Lord of the Flies

Author: William Golding

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 315

View: 412

The classical study of human nature which depicts the degeneration of a group of schoolboys marooned on a desert island.

The World of Ice & Fire

The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

Author: George R. R. Martin

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 398

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The perfect holiday gift for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin! If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire. This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator. Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including • artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces • full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen • in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros • 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.

In the Time of the Butterflies

Author: Julia Alvarez

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 370

It is November 25, 1960, and three beautiful sisters have been found near their wrecked Jeep at the bottom of a 150-foot cliff on the north coast of the Dominican Republic. The official state newspaper reports their deaths as accidental. It does not mention that a fourth sister lives. Nor does it explain that the sisters were among the leading opponents of Gen. Rafael Leonidas Trujillo’s dictatorship. It doesn’t have to. Everybody knows of Las Mariposas—“The Butterflies.” In this extraordinary novel, the voices of all four sisters—Minerva, Patria, María Teresa, and the survivor, Dedé—speak across the decades to tell their own stories, from hair ribbons and secret crushes to gunrunning and prison torture, and to describe the everyday horrors of life under Trujillo’s rule. Through the art and magic of Julia Alvarez’s imagination, the martyred Butterflies live again in this novel of courage and love, and the human cost of political oppression.

Lord of the Flies

Study Guide and Student Workbook (Enhanced Ebook)

Author:

Publisher: BMI Educational Services

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 579

The Lord of Opium

Author: Nancy Farmer

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 432

View: 381

As the teenage ruler of his own country, Matt must cope with clones and cartels in this “electric blend of horrors and beauty” (Publishers Weekly), the riveting sequel to the modern classic House of the Scorpion, winner of the National Book Award, a Newbery Honor, and a Printz Honor. Matt has always been nothing but a clone—grown from a strip of old El Patron’s skin. Now, at age fourteen, he finds himself suddenly thrust into the position of ruling over his own country. The Land of Opium is the largest territory of the Dope Confederacy, which ranges on the map like an intestine from the ruins of San Diego to the ruins of Matamoros. But while Opium thrives, the rest of the world has been devastated by ecological disaster—and hidden in Opium is the cure. And that isn’t all that awaits within the depths of Opium. Matt is haunted by the ubiquitous army of eejits, zombielike workers harnessed to the old El Patron’s sinister system of drug growing—people stripped of the very qualities that once made them human. Matt wants to use his newfound power to help, to stop the suffering, but he can’t even find a way to smuggle his childhood love, Maria, across the border and into Opium. Instead, his every move hits a roadblock, some from the enemies that surround him…and some from a voice within himself. For who is Matt really, but the clone of an evil, murderous dictator? Is his true destiny already predetermined by his genes?

William Golding

Some Critical Considerations

Author: Jack I. Biles

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 296

View: 711

In William Golding: Some Critical Considerations, fourteen scholars assess various aspects of the Nobel Prize-winning author's writings. Their essays include criticism of individual works, discussion of major themes and technical considerations, and bibliographical studies. Separately, the essays help us understand the intricacies and impact of Golding's art; together they show the breadth of his purpose.

Conservation and the Use of Wildlife Resources

Author: Melvin Bolton

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Nature

Page: 278

View: 776

Not everybody cares about the fate of wild animals or the state of the natural environment. I met a lady who said it wouldn't worry her if all the wild animals in the world disappeared overnight. She was a city person~ she said. There are also people who would prefer to let animals become extinct than to have them kept in captivity - no matter how progressive the zoo. There are those who, on principle, will not eat meat, let alone do the killing, and there are those who enjoy nothing so much as shooting birds. People in the last two camps may oppose each other in claiming to be con servationists. Extremists are unlikely to find their opinions being reversed by this book but, because of the scope of the subject, I believe there is a good chance that anybody with an interest in wildlife will find in it something new to think about. It may not be too much to hope that a few disagreements might also be settled because I suspect there is more common ground than is generally realized among those with opposing views.