Off Balance

A Memoir

Author: Dominique Moceanu

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 275

In this searing and riveting New York Times bestseller, Olympic gold medalist Dominique Moceanu reveals the dark underbelly of Olympic gymnastics, the true price of success…and the shocking secret about her past and her family that she only learned years later. At fourteen years old, Dominique Moceanu was the youngest member of the 1996 US Women’s Olympic Gymnastics team, the first and only American women’s team to take gold at the Olympics. Her pixyish appearance and ferocious competitive drive quickly earned her the status of media darling. But behind the fame, the flawless floor routines, and the million-dollar smile, her life was a series of challenges and hardships. Off Balance vividly delineates each of the dominating characters who contributed to Moceanu’s rise to the top, from her stubborn father and long-suffering mother to her mercurial coach, Bela Karolyi. Here, Moceanu finally shares the haunting stories of competition, her years of hiding injuries and pain out of fear of retribution from her coaches, and how she hit rock bottom after a public battle with her parents. But medals, murder plots, drugs, and daring escapes aside (all of which figure into Moceanu’s incredible journey), the most unique aspect of her life is the family secret that Moceanu discovers, opening a new and unexpected chapter in her adult life. A mysterious letter from a stranger reveals that she has a second sister—born with a physical disability and given away at birth—who has nonetheless followed in Moceanu’s footsteps in an astonishing way. A multilayered memoir that transcends the world of sports, Off Balance will touch anyone who has ever dared to dream of a better life.

Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir

Author: Cyndi Lauper

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 625

Legendary singer, songwriter, actress, and activist Cyndi Lauper offers a personal account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar in this “moving story of an American musical original” (Kirkus Reviews). Icon Cyndi Lauper offers a poignant account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar—from her years growing up in Queens, New York, to the making of enduring hits like “Time After Time,” “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” and “True Colors,” to becoming an actress, a mother, an outspoken activist, and maintaining a music career that has lasted more than thirty years. After leaving her childhood home at seventeen, Cyndi took on a series of jobs: racetrack hot walker, IHOP waitress, and, as she puts it, “gal Friday the thirteenth,” as she pursued her passion for music. She worked her way up playing small gigs and broke out in 1983 with She’s So Unusual, which earned her a Grammy for Best New Artist and made her the first female artist in history to have four top-five singles on a debut album. And while global fame wasn’t always what she expected, she has remained focused on what matters most. Cyndi is a gutsy real-life heroine who has never been afraid to speak her mind and stick up for a cause—whether it’s women’s rights, gay rights, or fighting against HIV/AIDS. With her trademark warmth and humor, Cyndi fearlessly writes of a life she’s lived only on her own terms, perfect for fans of Patti Smith’s Just Kids and Billy Idol’s Dancing with Myself.

A Menopausal Memoir

Letters from Another Climate

Author: Ellen Cole

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 126

View: 381

The only extended, first-person narrative about menopause, A Menopausal Memoir: Letters from Another Climate explores the connection between menopause, mourning, and memory through nine fictional letters written to different addressees. The letters explain the author’s own experience of having a hysterectomy (without her permission) during surgery for endometriosis and being thrown into instant menopause. Herrmann expresses her experiences differently in each letter based on the recipient’s gender, sexual identity, and age, revealing the complexities of accepting menopause. Psychotherapists, psychologists, physicians, medical students, academics, and those interested in women’s health and women’s studies will receive insight into one woman’s experience and will learn how our bodies mold our sexual identity and shape many aspects of our lives. Writing these letters from the point of view of a scholar engaged in personal narrative but not in the familiar narrative of a woman married with children, Herrmann examines her journey of loss, recovery, and healing through feminist theory. The letters in A Menopausal Memoir reveal many other issues, including: the relationship between the female body and the meanings attached to it the different ways women tell their stories about difficult experiences negotiating the relationship between growing older and sexual identity the body’s response(s) to the loss of organs that form/inform its history the connection between body, identity, and disease A highly personal, yet theoretical, approach to the experience of menopause, A Menopausal Memoir explores how changes in the body affect your sexual identity, your relationships, and your feelings as a woman.

