Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling

Author: Emer McLysaght

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 339

'There aren't enough words for how much I love it' Marian Keyes THE SMASH-HIT ROMANTIC COMEDY THAT WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH AND CRY - IF YOU'RE A FAN OF DERRY GIRLS YOU'LL LOVE THIS ___________ Meet Aisling. She's a small-town girl with a big heart. She has a steady job and a loyal boyfriend (though he hasn't put a ring on it even after seven years). Then one disastrous romantic getaway convinces Aisling to leave him behind and head for the bright lights. But with glamorous new flatmates, a scandal at work and a weird love square, Aisling has no idea what's about to hit her . . . Fans of Marian Keyes, Bridget Jones and Sophie Kinsella will LOVE this. __________ 'Comparisons with Bridget Jones are spot on' Independent 'Will have you laughing your socks off' Fabulous 'Sweet, funny, moving, perfect' The Pool 'You'll laugh, you'll cry . . . an utter ray of sunshine' Red Can't get enough of Aisling? Then why not read the hilarious follow-up The Importance of Being Aisling - OUT NOW!

Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling

Author: Emer McLysaght

Publisher: Michael Joseph

ISBN:

Category: Dublin (Ireland)

Page: 368

View: 242

'An utter ray of sunshine' Red | 'Hilarious, heart warming' 5* reader review Ever been a small town girl trying to make a life in the big city? Meet twenty-something Aisling - that's pronounced Ashling - she can barely boil an egg let alone figure out what night bus to catch home. But she's got a job in the big city, a flat and a boyfriend. She has an umbrella for rainy days, an electric blanket for cold nights and keeps her kitten heels firmly on the ground. Until the day she accidentally ditches her only slightly useless boyfriend John. And finds herself in a spot of bother at work. Is it time to pack up and go back to the sticks? Or can Aisling fix the mess she's made? What's a Complete Aisling to do? 'Brilliant. You laugh, you cry, you miss home, and you can't put it down' The Independent 'Sweet, funny, moving . . . perfect' The Pool 'A great big thumping heart' Sunday Times 'You'll shed a tear as well as laugh your socks off' Fabulous 'A riot of a novel' 5* reader review

Once, Twice, Three Times an Aisling

Author: Emer McLysaght

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 285

'THERE AREN'T ENOUGH WORDS FOR HOW MUCH I LOVE IT' MARIAN KEYES The hilarious new romantic comedy Once, Twice, Three times an Aisling - the third book in the No. 1 bestselling Aisling series. Aisling is thirty, flirty and frazzled. But - just when she should finally be feeling all grown-up - she's floundering. Because when you're recovering from a broken heart as well as struggling to keep your café as sizzling as your award-winning sausages, it's hard to feel you've really made it as an adult. Which why now is NOT the time for a delicious new man to show up, her best friend to demand the hen do of the century and a surprise celebrity appearance . . . But Aisling, never one to worry about having too much on her plate, rolls up her sleeves: she's got this. Until she discovers that being a proper grown-up means you can't do everything. Sometimes you will let someone down. But will it be those she loves, or herself? 'The Irish answer to Bridget Jones . . . will have you laughing one minute and crying the next' OK 'Humour, warmth & quintessential Irishness. Incredibly uplifting' WOMAN & HOME BOOKS OF THE YEAR 'Hilarious' Hello! WINNER OF POPULAR FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE AN POST IRISH BOOK AWARDS Praise for Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling and The Importance of Being Aisling 'Hailed as the Irish answer to Bridget Jones . . . stuffed with laughs' Daily Mail 'A joyful, emotional, heartfelt romp of a novel' Heat 'The year's funniest book to date' Hello

The Importance of Being Aisling

Author: Emer McLysaght

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 620

The No. 1 Irish bestseller and hilarious follow-up to the smash-hit romantic comedy Oh My God, What A Complete Aisling - fans of Derry Girls will love this perfect summer read __________ Job. Flat. Boyfriend. Tick. Tick. Tick. Just when Aisling (seems) to be winning at life, she discovers it has other ideas: Fired. Homeless. Dumped. Tick. Tick. Tick. As her new life comes crashing down, Aisling is forced to move back home to Ballygobbard and her mam. Is this the end of the world? Or might returning to her roots remind this small-town girl just what she'd lost in the big city? ___________ 'Should come with a health warning. Ten pages in my face hurts from grinning' Sunday Independent 'The Irish answer to Bridget Jones. It's stuffed with laughs' Daily Mail 'You'll be laughing out loud one minute and crying the next' Heat WINNER OF POPULAR FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018 - Irish Book Awards

