Not Without Hope

Author: Nick Schuyler

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 867

Not Without Hope is the true story of the headline-making tragedy that took the lives of three football players: NFL stars Marquis Cooper and Corey Smith, and Will Bleakley from the University of South Florida. Told by the sole survivor of the ill-fated fishing trip, Nick Schuyler, with New York Times bestselling author and sports journalist Jere Longford, Not Without Hope is an inspiring and unforgettable story of courage and strength, friendship and loss, and, most importantly, hope, in the vein of Touching the Void, Into Thin Air, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Piers Paul Read’s classic survival tale, Alive.

But Not Without Hope

Author: James Haydock

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 234

View: 874

Bonheur was and is my name. Every person in my native France knew the name meant sunshine, well-being, happiness. But how does one find happiness in a prison known worldwide for its coarse and brutal inhumanity? Fifteen painful years, prime years of youth, I endured in that terrible place determined to escape. Though I planned each escape carefully, something always went wrong, and I found myself trying to survive in soul-shattering solitary confinement. I was small of statue and not very strong compared to the hulking convicts I lived with, and yet I need not remind you that strength comes in many forms.

Lost But Not Without Hope

Author: Dakota "Kirby" Durbin

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 126

View: 969

Lost But Not Without Hope is a collection of poems written by teenage author, Dakota Durbin, who wishes to spread his messages and ideals. Many of the emotion touched upon include those surrounding relationships, love, pain, anger, fear, and depression. Typical feelings a teen or any person may experience through their life time and be able to relate to. These poems were written to empathize with ours feelings, as well as express his own. The poems reflect generalized feelings and provide a range of interpretation for the readers, but hidden within is Dakota's unique struggles and inner messages.

Not Without Hope

Author: Nick Schuyler and Jeré Longman

Publisher: Australia Books

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 863

Peace Without Dishonour--war Without Hope

Being a Calm and Dispassionate Enquiry Into the Question of the Chesapeake, and the Necessity and Expediency of War

Author: John Lowell

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Chesapeake-Leopard Affair, 1807

Page: 43

View: 195

Faith, Hope, and Love (Journal Edition)

Author: Saint Augustine

Publisher: Whitaker House

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 176

View: 825

"Thus it is that love is not without hope, hope is not without love, and neither hope nor love are without faith." St. Augustine St. Augustine’s Faith, Hope, and Love is a short, insightful treatise on the proper way to worship God. In thirty-three small chapters that follow 1 Corinthians 13, Augustine's description of true worship covers all the major ideas of the Christian religion. Written sometime after AD 420, less than a decade before he died, it contains some of his most mature reflections on Christian doctrines. Those looking to understand the proper way to worship and those interested in a brief encapsulation of Augustine’s teaching should look no further than this classic work. Presented in a special journal edition, Faith, Hope, and Love encourages readers to record their impressions and prayers.

River of Hope

Black Politics and the Memphis Freedom Movement, 1865--1954

Author: Elizabeth Gritter

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 380

View: 228

One of the largest southern cities and a hub for the cotton industry, Memphis, Tennessee, was at the forefront of black political empowerment during the Jim Crow era. Compared to other cities in the South, Memphis had an unusually large number of African American voters. Black Memphians sought reform at the ballot box, formed clubs, ran for office, and engaged in voter registration and education activities from the end of the Civil War through the Brown v. Board of Education decision of 1954. In this groundbreaking book, Elizabeth Gritter examines how and why black Memphians mobilized politically in the period between Reconstruction and the beginning of the civil rights movement. Gritter illuminates, in particular, the efforts and influence of Robert R. Church Jr., an affluent Republican and founder of the Lincoln League, and the notorious Memphis political boss Edward H. Crump. Using these two men as lenses through which to view African American political engagement, this volume explores how black voters and their leaders both worked with and opposed the white political machine at the ballot box. River of Hope challenges persisting notions of a "Solid South" of white Democratic control by arguing that the small but significant number of black southerners who retained the right to vote had more influence than scholars have heretofore assumed. Gritter's nuanced study presents a fascinating view of the complex nature of political power during the Jim Crow era and provides fresh insight into the efforts of the individuals who laid the foundation for civil rights victories in the 1950s and '60s.