Rabbit Hole (movie tie-in)

Author: David Lindsay-Abaire

Publisher: Theatre Communications Group

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 112

View: 653

This Pulitzer Prize-winning play is now a major motion picture.

Rabbit Hole

Author: David Lindsay-Abaire

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 252

View: 531

A story of loss, heartbreak and forgiveness - told through daily moments and emotional hurdles - as a family moves on after the accidental death of their 4-year-old. After a critically acclaimed Broadway premier, Rabbit Hole has been hailed as an artistic breakthrough for the highly regarded Lindsay-Abaire. A drama of what comes after tragedy, it captures ''the awkwardness and pain of thinking people faced with an unthinkable situation - and eventually, their capacity for survival.'' -USA Today

Cloud Atlas (Enhanced Movie Tie-in Edition)

A Novel

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Random House Group

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 700

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize This enhanced eBook edition contains never-before-seen footage from the major motion picture, behind-the-scenes material shot during production, and interviews with the author, directors (Tom Tykwer, Andy Wachowski, and Lana Wachowski), and actors (including Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Hugh Grant, Hugo Weaving, and James D’Arcy) discussing both the book and the film.* A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon. Praise for Cloud Atlas “[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”—The New York Times Book Review “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers “Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”—People “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon “Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”—The Washington Post Book World *Video may not play on all readers. Please check your user manual for details.

How Deep the Rabbit Hole

An Uncommon Dialogue in Truth

Author: David Wilde

Publisher: Dorrance Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 145

View: 411

Walt Disney's Alice in Wonderland

Author: Disney Book Group

Publisher: Disney Electronic Content

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 12

View: 106

Relive the timeless classic, Alice in Wonderland, with this beautifully illustrated retelling of one of Walt Disney's most loved films. When Alice follows the White Rabbit down a rabbit hole one sleepy afternoon, she finds herself in the strange and bizarre world of Wonderland! But when Alice loses sight of the White Rabbit, she meets all sorts of characters—and not everyone is friendly. Will Alice be able to return to her world, or will be she stuck in Wonderland forever?

Disney Alice in Wonderland: The Story of the Movie in Comics

Author: Disney

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 48

View: 890

In this retelling of the fantasy-adventure animated film, you'll follow the white rabbit to a topsy-turvy realm with Alice! While dreaming of a world of her own, young Alice is interrupted by a white rabbit who is very late--too late to say hello or where he is headed. She chases after him and falls down a mysterious rabbit hole that leads to a literal wonderland. As Alice journeys further into this strange and chaotic world, things become curiouser and curiouser, as do the characters she meets. Before she catches up to the white rabbit and finds her way home again, Alice will realize her curiosity should be tempered with a little patience and thinking ahead. Originally released in 1951, the film Disney Alice in Wonderland is based Lewis Carroll's Alice books, classics of English literature. Celebrate all the curiosities with this hardcover graphic novel retelling!

Writer's Market

Author: Kathryn S. Brogan

Publisher: Writer's Digest Books

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 1178

View: 918

Provides writers with access to up-to-date market information, including contact and submission details, editorial requirements, interviews with successful authors, and guidelines for freelancers.

The Writer's Market

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Authorship

Page: 1178

View: 678

Contains a list of entries that provide potential markets for writers, covering magazines, publishers, syndicates, and contests, providing information on submission requirements, pay scale, freelance work, and listings of editors and agents.