Medieval Intrigue

Decoding Royal Conspiracies

Author: Ian Mortimer

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 400

View: 340

In this important new work Ian Mortimer examines some of the most controversial questions in medieval history, including whether Edward II was murdered, his possible later life in Italy, the weakness of the Lancastrian claim to the throne in 1399 and the origins of the idea of the royal pretender. Central to this book is his ground-breaking approach to medieval evidence. He explains how an information-based method allows a more certain reading of a series of texts. He criticises existing modes of arriving at consensus and outlines a process of historical analysis that ultimately leads to questioning historical doubts as well as historical facts, with profound implications for what we can say about the past with certainty. This is an important work from one of the most original and popular medieval historians writing today.

Richard II

A True King's Fall

Author: Kathryn Warner

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 368

View: 856

A new biography re-examining the complex and fascinating king, whose very humanity saw him deposed from his divine role.

Fourteenth Century England IX

Author: James Bothwell

Publisher: Boydell & Brewer

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 192

View: 669

Articles showcasing the fruits of the most recent scholarship in the field of fourteenth-century studies.

An Introduction to Medieval Philosophy

Basic Concepts

Author: Joseph W. Koterski

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 256

View: 990

By exploring the philosophical character of some of the greatest medieval thinkers, An Introduction to Medieval Philosophy provides a rich overview of philosophy in the world of Latin Christianity. Explores the deeply philosophical character of such medieval thinkers as Augustine, Boethius, Eriugena, Anselm, Aquinas, Bonaventure, Scotus, and Ockham Reviews the central features of the epistemological and metaphysical problem of universals Shows how medieval authors adapted philosophical ideas from antiquity to apply to their religious commitments Takes a broad philosophical approach of the medieval era by,taking account of classical metaphysics, general culture, and religious themes

A Muslim Suicide

Author: Bensalem Himmich

Publisher: Syracuse University Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 414

View: 288

Award-winning novelist Bensalem Himmich’s third novel to be translated into English is a vertiginous exploration of one of Islam’s most radical thinkers, the Sufi philosopher Ibn Sab’in. Born in Spain, he was forced to immigrate to Africa because of his controversial views. Later expelled from Egypt, Ibn Sab’in made his way to Mecca, where he spent his final years. Himmich follows the philosopher’s journey, outlining an array of characters he meets along the way who usher in debates of identity and personal responsibility through their interactions and relationships with Ibn Sab’in. Set against the backdrop of a politically charged thirteenth–century Islamic world, Himmich’s novel is a rich blend of fact and imagination that re–creates the intellectual debates of the time. As the culture of prosperity and tradition was giving way to the chaos created by political and social instability, many Arabs, as Ibn Sab’in does in the novel, turned inward toward a spiritual search for meaning. In his fictional portrait of Ibn Sab’in, Himmich succeeds in creating a character, with his many virtues and flaws, to whom all readers can relate.

One Magic Moment

Author: Lynn Kurland

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 365

Medieval studies scholar Tess Alexander is thrilled for the chance to live in a medieval castle. But then a trip to the village brings her face-to-face with the owner of the local garage, who looks a great deal like the man who married her sister...800 years in the past. She's determined to remain objective about magic and destiny, but she can't help wondering about that mysterious, sword-wielding mechanic.

Queens of the Crusades

England's Medieval Queens

Author: Alison Weir

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 592

View: 756

Packed with incredible true stories and legendary medieval intrigue, this epic narrative history chronicles the first five queens from the powerful royal family that ruled England and France for over three hundred years. This remarkable recreation of the action-packed century that saw the murder of Thomas Becket and the signing of the Magna Carta covers the lives and reigns of the first five Plantagenet queens, who ruled England and France throughout the bloody 1200s, a particularly dramatic and violent period of European history. Wars, crusades, treachery, murder, passion, and the interplay between rival monarchs of Britain and France provide a surprising picture of these five ambitious women and their struggle for power. The queens covered in the book are Eleanor of Aquitaine, Berengaria of Navarre, Isabella of Angouleme, Alienor of Provence and Eleanor of Castile. One of these queens became legendary when, accompanying her husband on crusade, she saved his life by sucking the blood from his poisoned-arrow wound. Equally intriguing are the descriptions of their marriages, including one that was extremely tempestuous, and one that was a love match turned sour when the jealous husband discovered his queen's infidelity and retaliated by killing her lovers and hanging their bodies from the canopy of her bed. This second volume of historian Alison Weir's critically acclaimed Medieval Queens series brings these unfamiliar, fascinating royals to life, demonstrating how very much they resemble self-determining women of our own time.

