Not about Nightingales

Author: Tennessee Williams

Publisher: New Directions Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 163

View: 418

Follows the events of a prison atrocity in which convicts leading a hunger strike in a Pennsylvania prison were locked in a steam-heated cell and roasted to death

Not about Nightingales

Author: Tennessee Williams

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Hunger strikes

Page: 163

View: 423

One of Tennessee Williams's first plays, "Not About Nightingales" portrays the lives of inmates in a Pennsylvania prison who were steamed to death after leading their fellow prisoners on a hunger strike.

Notes on Nursing What it is, and What it is not

Author: Florence Nightingale

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 108

View: 456

Reproduction of the original: Notes on Nursing What it is, and What it is not by Florence Nightingale

Matrix

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 115

Notes on Nursing

What it Is, and what it is Not

Author: Florence Nightingale

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Care of the sick

Page: 79

View: 337

Outspoken writings by the founder of modern nursing record fundamentals in the needs of the sick that must be provided in all nursing. Covers such timeless topics as ventilation, noise, food, more.

No Man's Nightingale

(A Wexford Case)

Author: Ruth Rendell

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 960

No Man's Nightingale: the eagerly anticipated twenty-fourth title in Ruth Rendell's bestselling Detective Chief Inspector Wexford series. The woman vicar of St Peter's Church may not be popular among the community of Kingsmarkham. But it still comes as a profound shock when she is found strangled in her vicarage. Inspector Wexford is retired, but he retains a relish for solving mysteries especially when they are as close to home as this one is. So when he's asked whether he will assist on the case, he readily agrees. But why did the vicar die? And is anyone else in Kingsmarkham in danger? What Wexford doesn't know is that the killer is far closer than he, or anyone else, thinks.

Nightingales in Berlin

Searching for the Perfect Sound

Author: David Rothenberg

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 184

View: 347

A celebrated figure in myth, song, and story, the nightingale has captivated the imagination for millennia, its complex song evoking a prism of human emotions, --from melancholy to joy, from the fear of death to the immortality of art. But have you ever listened closely to a nightingale's song? It's a strange and unsettling sort of composition--an eclectic assortment of chirps, whirs, trills, clicks, whistles, twitters, and gurgles. At times it is mellifluous, at others downright guttural. It is a rhythmic assault, always eluding capture. What happens if you decide to join in? As philosopher and musician David Rothenberg shows in this searching and personal new book, the nightingale's song is so peculiar in part because it reflects our own cacophony back at us. As vocal learners, nightingales acquire their music through the world around them, singing amidst the sounds of humanity in all its contradictions of noise and beauty, hard machinery and soft melody. Rather than try to capture a sound not made for us to understand, Rothenberg seeks these musical creatures out, clarinet in tow, and makes a new sound with them. He takes us to the urban landscape of Berlin--longtime home to nightingale colonies where the birds sing ever louder in order to be heard--and invites us to listen in on their remarkable collaboration as birds and instruments riff off of each other's sounds. Through dialogue, travel records, sonograms, tours of Berlin's city parks, and musings on the place animal music occupies in our collective imagination, Rothenberg takes us on a quest for a new sonic alchemy, a music impossible for any one species to make alone. In the tradition of The Hidden Life of Trees and The Invention of Nature, Rothenberg has written a provocative and accessible book to attune us ever closer to the natural environment around us.

Year's Best Fantasy

Author: David G. Hartwell

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fantasy fiction, American

Page: 544

View: 314