Reluctant But Ready

A Novel Based on a True Story

Author: Steve Shaffer

Publisher: Merriam Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 220

View: 878

Merriam Press Historical Fiction HF14 (First Edition, 2015). Vietnam produced a generation of stories as complicated and unsettling as the jungles in which it was fought. As the years have passed, hard truths have emerged. Reluctant but Ready reveals an until-now classified account of the fight that happened in back alleys, muddy outposts, secret warehouses with firing ranges and replica towns and in the skies above the fray. Mark Masters is a young man from a small town in West Virginia, filled with optimism and a love of God, family and country, who joins the Navy intent on doing his part to make America safe. He is reluctant but ready to defend the greatest nation in the world from the insidious threat of communism. The powers that be quickly learn that Masters is a gifted killer and steer him to the covert side of war, honing his skills and asking for more than he knew he had to give. The time has come to tell his story, to shed light on this murky subject and acknowledge many honorable and unsung heroes.

Reluctant But Ready: A Novel Based on a True Story

Author: Steve Shaffer

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 222

View: 252

Merriam Press Historical Fiction HF14 (First Edition, 2015). Vietnam produced a generation of stories as complicated and unsettling as the jungles in which it was fought. As the years have passed, hard truths have emerged. Reluctant but Ready reveals an until-now classified account of the fight that happened in back alleys, muddy outposts, secret warehouses with firing ranges and replica towns and in the skies above the fray. Mark Masters is a young man from a small town in West Virginia, filled with optimism and a love of God, family and country, who joins the Navy intent on doing his part to make America safe. He is reluctant but ready to defend the greatest nation in the world from the insidious threat of communism. The powers that be quickly learn that Masters is a gifted killer and steer him to the covert side of war, honing his skills and asking for more than he knew he had to give. The time has come to tell his story, to shed light on this murky subject and acknowledge many honorable and unsung heroes.

Based on a True Story

Author: Elizabeth Renzetti

Publisher: House of Anansi

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 199

A delectable satirical novel about celebrity culture, journalism, truth, lies, consequences — about the fictions we tell ourselves and the fictions we tell others. Augusta Price (not her real name) is famous in England for playing a slatternly barmaid on a nighttime soap opera and for falling down drunk in public. Now, she has no job, no relationship with her long-lost son, and a sad shortage of tranquilizers — but she has had an improbable hit with her memoir (which is based on a true story, but only very loosely). But when Frances Bleeker — an insecure and not very successful American tabloid journalist — tells Augusta that a man she once loved has written a book, Augusta becomes terrified that her life story will be revealed as the web of lies it really is. She sets out on a trans-Atlantic journey from London to California to seek revenge on her former lover — a journey that will require the reluctant help of Frances.

Seabee 71 in Chu Lai

Memoir of a Navy Journalist with a Mobile Construction Battalion, 1967

Author: David H. Lyman

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 611

 Hoping to stay out of Vietnam, David Lyman joined the U.S. Naval Reserve to avoid the draft. By summer 1967 he was with a SeaBee unit on a beach in Chu Lai. A reporter in civilian life, Lyman was assigned to Military Construction Battalion 71 as a photojournalist. He documented the lives of the hard-working and hard-drinking SeaBees as they engineered roads, runways, heliports and base camps for the troops. The author was shot at, almost blown up by a road mine, and spent nights in a mortar pit as rockets bombarded a nearby Marine runway. He rode on convoys through Viet Cong territory to photograph villages outside "The Wire." The stories and photographs Lyman published as editor of the battalion's newspaper, The Transit, form the basis of this memoir.

Death on the Sidewalk

Author: Paul Kropp

Publisher: High Interest Publishing Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Gangs

Page: 110

View: 732

Fifteen-year-old Allie Carson is shot while shopping. Based on the true story of the 2005 Boxing day killing of Jane Kreba in Toronto.

Reluctant Readers

Connecting Students and Books for Successful Reading Experiences

Author: Ron Jobe

Publisher: Pembroke Publishers Limited

ISBN:

Category: Best books

Page: 160

View: 613

"This detailed book outlines the characteristics of reluctant readers, strategies for reading success, how to overcome barriers and more" Cf. Our choice, 1999-2000.

