Pure Charcuterie

The Craft and Poetry of Curing Meats at Home

Author: Meredith Leigh

Publisher: New Society Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 160

View: 203

Create beautiful cured meats at home, revel in the delicious combination of craft and thrift, and discover creativity and empowerment through charcuterie practice. Meredith Leigh makes a case for meat preservation both as a means of artistic expression and flavorful eating, and she captures the beauty, value, and, essence of charcuterie, in a beautiful, accessible guide for the everyday cook.

The Wisdom of My Grandmothers

Lessons to live by, from one generation of remarkable women to the next

Author: Adriana Trigiani

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 282

Adriana Trigiani's two remarkable grandmothers, Lucia and Viola, lived through the 20th century from beginning to end as working women who juggled careers and motherhood. From the factory line to the family table, the two of them - the very definition of modern women - cut a path for their granddaughter by demonstrating courage and skill in their fearless approach to life, love and overcoming obstacles. Trigiani visits the past to seek answers to the essential questions that define the challenges women face today: how we hold on to the values that make life rich and beautiful, how we can take risks and reap the rewards, how to stand resilient in the face of tragedy. 'Be bold; 'be direct'; 'be different'!

Miso, Tempeh, Natto & Other Tasty Ferments

A Step-by-Step Guide to Fermenting Grains and Beans

Author: Kirsten K. Shockey

Publisher: Storey Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 376

View: 459

Best-selling fermentation authors Kirsten and Christopher Shockey explore a whole new realm of probiotic superfoods with Miso, Tempeh, Natto & Other Tasty Ferments. This in-depth handbook offers accessible, step-by-step techniques for fermenting beans and grains in the home kitchen. The Shockeys expand beyond the basic components of traditionally Asian protein-rich ferments to include not only soybeans and wheat, but also chickpeas, black-eyed peas, lentils, barley, sorghum, millet, quinoa, and oats. Their ferments feature creative combinations such as ancient grains tempeh, hazelnut–cocoa nib tempeh, millet koji, sea island red pea miso, and heirloom cranberry bean miso. Once the ferments are mastered, there are more than 50 additional recipes for using them in condiments, dishes, and desserts including natto polenta, Thai marinated tempeh, and chocolate miso babka. For enthusiasts enthralled by the flavor possibilities and the health benefits of fermenting, this book opens up a new world of possibilities.

Don't Sing at the Table

Life Lessons from My Grandmothers

Author: Adriana Trigiani

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 240

View: 910

"No one ever reads just one of Trigiani’s wonderfully quirky tales. Once you pick up the first, you are hooked.” —BookPage New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani shares a treasure trove of insight and guidance from her two grandmothers: time-tested, common sense advice on the most important aspects of a woman’s life, from childhood to the golden years. Seamlessly blending anecdote with life lesson, Don’t Sing at the Table tells the two vibrant women’s real-life stories—how they fell in love, nurtured their marriages, balanced raising children with being savvy businesswomen, and reinvented themselves with each new decade. For readers of Big Stone Gap, Very Valentine, Lucia, Lucia, and Rococo, this loving memoir is the Trigiani family recipe for chicken soup for the soul

The Ethical Meat Handbook, Revised and Updated 2nd Edition

Complete Home Butchery, Charcuterie, and Cooking for the Conscious Omnivore

Author: Meredith Leigh

Publisher: New Society Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 288

View: 834

A delicious alternative to the status quo when it comes to how we farm, cook, and eat Nutrition, environmental impact, ethics, sustainability – it seems like there’s no end to the food factors we must consider. At the center of the dietary storm is animal-based agriculture. Was your beef factory farmed or pasture-raised? Did your chicken free range, or was it raised in a battery cage? Have you, in short, met your meat? Most efforts to unravel the complexities of the production and consumption of animals tend to pit meat eaters and vegetarians against each other. In this 2nd edition of The Ethical Meat Handbook, author Meredith Leigh argues that by assuming responsibility for the food on our fork and the route by which it gets there, animals can be an optimal source of food, fiber, and environmental management. This new edition covers: Integrating animals into your garden or homestead Step-by-step color photos for beef, pork, lamb, and poultry butchery 100+ recipes for whole animal cooking Culinary highlights: preparing difficult cuts, sauces, and extras Charcuterie, including history, general science, math principles, and tooling up Discussion of economics and parameters for responsible meat production. Eating diversely may be the most revolutionary and proactive action we can take to ensure the sustainability of our food system. The Ethical Meat Handbook 2nd Edition challenges us to take a hard look at our dietary choices, increase our self-reliance, and enjoy delicious food that benefits our health and our planet.

Bruce’s Cookbook

Author: Bruce Poole

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 320

View: 380

‘I only cook the kind of food I want to eat. Honest food, plain and simple. This is my cookbook.’ The long awaited cookbook from Michelin-starred chef and owner of the award-winning Chez Bruce.

Cook's marketplace

San Francisco Bay area sourcebook

Author: Sherry Irene Virbila

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 269

View: 703

Pollution by the Food Processing Industries in the EEC

In the Canning, Beet Sugar, Potato Starch and Grain Starch Sectors

Author: Institut National de Recherche Chimique Appliguee Staff

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Nature

Page: 193

View: 416