The Assassin in the Greenwood (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 7)

A medieval mystery of intrigue, murder and treachery

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 169

View: 472

Robin Hood and French spies prompt fresh dangers for Hugh Corbett to face... In The Assassin in the Greenwood, the seventh action-packed novel of Paul Doherty's mystery series, medieval sleuth Hugh Corbett is despatched to investigate murder and mystery in Nottingham. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory. In the summer of 1302 the famous Robin of Locksley, popularly known as Robin Hood, has gone back to his outlaw ways in Sherwood Forest where he battles against royal authority, culminating in the barbarous massacre of royal tax collectors and the mysterious murder of Sir Eustace Vechey, one of the sheriffs of Nottingham. Corbett and his two faithful servants Ranulf and Maltote are sent to Nottingham where they find fresh mysteries: why are three arrows shot into the air above Nottingham Castle on the 13th of every month? Who is the traitor in Nottingham Castle? And why have the French despatched an agent to assassinate Corbett? What readers are saying about The Assassin in the Greenwood: 'A joy to read' 'Another good tale in the series - more twists and turns than in Sherwood itself' 'The prodigious Paul Doherty has a knack of producing snappy, readable medieval murder mysteries, and Assassin in the Greenwood is no exception'

The Prince of Darkness (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 5)

A gripping medieval mystery of intrigue and espionage

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 180

View: 344

Secrets, lies and espionage abound in Hugh Corbett's medieval England... The Prince of Darkness is the fifth dazzling novel in the richly authentic Hugh Corbett series from Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Robin Hobb. It is 1301 and a fragile peace exists between Edward of England and Philip IV of France. In the fetid alleys and slums of London and Paris it is a different matter. Here the secret agents of both countries still fight their own, silent, deadly battles. The Prince of Wales wallows in luxury under the sinister influence of his favourite, Gaveston, who has secret political ambitions to dominate the young prince and the English crown. These scandals are threatened with exposure when Lady Belmont, the prince's former mistress, is found dead, her neck broken, at the foot of a nunnery's steps. Was it suicide? An accident? Or malicious murder? Edward turns to his master spy, Hugh Corbett, to solve the mystery. In doing so, Corbett must face the deadly rivalry of his French counterpart, the murderous rage of Gaveston and the silent threats of assassins. He must also contend with the lies and silken deceits of his own master. What readers are saying about The Prince of Darkness: 'Paul Doherty gives a full flavour of life in the medieval era, interweaving historical fact and fiction with knowledgeable expertise. A thoroughly enjoyable intrigue' '250 pages of unputdownable storytelling. Excellent' 'Another gem from Paul Doherty'

Saintly Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 5)

Murder and intrigue in medieval Canterbury

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 225

View: 231

A miracle... or murder? Paul Doherty writes a gripping novel in Saintly Murders, the fifth Kathryn Swinbrooke mystery. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Ellis Peters. In the late summer of 1472, medieval physician and apothecary Kathryn Swinbrooke is summoned to investigate yet another puzzling situation in Canterbury. She is appointed by the Archbishop as Advocatus Diaboli - the Devil's Advocate - to argue against the beatification of Roger Atworth, a friar in the Order of the Sack and confessor of King Edward's mother. Atworth has died under mysterious circumstances, and there are rumours afloat of miraculous happenings surrounding his body. When Kathryn begins asking questions at the friary about Atworth's death, she discovers that the logical explanation is murder, not a miracle. But Kathryn suspects a link between his death and that of an English spy outside the friary. With the murderer still on the loose, what began as a search for the town's ills becomes Kathryn's pursuit of a killer... What readers are saying about the Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries: 'The sense of menace, depth of characterization and interesting cast of characters make this book, and the series, a brilliant read' 'A great romp through medieval England' 'Superb plot and characters. Kathryn is so interesting and insight into the history of the time is so well documented. You feel as if you were there and can even smell it!'