Love-at-Arms

Being a Narrative Excerpted from the Chronicles of Urbino During The Dominion of the High and Mighty Messer Guidobaldo Da Montefeltro

Author: Rafael Sabatini

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 236

View: 508

Love-at-Arms is a fast-paced adventure novel about Italian society during Cesare Borgia's influence at the height of the 15th-century Italian government. Excerpt: "From the valley, borne aloft on the wings of the evening breeze, rose faintly the tolling of an Angelus bell, and in a goat-herd's hut on the heights above stood six men with heads uncovered and bowed..."

Mademoiselle at Arms

Author: Elizabeth Bailey

Publisher: Elizabeth Bailey

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 306

View: 221

A romance novel by Elizabeth Bailey Author of the Lady Fan historical mystery series Set in the late Georgian era, Elizabeth Bailey’s traditional historical romance features an unconventional heroine with a rebellious spirit who runs headlong into adventure. Mademoiselle at Arms Threatened with a pistol by the young lady discovered in a deserted mansion, Major Gerald Alderley is instantly intrigued. Who is the beautiful intruder? And why does she disguise herself as a nun? What circumstance has thrust her into an enterprise both foolhardy and dangerous? The girl’s French accent places her with the émigrés from across the channel, except that Mademoiselle insists she is English. Set on unravelling the mystery, Gerald begins a relentless pursuit, hunting down every possible clue - much to the indignation of Mademoiselle. When her life proves to be in danger from the villainous émigré Valade, Gerald has his work cut out. For Mademoiselle Melusine, engaged in a desperate battle to prove her true identity, believes she is well able to take care of herself and is determined not to be rescued.

Nobles, Knights and Men-at-Arms in the Middle Ages

Author: Maurice Keen

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 268

View: 396

The literature of chivalry and of courtly love has left an indelible impression on western ideas. What is less clear is how far the contemporary warrior aristocracy took this literature to heart and how far its ideals had influence in practice, especially in war. These are questions that Maurice Keen is uniquely qualified to answer. This book is a collection of Maurice Keen's articles and deals with both the ideas of chivalry and the reality of warfare. He discusses brotherhood-in-arms, courtly love, crusades, heraldry, knighthood, the law of arms, tournaments and the nature of nobility, as well as describing the actual brutality of medieval warfare and the lure of plunder. While the standards set by chivalric codes undoubtedly had a real, if intangible, influence on the behaviour of contemporaries, chivalry's idealisation of the knight errant also enhanced the attraction of war, endorsing its horrors with a veneer of acceptability.

Love-at-arms

Being a Narrative Excerpted from the Chronicles of Urbino During the Dominion of the High and Mighty Messer Guidobaldo Da Montefeltro

Author: Rafael Sabatini

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 288

View: 973

Love-At-Arms

Large Print

Author: Rafael Sabatini

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 256

View: 185

Get set for a rip-roaring yarn. Set in early modern Italy, Love-At-Arms skillfully combines all of the elements that have won Rafael Sabatini's work a worldwide following: non-stop action, surprising plot twists, and plenty of swoon-worthy romance. Settle in with Sabatini's Love-At-Arms for an exceptionally gratifying read.

Kemp: Passage at Arms

Author: Jonathan Lunn

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 572

A brilliant medieval action thriller perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Matthew Harffy and Giles Kristian. It is 1347 and the French, after a crushing defeat at Crécy, are licking their wounds while their king raises a new army. Locked into a fruitless siege, the English are camped in the marshes around Calais. Among them is foot soldier and archer Martin Kemp, whose dreams of serving his king and reliving the chivalrous adventures of King Arthur’s Knights of the Round Table are tempered by the gory and brutal reality of siege warfare. Having narrowly escaped death in a surprise attack from the French, Kemp sees a chance for a reprieve when a shaky truce is signed. But can there really be peace for a man like Kemp? Kemp: Passage at Arms is packed with authentic period detail and narrative verve, and cements Jonathan Lunn’s reputation as one of the most entertaining historical thriller writers working today.

Love-At-Arms

Author: Rafael Sabatini

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 188

View: 103

"[...] CHAPTER I. VOX POPULI From the valley, borne aloft on the wings of the evening breeze, rose faintly the tolling of an Angelus bell, and in a goat-herd's hut on the heights above stood six men with heads uncovered and bowed, obeying its summons to evening prayer. A brass lamp, equipped with three beaks, swung from the grimy ceiling, and, with more smoke than flame, shed an indifferent light, and yet a more indifferent smell, throughout the darkening hovel. But it sufficed at least to reveal in the accoutrements and trappings of that company a richness that was the more striking by contrast with the surrounding squalor. As the last stroke of the Ave Maria faded on the wind that murmured plaintively through the larches of the hillside, they piously crossed themselves, and leisurely resuming their head-gear, they looked at one another with questioning glances. Yet before any could voice the inquiry that was in the minds of all, a knock fell upon the rotten timbers of the door. "At last!" exclaimed old Fabrizio da Lodi, in a voice charged with relief, [...]."

Love-at-Arms

New Special Edition

Author: Rafael Sabatini

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 208

View: 921

We are happy to announce this classic book. Many of the books in our collection have not been published for decades and are therefore not broadly available to the readers. Our goal is to access the very large literary repository of general public books. The main contents of our entire classical books are the original works. To ensure high quality products, all the titles are chosen carefully by our staff. We hope you enjoy this classic.

The Man at Arms

Or, Henri de Cerons ; a Romance

Author: George Payne Rainsford James

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Huguenots

Page: 350

View: 384

The Man-at-Arms

Author: George Payne Rainsford James

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 214

Reproduction of the original: The Man-at-Arms by George Payne Rainsford James