Love Like Hate

A Novel

Author: Linh Dinh

Publisher: Seven Stories Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 153

View: 991

Linh Dinh is already one of the secret masters of short fiction. Love Like Hate is something like a traditional cross-cultural novel that's been shocked into life by Dinh's uncanny ability to tell us stories we didn't even know we wanted to hear. -- Ed Park, editor of The Believer In Love Like Hate, Linh Dinh weaves a dysfunctional family saga that doubles as a portrait of Vietnam in the last half century. Protagonists Kim Lan and Hoang Long marry in Saigon during the Vietnam War, uniting in a setting that allows Dinh's dark, deadpan humor to flourish. Describing his mushrooming cast of characters in unsentimental and sometimes absurd ways, Dinh embraces contradictions with the surreal exuberance of Matthew Sharpe and the stylistic élan of Italo Calvino.

Sweeter Than Hate

A Darker Than Love Prequel

Author: Anna Zaires

Publisher: Grey Eagle Publications

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 704

I shouldn’t have heard the things I did. Shouldn’t have attracted his attention. Now I feel his stare like a touch. Viscerally. Acutely. The Russian assassin has me in his sights, and there’s only one way out. His bed. Good thing I’m drawn to danger.

Black Dog, Black Night

Contemporary Vietnamese Poetry

Author: Paul Hoover

Publisher: Milkweed Editions

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 288

View: 336

The poems in Black Dog, Black Night highlight an aspect of Vietnamese verse previously unfamiliar to American readers: its remarkable contemporary voices. Celebrating Vietnam’s diverse and thriving literary culture, the poems collected here combine elements of French Romanticism, Russian Expressionism, American Modernism, and native folk stories into a Vietnamese poetic tradition marked by vivid imagery, powerful emotions, and inventive forms. Included here are 17 postmodern and experimental Vietnamese poets, including the founding editor of Skanky Possum magazine, as well as American poets of Vietnamese descent.

A Love Like Ours (A Porter Family Novel Book #3)

Author: Becky Wade

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 313

2016 RITA Award Finalist Former Marine Jake Porter has far deeper scars than the one that marks his face. He struggles with symptoms of PTSD, lives a solitary life, and avoids relationships. When Lyndie James, Jake's childhood best friend, lands back in Holley, Texas, Jake cautiously hires her to exercise his Thoroughbreds. Lyndie is tender-hearted, fiercely determined, and afraid of nothing, just like she was as a child. Jake pairs her with Silver Leaf, a horse full of promise but lacking in results, hoping she can solve the mystery of the stallion's reluctance to run. Though Jake and Lyndie have grown into very different adults, the bond that existed during their childhood still ties them together. Against Jake's will, Lyndie's sparkling, optimistic personality begins to tear down the walls he's built around his heart. A glimmer of the hope he'd thought he'd lost returns, but fears and regrets still plague him. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend? Praise for Becky Wade "I wasn't ready for this story to end, but when it did, I sighed the happy/longing sort of sigh that romance readers know so well..."--USA Today on Undeniably Yours "They are a couple you'll be rooting for to have their Texas fairy-tale ending."--Romantic Times on Undeniably Yours "I adored this book. It was hilariously funny, heartwarming, and too cute! I laughed. I cried. It made me smile countless times."--Will Bake for Books blog on Meant to Be Mine

Fake House

Stories

Author: Linh Dinh

Publisher: Seven Stories Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 207

View: 701

In a debut collection of short fiction, the Vietnam-born author explores the continuing intimacies and complex relationships that exist between the United States and Vietnam as he introduces a wide variety of characters who make their way through a post-Vietnam War world.

I Hate Everyone But You

A Novel

Author: Gaby Dunn

Publisher: Wednesday Books

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 352

View: 104

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! A POPSUGAR "Best Young Adult Book of 2017" Pick An Autumn 2017 Indie Next Pick! Named by Bustle as one of the "16 Books The Internet Is Going To Be Obsessed With This Year" A Barnes & Noble Pick for “Most Anticipated LGBTQIAP YA Books of the Second Half of 2017” "Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin have captured everything about the pain and excitement of that first terrifying, fabulous, confusing year on your own in college... In this epistolary novel, you live day by day with Ava and Gen, deep inside that friendship, so deep, it feels like it’s your own." —Francine Pascal, bestselling author of the Sweet Valley High series Perfect for fans of “Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl” (School Library Journal, Starred Review), Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin’s I Hate Everyone But You is a hilarious and heartfelt debut novel about new beginnings, love and heartbreak, and ultimately the power of friendship. Dear Best Friend, I can already tell that I will hate everyone but you. Sincerely, Ava Helmer (that brunette who won’t leave you alone) We're still in the same room, you weirdo. Stop crying. G So begins a series of texts and emails sent between two best friends, Ava and Gen, as they head off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two of them document every wild and awkward moment to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?

