Little Narwhal, Not Alone

Author: Tiffany Stone

Publisher: Greystone Books

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 36

View: 551

Based on a true story, this picture book about a little lost narwhal will appeal to readers of Unlikely Friendships for Kids and Stellaluna. When little narwhal sets off on an adventure to see new sights, he finds himself far from home, too far to return on his own. Scared and alone, narwhal looks for other narwhals but finds a pod of belugas instead. They don't speak his language or eat the same foods, but when the belugas begin to play--little narwhal knows exactly what to do! Poetic language and playful illustrations take readers along on narwhal's unexpected journey, which resonates with themes of acceptance and overcoming differences. Includes a fact sheet about narwhal whales and beluga whales from a marine biologist, Dr. Marie Noël, Research Manager of the Ocean Pollution Research Program at Ocean Wise, a not-for-profit organization whose vision is a world in which oceans are healthy and flourishing.

Someday, Narwhal

Author: Lisa Mantchev

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 618

“Kids will love this tiny little protagonist who dares to dream big.” —Booklist “The little narwhal from Strictly No Elephants gets her own story…Equally good as a stand-alone or for fans of the first book.” —School Library Journal In this charming companion to the award-winning picture book Strictly No Elephants, a tiny narwhal discovers that sometimes the difference between staying home and a big adventure is a group of loving friends. Red front door. Potted plant. Umbrella stand. Piano. Red front door. Potted plant. Umbrella stand. Piano. That’s what the world looks like from inside Tiny Narwhal’s fishbowl. It’s not very exciting. She dreams of the world beyond: endless blue sky, tall buildings, a bridge. But Tiny Narwhal hasn’t any feet and doesn’t know the street names. And what if it’s cold outside? What this little narwhal does have, though, are good friends. With the help of her boy and his friends, plus a penguin, bat, and giraffe, Tiny Narwhal finally feels brave enough to go on an adventure. Someday, Narwhal features the same adorable cast of pets and sweet, lyrical language as Lisa Mantchev’s beloved Strictly No Elephants.

Hydrogen Steel

Author: K. A. Bedford

Publisher: EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 412

Do you think THEY are so different from US?It's rare to see a genuine mystery embedded into the rich fabric of a science fiction setting, but HYDROGEN STEEL accomplishes both."Bedford has crafted a strong Science Fiction title filled with excellent dialogue, action at every turn, a compelling story, a dash of philosophy and somewhat surprising ending" — Tim Adamec, The Dragon Page"This is a gem of a novel. It's also quite mind blowing, and is very much worth reading." — Paul Lappen"Hydrogen Steel is a highly readable and entirely convincing book." — Lucy Schmeidler, reviewerAurealis Award Finalist"Hydrogen Steel is a tense and thrilling mystery within a mystery, a tale of secrets and truth, and a journey to the limits of existence — and a bit beyond!"The keeper of truth is a firemind named Hydrogen SteelWhen retired top homicide inspector Zette McGee, late of Winter City, Ganymede, gets called out of her mysterious retirement to help Kell Fallow, a desperate former android accused unjustly of murdering his wife and children, she knows she has to help him, for Zette has a secret she is desperate to keep, and Fallow knows all about it.With the help of her best friend, the elderly but very suave former secret agent Gideon Smith, and his ridiculously impressive personal starship, the Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time, Zette sets out (a) to help the accused man, but also (b) to keep Gideon from finding out her own awful secret, even as everything they learn in the investigation keeps pointing to it.But when Kell Fallow is killed by a bomb he didn't know was buried in his guts, and when a homebrew android identical to Zette destroys her home on the luxurious Serendipity habitat, Gideon and Zette go on the run, only to run afoul of sabotage, spies, nasty infections, and bad guys galore and ordinary machines come to relentless, murderous life.The case will take Zette and Gideon on a terrifying journey into the darkest reaches of human space, in pursuit of an ancient truth — and will bring her into deadly contact with that truth's keeper, the awesomely powerful firemind, Hydrogen Steel, an artificial consciousness evolved far beyond its original design, and which is utterly determined to keep that same truth from getting out, at any cost.Hydrogen Steel is a tense and thrilling mystery within a mystery, a tale of secrets and truth, and a journey to the limits of existence — and a bit beyond!

Navigating the Changing Landscape of Formal and Informal Science Learning Opportunities

Author: Deborah Corrigan

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 210

View: 970

This book presents research involving learning opportunities that are afforded to learners of science when the focus is on linking the formal and informal science education sectors. It uses the metaphor of a "landscape" as it emphasises how the authors see the possible movement within a landscape that is inclusive of formal, informal and free-choice opportunities. The book explores opportunities to change formal school science education via perspectives and achievements from the informal and free-choice science education sector within the wider lifelong, life-wide education landscape. Additionally it explores how science learning that occurs in a more inclusive landscape can demonstrate the potential power of these opportunities to address issues of relevance and engagement that currently plague the learning of science in school settings. Combining specific contexts, case studies and more general examples, the book examines the science learning landscapes by means of the lens of an ecosystem and the case of the Synergies longitudinal research project. It explores the relationships between school and museum, and relates the lessons learned through encounters with a narwhal. It discusses science communication, school-community partnerships, socioscientific issues, outreach education, digital platforms and the notion of a learning ecology.

Indian Tales of North America

An Anthology for the Adult Reader

Author: Tristam P. Coffin

Publisher: University of Texas Press

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 157

View: 572

Forty-five traditional folktales from a variety of North American tribes.

The Book of Kells

Author: R. A. MacAvoy

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 364

View: 968

A contemporary couple journeys back in time to ancient Ireland in this delightful fantasy by the author of Tea with the Black Dragon. John Thornburn is an artist, mild-mannered and nonviolent. To make ends meet, he teaches some courses in Celtic design. And although his background is half Micmac Indian, he lives in Ireland for two reasons: his far more confrontational and warrior-like girlfriend, Derval O’Keane, and his fascination with the beautiful illuminated manuscript known as the Book of Kells. But he’s about to take a journey to a far more distant place, one that he could not have imagined. Along with Derval, John will find himself in an ancient Celtic realm, where a Viking attack begs to be avenged and a fantastic—and sometimes terrifying—adventure awaits . . . From a master of magical fantasy, the author of the Damiano Trilogy and a winner of the John W. Campbell Award, this is a tale of warriors, love, danger, and Irish history that will cast a spell on anyone who dreams of discovering treasures in long-lost worlds.

Works by James Oliver Curwood (Illustrated, 22 books)

Author: James Oliver Curwood

Publisher: LCI

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 837

This ebook is illustrated with 29 original pictures from the books. Here's the contents of this ebook : FICTION : 1908 The Courage of Captain Plum 1908 The Wolf Hunters 1909 The Gold Hunters 1910 The Danger Trail 1911 The Honor of the Big Snows 1911 Philip Steele (Steele of the Royal Mounted) 1912 Flower of the North 1913 Isobel 1914 Kazan 1915 God's Country and the Woman 1916 The Hunted Woman 1916 The Grizzly King 1917 Baree, Son of Kazan 1918 The Courage of Marge O'Doone 1919 Nomads of the North 1919 The River's End 1920 Back to God's Country 1920 The Valley of Silent Men 1921 The Golden Snare 1921 The Flaming Forest 1922 The Country Beyond 1923 The Alaskan PAPERS : 1915 Thomas Jefferson Brown (Gretest short stories) Note : New books will be made available in future versions.