Opal Plumstead

Author: Jacqueline Wilson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 528

View: 980

From the beloved children’s author of Hetty Feather, Tracy Beaker and Rose Rivers. Opal Plumstead might be plain, but she has always been fiercely intelligent. Yet her scholarship and dreams of university are snatched away when her father is sent to prison, and fourteen-year-old Opal must start work at the Fairy Glen sweet factory to support her family. She struggles to get along with her other workers, who think she’s snobby and stuck up. But Opal idolises Mrs Roberts, the factory’s beautiful, dignified owner. The best thing about Mrs Roberts? She’s a suffragette! Opal’s world is opened to Mrs Pankhurst, and the fight to give women the right to vote. And when Opal meets Morgan, Mrs Roberts’ handsome son , and heir to Fairy Glen- she believes she’s found her soulmate. But the First World War is about to begin, and will change Opal's life for ever. The brilliantly gripping new story from the bestselling, award-winning Jacqueline Wilson.

Whitaker's Shorts 2016: The Year in Review

Author: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 120

View: 849

Now in its 148th edition Whitaker's Almanack is the definitive reference guide containing a comprehensive overview of every aspect of UK infrastructure and an excellent introduction to world politics. Available only as ebooks, Whitaker's Shorts are selected themed sections from Whitaker's 2016: portable and perfect for those with specific interests within the print edition. Whitaker's Shorts 2016: The Year in Review includes a digest of the 2014-15 year's events in the UK and abroad and articles covering subjects as diverse as Archaeology, Conservation, Business and Finance, Music, Dance, Film and Weather. There is also an A-Z listing of all the results for the major sporting events from Alpine Skiing through to Fencing, Football, Horse Racing, Rugby, Polo and Tennis.

Jacqueline Wilson

Author: Lucy Pearson

Publisher: Macmillan International Higher Education

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 240

View: 598

Jacqueline Wilson is one of the most popular writers for children in Britain today, and is ground-breaking in her frank treatment of issues such as adoption, divorce and death. Addressing Wilson's work from a variety of perspectives, this exciting volume brings together a range of new critical essays from an international team of scholars.

Secret Suffragette

Author: Barbara Mitchelhill

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 566

Daisy’s hero is Florence Nightingale, and she hopes to one day become a nurse just like her. But as a girl growing up in the East End of London in 1912, it seems like all her future holds is dropping out of school to work a tough job in a factory for very little money. Then Daisy meets the suffragettes, who are fighting for the rights of women and the poor. They show her that she might be able to achieve her dreams after all. But being a suffragette is dangerous, and Daisy must risk getting in trouble with her dad, neighbours and even the police if she wants to do her bit. Perfect for fans of Opal Plumstead and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

Bulletin

Author: University of Wisconsin

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 949

A-Z London

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: London (England)

Page: 368

View: 463