Aisling 3

Once, Twice, Three Times an Aisling

Author: Emer McLysaght

Publisher: Michael Joseph

ISBN:

Category: Chick lit

Page: 416

View: 166

What's a girl to do when she has not one but two weddings on the same weekend? Not that either of them are Aisling's - she's only just got together with the dishy James Matthews and there's plenty of time before she has to even think about her own wedding bells. But Aisling's fledgling brunch business is set to cater for one of the weddings, and she's promised to be Maid of Honour at the other, her best friend's big day. And she's not just being pulled between work and friendship - she's also contending with the revelation that James is practically aristocracy, and her old flame John arriving back on the scene . . .

Reterritorializing Linguistic Landscapes

Questioning Boundaries and Opening Spaces

Author: David Malinowski

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 432

View: 850

A historically, spatially and methodologically rich sub-field of sociolinguistics, Linguistic Landscapes (LL) is a rapidly evolving area of research and study. With contributions by an international team of experts from the USA, Europe, the UK, South Africa, Israel, Hong Kong and Colombia, this volume is a cutting-edge, interdisciplinary account of the most recent theoretical and empirical developments in this area. It covers both the conceptual tools and methodologies used to define and question, and case studies of real-world phenomena to showcase Linguistic Landscapes methods in action. Divided into four parts, chapters bring into dialogue themes relating to reterritorialization practices and the productive nature of boundaries and spaces. This book considers the contemporary challenges facing the field, the politics and processes of identifying and demarcating 'sites of research', and the ethics and pedagogical applications of LL research. With comprehensive lists of further reading, extended discussion questions and suggestions for independent research at the end of each chapter, this is an essential reference work for all LL scholars and students who wish to keep abreast of the current state of the art.

Motherfoclóir

Dispatches from a not so dead language

Author: Darach O'Séaghdha

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 240

View: 832

Bestseller & Winner of the Popular Non-Fiction Irish Book Award. 'Thought-provoking, irreverent and often laugh-out-loud hilarious' Irish Independent. "Motherfoclóir" [focloir means 'dictionary' and is pronounced like a rather more vulgar English epithet] is a book based on the popular Twitter account @theirishfor. As the title suggests, Motherfoclóir takes an irreverent, pun-friendly and contemporary approach to the Irish language. The translations are expanded on and arranged into broad categories that allow interesting connections to be made, and sprinkled with anecdotes and observations about Irish and Ireland itself, as well as language in general. The author includes stories about his own relationship with Irish, and how it fits in with the most important events in his life. This is a book for all lovers of the quirks of language.

The Education of Ivy Edwards

Author: Hannah Tovey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 540

Ivy Edwards is thirty-one years old, funny, shameless, and a bit of a romantic. She's also currently trying not to cry in the office toilet. Partly because she's just run out of money for fags. A bit because her mum continues to annoy her. Definitely not because she's just been dumped by her fiancé. With her London life in shambles and her family miles away in the Welsh valleys, Ivy doesn't actually feel like she belongs anywhere. At least, she has her friends - and a bottle of vodka. Embarking on a journey of singlehood, Ivy is about to discover that sometimes, having your life fall apart can be surprisingly fun. Sometimes, heartbreak can be the best education . . . The Education of Ivy Edwards is perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton's Everything I Know About Love, Holly Bourne's How Do You Like Me Now?, and Phoebe Waller-Bridge's Fleabag.

Aisling's Diary

Author: Aisling Fitzsimons

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 167

Hi! I'm Aisling and I am on the eve of a new adventure. My family are moving from Boston, USA, to Dublin, Ireland, and I have decided to chronicle the whole affair. I'm leaving behind my school, all my friends and Phil Donnelly, the object of my affections. But I'm excited about moving. What will it all be like - and will they like Irish Aisling? Either way I'm recording everything here in my diary and it's going to be broadcast on RTE - oh my god! Come and join me at www.rte.ie/tv/ttv/aislingsdiary See you there! Love, Aisling xx