Love You Again

A Drawn Novel

Author: Marian Tee

Publisher: Jaded Speck Publishing LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 267

Dear Anonymous Readers, Let’s just call him X - the first and only guy I’ve ever loved – also the first and only guy who’s broken my heart. I used to think that trauma caused by ugly breakups was only a thing in books, movies – and yes, manga – until of course it happened to me. On hindsight, I really should have known better. He had so many issues it was only a matter of time before one of them drove us apart. And even if that hadn’t happened, we still wouldn’t have worked out. He was this perfect, gorgeous guy who had everything going for him while I…well, let’s just say I didn’t turn out to be this super-smart girl everyone thought me to be. I hate him as much as I fear him, so much so that even in my dreams I can’t make myself think of his name, much less say it. It’s like my mind’s completely blocked the sound of it, and now his name works like a breakdown trigger. If I let myself say his name, that’s it, and believe me – what happens after isn’t pretty. So yeah, it’s that bad between us, but I’m determined to put it all behind me now. I’ve moved to another country, doing my best to get my shite together. I’ve even made myself attend a goukon (a group dating thing) in hopes of finding love again. Everything’s going well… Until I bumped into him. X. Bloody. Bloody. Bloody hell. The sight of him has my world spinning out of its axis, my face draining of color, my throat locking oxygen out--- I can’t remember feeling more terrified than I was at that moment. But the worst thing is – I can’t remember when the last time I felt so alive either.

The People We Hate at the Wedding

A Novel

Author: Grant Ginder

Publisher: Flatiron Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 355

View: 583

"It’s for the same audience that flocked to The Nest, Where’d You Go, Bernadette? or dare I say a little book you might be a fan of, Crazy Rich Asians." — Kevin Kwan, New York Times bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians "Sinfully good." — Elin Hilderbrand Entertainment Weekly's Summer Must-Read A Publishers Weekly BEST SUMMER BOOKS, 2017 New York Post Best Books of Summer Redbook's 10 Books You Have To Read This Summer "The summer’s most compelling fictional exploration of affluence and envy. Like all the best beach reads, it eats the rich like so many frozen grapes." — Bloomberg Businessweek Relationships are awful. They'll kill you, right up to the point where they start saving your life. Paul and Alice’s half-sister Eloise is getting married! In London! There will be fancy hotels, dinners at “it” restaurants and a reception at a country estate complete with tea lights and embroidered cloth napkins. They couldn’t hate it more. The People We Hate at the Wedding is the story of a less than perfect family. Donna, the clan’s mother, is now a widow living in the Chicago suburbs with a penchant for the occasional joint and more than one glass of wine with her best friend while watching House Hunters International. Alice is in her thirties, single, smart, beautiful, stuck in a dead-end job where she is mired in a rather predictable, though enjoyable, affair with her married boss. Her brother Paul lives in Philadelphia with his older, handsomer, tenured track professor boyfriend who’s recently been saying things like “monogamy is an oppressive heteronormative construct,” while eyeing undergrads. And then there’s Eloise. Perfect, gorgeous, cultured Eloise. The product of Donna’s first marriage to a dashing Frenchman, Eloise has spent her school years at the best private boarding schools, her winter holidays in St. John and a post-college life cushioned by a fat, endless trust fund. To top it off, she’s infuriatingly kind and decent. As this estranged clan gathers together, and Eloise's walk down the aisle approaches, Grant Ginder brings to vivid, hilarious life the power of family, and the complicated ways we hate the ones we love the most in the most bitingly funny, slyly witty and surprisingly tender novel you’ll read this year.

Love Like Hate Adore

Author: Deirdre Purcell

Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books

ISBN:

Category: Acquaintance rape

Page: 483

View: 758

Angela Devine has brought up her younger brother, James, since he was just a few months old. When James, now an inarticulate adolescent, is accused of rape, Angela is faced with a nightmare situation.