Honey for a Teen's Heart

Using Books to Communicate with Teens

Author: Gladys Hunt

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 304

View: 638

Help Your Teen Catch the Lifelong Reading Bug.Honey for a Teen’s Heart spells out how good books can help you and your teenager communicate heart-to-heart about ideas, values, and the various issues of a Christian worldview. Sharing the adventure of a book lets both of you know the same people, see the same sights, face the same choices, and feel the same emotions. Life spills out of books--giving you plenty to talk about! But Honey for a Teen’s Heart will do more than strengthen the bonds between you and your son or daughter. You’ll also learn how to help your teen catch the reading habit and become a lover of good books. Gladys Hunt’s insights on how to read a book, what to look for in a book, and how to question what you read will challenge you and your teenager alike. It’s training for life! And it’s fabulous preparation for teens entering college. Including an annotated list of over four hundred books, Honey for a Teen’s Heart gives you expert guidance on the very best books for teens.

Click Here to Start (A Novel)

Author: Denis Markell

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 207

Young fans of Ernie Cline's Ready Player One will love this classic video game inspired mystery filled with elements of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. What if playing video games was prepping you to solve an incredible real-world puzzle and locate a priceless treasure? Twelve-year-old Ted Gerson has spent most of his summer playing video games. So when his great-uncle dies and bequeaths him the all so-called treasure in his overstuffed junk shop of an apartment, Ted explores it like it’s another level to beat. And to his shock, he finds that eccentric Great-Uncle Ted actually has set the place up like a real-life escape-the-room game! Using his specially honed skills, Ted sets off to win the greatest game he’s ever played, with help from his friends Caleb and Isabel. Together they discover that Uncle Ted’s “treasure” might be exactly that—real gold and jewels found by a Japanese American unit that served in World War II. With each puzzle Ted and his friends solve, they get closer to unraveling the mystery—but someone dangerous is hot on their heels, and he’s not about to let them get away with the fortune. Praise for Click Here to Start: "As addictive as your favorite video game. I couldn't put it down."-Adam Gidwitz, New York Times bestselling author of A Tale Dark and Grimm "Humor, believable characters, and adventure...keeps readers in suspense to the end. A winner for mystery enthusiasts."-Kirkus Reviews "In this clever debut, Markell takes readers on a clue-filled adventure...[and] maintains an energetic, entertaining balance of character-driven narrative and tricky challenges."-Publishers Weekly "Markell's highly entertaining debut novel...is a well-paced read with fully realized and likable characters,...[and] should have strong appeal to gamers, fans of video game-based stories, and reluctant readers."-SLJ "This book will appeal to a wide audience. Readers who enjoyed Schreiber's Game Over, Pete Watson will enjoy the video game component; fans of Fitzgerald's Under the Egg will enjoy reading more about the Monuments Men; detective story aficionados will revel in the inclusion of The Maltese Falcon story. This is a great book to hand to just about any middle grade reader."-YA Books Central A School Library Guild selection An Amazon Best Books of the Month Selection From the Hardcover edition.

The Pirate (Adventure Novel Based on True Story)

Historical Novel Based on the Life of Notorious Pirate John Gow, by the Author of Waverly, Rob Roy, Ivanhoe, The Guy Mannering and Anne of Geierstein

Author: Walter Scott

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 435

View: 330

This novel is based on the life of pirate John Gow who features as Captain Cleveland. The setting is the southern tip of the main island of Shetland (which Scott visited in 1814), around 1700. The arrival of the shipwrecked captain, Cleveland, spoils young Mordaunt's relationship with the Troil girls, and soon a bitter rivalry grows between the two men. Minna falls in love with Cleveland, not knowing his true profession. Brenda, however, is in love with Mordaunt. The pirates capture the Troils, but after an encounter with the frigate HMS Halcyon, they are freed… Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832) was a Scottish historical novelist, playwright and poet. He was the first modern English-language author to have a truly international career in his lifetime, with many contemporary readers in Europe, Australia, and North America. His novels and poetry are still read, and many of his works remain classics of both English-language literature and of Scottish literature. Famous titles include Ivanhoe, Rob Roy, The Lady of the Lake, Waverley, The Heart of Midlothian and The Bride of Lammermoor.

Benedictus

The Story of Sister Anne a Novel Based on a True Story

Author: Anne E. O?Neill

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 244

View: 265

Benedictus is a love story of both divine and human dimensions. The story of the nun is also the story of Joseph, her psychologist. It was a labyrinthian path that brought the two together in a surprising and courageous love that changed both their lives. Twenty years of conflict over her vocation had taken Sister Anne into a void whose depths of darkness became what she called a place of Nothing. She always believed that someone would come to help her and someone did but not as she had imagined and not in a way that the world would easily accept. It would take someone like Joseph, who was willing to risk all things professionally and personally, to pull her out of that void. Sister Annes risk was no less; she had to hold on and meet him every step of the way. No door would be left unopened, sparing her nothing. She walked through them all, and when the last door closed behind her, Sister Anne knew a choice had to be made.