The Memoir of a Nazarene

Jay Levi

Author: Edward J. Murray

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 143

View: 723

No one would disagree with the contention that the central figure in this semi-fictional work has been written about continuously for two millenniums. A continued interest in his life and commentary on it does seem timeless. It is the unanimous opinion in the Christian world that he is both true God and true man. Once they say it in good faith, they forget about his humanity and the frailties that come with it. They stay singularly preoccupied with his extra-terrestrial connection. This novel flips the preoccupation. It is a study of the real man. It is done so without diminishing the extraordinary events surrounding his life. The novel appears to be unique in that it allows the extraordinary man to talk for himself. It is unique in many ways. To name a few: there are weather reports, a calendar of events, his farm work, hours and mileage for his trips, his sport competitions, his high school days, and a man with a good sense of humor. A list of the fresh ways of looking at the man is long.

The Longest Goodbye: a Memoir

Author: Helena Farrell as told-to-by Marcia Temple

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 156

View: 498

Marcia Temple is a beautiful, sensuous, suburban married woman who is entering the treacherous, unsettling 40s. She is unhappy with her life but has no idea why. When someone of authority naively suggests something to her to get her out of her blues, she embarks on a life-long journey of lust, glamour, infidelity, and uncertainty which spans over twenty years. She moves from coast to coast experiencing pain and passion, which eventual evolve into healing and growth. This memoir begins when Marcia is watching reruns of the popular TV show Sex and the City. It jars her memory of a series of exciting and desperate events that changes her life forever. Events that took her away from her beloved Manhattan and the man she loves deeply and dangerously. She cautions others who are blinded by uncontrollable passion to beware of the consequences when the heart betrays rationale. Every person who has ever embarked on a life-long discovery of love, universal truth, and survival will find this book intriguing and helpful. This cautionary tale will fascinate people from their twenties to their seventies. This is not the usual story of romance, love, marriage, and deceit but an introspective into lifes choices, with its consequences and its learning lessons. This memoir is a definite page-turner.

A Memoir

Author: Tim Pat Coogan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 210

From the personal to the political, this is the much-awaited memoir from Tim Pat Coogan. Ireland's best-known journalist, broadcaster, historian and bestselling biographer Tim Pat Coogan has not only reported the news - he's been the news. Through the Irish Press, where he served as editor for twenty years, he is renowned for bringing social and political change to Ireland. He went on to play a vital role in bringing the IRA/Sinn Fein to the peace talks table, and has always been uniquely placed to comment authoritatively - if not controversially - on all aspects of Irish current affairs. From personal to political, his revelatory memoir gives genuine insight into the life and high-profile career of a man at the centre of Irish politics and society.

Money, A Memoir

Women, Emotions, and Cash

Author: Liz Perle

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 288

View: 514

A bold and personal book that digs below the surface of one of society's last taboos-money-and illuminates how women's emotional relationship with it affects every part of their lives Long ago, and not entirely consciously, Liz Perle made a quiet contract with cash: she would do what it took to get it-work hard, marry right-but she didn't want to have to think about it too much. The subject of money had, since childhood, been quietly sidestepped, a shadowy factor whose private influence was impolite to discuss. This deliberate denial eventually exacted its price, however, when a sudden divorce left Perle with no home, no job, and a four-year-old with a box of toys. She realized she could no longer afford to leave her murky and fraught relationship with money unexamined. What Perle discovered as she reassembled her life was that almost every woman she knew also subscribed to this strange and emotional code of discretion-even though it laced through their relationships with their parents, lovers, husbands, children, friends, co-workers, and communities. Women who were all too willing to tell each other about their deepest secrets or sexual assets still kept mum when it came to their financial ones. In Money, A Memoir, Perle attempts to break this silence, adding her own story to the anecdotes and insights of psychologists, researchers, and more than 200 "ordinary" women. It turned out that when money was the topic, most women needed permission to talk. The result is an insightful, unflinching look at the once subtle and commanding influence of money on our every relationship.

A Memoir of James Jackson, Jr., M.D.

With Extracts from His Letters to His Father; and Medical Cases, Collected by Him

Author: James Jackson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Physicians

Page: 444

View: 329