The World of Ice & Fire

The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

Author: George R. R. Martin

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 116

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The perfect holiday gift for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin! If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire. This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator. Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including • artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces • full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen • in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros • 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.

Lord of the Flies

Author: William Golding

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 315

View: 966

The classical study of human nature which depicts the degeneration of a group of schoolboys marooned on a desert island.

In the Time of the Butterflies

Author: Julia Alvarez

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 772

It is November 25, 1960, and three beautiful sisters have been found near their wrecked Jeep at the bottom of a 150-foot cliff on the north coast of the Dominican Republic. The official state newspaper reports their deaths as accidental. It does not mention that a fourth sister lives. Nor does it explain that the sisters were among the leading opponents of Gen. Rafael Leonidas Trujillo’s dictatorship. It doesn’t have to. Everybody knows of Las Mariposas—“The Butterflies.” In this extraordinary novel, the voices of all four sisters—Minerva, Patria, María Teresa, and the survivor, Dedé—speak across the decades to tell their own stories, from hair ribbons and secret crushes to gunrunning and prison torture, and to describe the everyday horrors of life under Trujillo’s rule. Through the art and magic of Julia Alvarez’s imagination, the martyred Butterflies live again in this novel of courage and love, and the human cost of political oppression.

A Gathering of Butterflies for God

Author: Linda Jolly

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 61

View: 839

This Book is a Play about people who live in a close knit neighborhood. A political and Economic shift takes place and this close knit neighborhood changes. There will be Evangelists from the local church comes into the neighborhood to help heal the people as they go through hard times. Suddenly a neighborhood outcast (bag lady) name Lydia is transformed, she steps up to the plate to join the healing in the neighborhood.

Loving God's Wildness

The Christian Roots of Ecological Ethics in American Literature

Author: Jeffrey Bilbro

Publisher: University of Alabama Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 231

View: 276

Analyzing writings ranging from the Puritans to the present day, Loving God's Wildness traces the effects of Christian theology on America's ecological imagination, revealing the often conflicted ways in which Americans relate to and perceive the natural world.

White Butterfly

While Parents Minister, a Beloved Daughter Disappears Off the Face of the Earth

Author: Vanda Terrell

Publisher: Hannibal Books

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 208

View: 768

When Vanda Terrell and her husband, Mike, leave behind their prosperous North Dallas lifestyle because of a genuine commitment to serve God in a foreign land, little do they know that a trap is being set for them that will deprive them of their precious 15-year-old daughter, Brittany. The six-months ensuing desperate search leads the Terrells into Satan's dark playground in corrupt, debauched sectors of Mexico and challenges their faith in the God they went to Latin America to serve. Deceptions and failed commitments are their daily portion as the path toward restoration with Brittany plunges them deeper and deeper into heartbreak. When the search finally hits pay dirt, the ending is not he storybook one for which the Terrells have hoped. Vanda shares about her struggles to forgive and to heal and her miraculous, personal reminder that God's presence never leaves us even in the midst of shattered dreams and unthinkable pain.

Let Your Heart Grow

Author: Mary Lee Going

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 174

View: 840

The Bible was written long ago in a land we would call foreign and for a people without the Internet! Their culture was different. Their language was different. Their day-to-day living was different, too. How could the Bible be relevant to us now? The truths we find in the Bible transcend time, but if we put them in the language and situations of today, they may be more understandable to twenty-first century people. We can use these biblical truths to identify who we are and who God wants us to be. Then we allow God to grow our heart. Enjoy reading these contemporary stories that can give you an insight into ageless truths. Each devotional in Let Your Heart Grow focuses on Godly truths that will help you explore how to live a Christ-centered life. The devotions are terrific as an individual study, but they can also be shared and discussed in a small-group setting, whether it is a family dinner, a youth group gathering, or a friends' get-together. They encourage pondering, praying, and practicing. Start becoming a better you with Let Your Heart Grow!

Consider the Butterfly

Transforming Your Life Through Meaningful Coincidence

Author: Carol Lynn Pearson

Publisher: Gibbs Smith

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 144

View: 520

"Consider the Butterfly's" poignant message shows that learning the language of synchronicity can help anyone see the events of daily life as meaningful occurrences that offer helpful clues for life's journey.