agonizing memories come crashing back--along with an undeniable desire for Jack Brooks, the ex-Green Beret who rescued her from a sadistic monster two years ago.

Joy from Fear

Create the Life of Your Dreams by Befriending Your Fear

Author: Dr. Carla Marie Manly

Publisher: Workman Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 350

View: 548

If you find yourself running away from fear, you’re running in the wrong direction. Fear demands that we move toward it, face it, and hear its messages. When we fail to do this, the price is high—chronic anxiety, sleeplessness, damaged relationships, skyrocketing pharmaceutical use, and more. In her enlightening book Joy from Fear, clinical psychologist Dr. Carla Marie Manly explains that fear is not the enemy we thought it was; fear, when faced with awareness, is the powerful ally and best friend we all need. Dr. Manly's work is firmly based in science but goes far beyond presenting the dry facts. Joy from Fear offers page after page of real-life examples, insights, easy-to-use tools, and life-changing exercises. Coining the term transformational fear, Dr. Manly illuminates the importance of embracing fear’s messages for a transformed life filled with freedom and lasting happiness.

The Wisdom of Anxiety

How worry and intrusive thoughts are gifts to help you heal

Author: Sheryl Paul

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 256

View: 612

'We have to shift from a mindset of shame, which sees anxiety as evidence of brokenness, to a mindset of curiosity, which recognizes that anxiety is evidence of our sensitive heart, our imaginative mind and our soul's desire to grow towards wholeness.' Three million people are thought to suffer from anxiety in the UK, and it is an issue that affects a growing number of people across all ages. For anyone troubled by obsessive thoughts, insomnia and other manifestations of anxiety, counsellor Sheryl Paul offers shelter in the storm. In The Wisdom of Anxiety, Paul reveals that anxiety, like any emotion, is a signal - a clear bodily invitation to heal and renew your trust in your choices, self-image and core values. Weaving together practical exercises with personal stories, Paul offers medication-free approaches for accessing the gifts in different kinds of anxiety, and especially the anxiety summoned by life's transitions, for example a career change, becoming parents or becoming carers for loved ones. Chapters include recognising the symptoms of anxiety, its origins, the myth of 'normal', the expectation of happiness and a timeline of healing that includes exercises for the body and mind. There are also chapters on parenting in an age of anxiety and the vulnerability of connection and relationships.

The Art of Uncertainty

How to Live in the Mystery of Life and Love It

Author: Dennis Merritt Jones

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 304

View: 604

What if we could learn to accept I don't know and embrace the possibility that the future is full of mystery, excitement, and unlimited opportunity? The Art of Uncertainty is an invitation to the reader to consider its essential message: learning to love the unknown by staying present in the moment. If the difficulties of recent years have taught us anything-particularly those who "did everything right" and still saw it all fall apart-it's that none of us has as much control over our lives as we believe. The only thing we can control is our next thought. What if we could learn how to be at peace with uncertainty and embrace the possibility that the future is full of mystery, excitement, and unlimited opportunity? What if we discovered that a new paradigm can be more fulfilling, more rewarding, and more peaceful than what we have known? Living in the I don't know and loving it is an art form we can all master, and The Art of Uncertainty is the perfect guidebook.

From Fear to Faith

Muslim and Christian Women

Author: Mary Ann Cate

Publisher: William Carey Library

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 183

View: 100

Everyone is afraid sometimes. Christians have fears and so do Muslims. This book is for those who want to share Christ with Muslim women but are sometimes afraid or unsure of how to go about it. It will also help to explain the fears that Muslim women face as they encounter the truth of God. It is written for those who want to move beyond fear . . . to faith.

From Fear to Faith

An Inspiring Journey

Author: Christopher Rory Page

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 128

View: 114

CHRISTOPHER RORY PAGE Two bodies, two souls and an inspiring four way conversation between contrasting mortals as they journey through the African bush and discover the way from Fear to faith. The author awakens one morning riddled with fear from a deafening noise outside his bungalow window. This is the beginning of an exploration into the self as he meets a primitive man who proves that there is more to someone than meets the eye. A non-verbal form of communication develops between as the two men dissect the concept of fear based on age-old theories and beliefs. The reader is introduced to the Ukuesaba Isitebhisa which translated from Zulu means Fear Ladder. This shows the progression of fear from the most superficial to the most concrete. The common denominator to minimise the fear on all levels is to instil faith in various forms. From Fear to faith is an inspiring story and teaches as much as it entertains. Light hearted moments dispersed with simple truths make it must read for anyone who aims to minimise the fears in their lives which prevent them from being who they were born to be.

Radical Welcome

Embracing God, The Other, and the Spirit of Transformation

Author: Stephanie Spellers

Publisher: CPG

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 175

View: 154

An inspirational and practical guide to embracing those who are often marginalized into a welcoming, inclusive Christian community. For two years, Stephanie Spellers conducted over two hundred interviews with people in urban, suburban, and rural congregations around the United States to find out how they dealt with welcoming those across lines of race and ethnicity, generation, sexual orientation, and class privilege. Here she presents her findings and lays out the theological underpinnings of tackling fears head-on in order to accept change as a part of community life. By modeling the most loving and effective ways to embrace marginalized individuals and groups within a church, denomination, or society, Radical Welcome aims to create a place of compassionate inclusivity where people of all kinds can feel like they belong.

The God of Second Chances

Experiencing His Grace for the Best of Your Life

Author: Stephen Arterburn

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 144

View: 125

A second chance . . . all of us have needed one at some point in our lives. As children, we beg our parents to give us "just one more chance." As adults, we turn our pleadings to God for another opportunity, just to start over again. In this revised and updated version of The God of Second Chances, author Stephen Arterburn takes us through his own journey of pleasure-seeking and ambition to a life-changing encounter with the reality of God's grace. Arterburn is painfully honest, sharing his personal experiences with sexual immorality that culminated in the abortion of his child. It was then, desperate and at the end of himself, that Arterburn cried out to God for a second chance. Through his willingness to share his struggles, Arterburn helps us to confront our failures and reach out for God's restorative touch. With a gentle humor, he encourages us to look beyond ourselves and discover the joy in serving others and investing in the things that really matter. In doing so, we will learn what it is to be restored to God through unconditional surrender and receive healing from the scars left by our own mistakes.