Little Face

Culver Valley Crime

Author: Sophie Hannah

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 992

The first extraordinary psychological suspense thriller from internationally bestselling author Sophie Hannah. Not to be missed for readers of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins. 'Terrifying' Scotsman 'Ingenious' Sunday Times It's every mother's nightmare . . . She's only been gone two hours. Her husband David was meant to be looking after their two-week-old daughter. But when Alice Fancourt walks into the nursery, her terrifying ordeal begins, for Alice insists the baby in the cot is a stranger she's never seen before. With an increasingly hostile and menacing David swearing she must either be mad or lying, how can Alice make the police believe her before it's too late?

Among Little Faces

Author: Barb Bissonette

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 423

Little Emma was only a baby when her 16-year-old mother brought her home to be raised under the care of her grandparents, Alma and Joe. A tiny bundle from heaven was all they knew and, despite the hardships and illnesses they must face together, Alma and Joe raised her as best as they could on their beautiful farm of Lilac Thyme. Eventually, Emma and her mother move away from the farm and now Emma must struggle to live with a mentally challenged sister as well as deal with her own incapacitating illness. It is more than anyone is prepared to handle, especially a sweet little girl like Emma, but Alma and Joe are not about to let their granddaughter lose hope. A beautiful, poignant story, as told by her grandmother, about a brave, young girl and the unforeseen circumstances that we must sometimes face...but not always on our own. Barb Bissonette grew up in Brampton, Ontario. She has successfully written various short stories and poems and is currently working on a new murder mystery. Barb is a nurse in Orillia where she lives with her husband, John. She has three children and three grandchildren. http: //SBPRA.com/BarbBissonette

Big Face / Little Face

All Kinds of Wild Faces

Author: Bill Cotter

Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 22

View: 504

A new book from the author/illustrator of Don't Push the Button! Little face, big face Chewing on a twig face! Short face, long face Super-duper STRONG face! Faces can communicate a lot of things! Introduce little listeners to what different animal traits and emotions can look like, how widely they range, and what else can be learned from an expression in this fun, interactive board book.

Walking Through the Flames

The First Step into Hell

Author: Carol Tuttle

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 96

View: 219

There is no available information at this time.

Bloodshed at Little Bighorn

Sitting Bull, Custer, and the Destinies of Nations

Author: Tim Lehman

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 219

View: 699

Commonly known as Custer's Last Stand, the Battle of Little Bighorn may be the best recognized violent conflict between the indigenous peoples of North America and the government of the United States. Incorporating the voices of Native Americans, soldiers, scouts, and women, Tim Lehman's concise, compelling narrative will forever change the way we think about this familiar event in American history. On June 25, 1876, General George Armstrong Custer led the United States Army's Seventh Cavalry in an attack on a massive encampment of Sioux and Cheyenne Indians on the bank of the Little Bighorn River. What was supposed to be a large-scale military operation to force U.S. sovereignty over the tribes instead turned into a quick, brutal rout of the attackers when Custer's troops fell upon the Indians ahead of the main infantry force. By the end of the fight, the Sioux and Cheyenne had killed Custer and 210 of his men. The victory fueled hopes of freedom and encouraged further resistance among the Native Americans. For the U.S. military, the lost battle prompted a series of vicious retaliatory strikes that ultimately forced the Sioux and Cheyenne into submission and the long nightmare of reservation life. This briskly paced, vivid account puts the battle's details and characters into a rich historical context. Grounded in the most recent research, attentive to Native American perspectives, and featuring a colorful cast of characters, Bloodshed at Little Bighorn elucidates the key lessons of the conflict and draws out the less visible ones. This may not be the last book you read on Little Bighorn, but it should be the first.

A Face Like Glass

Author: Frances Hardinge

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 496

View: 276

A Face Like Glass is an astonishing and imaginative novel from the Costa Award winning author of The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge. In the underground city of Caverna the world's most skilled craftsmen toil in the darkness to create delicacies beyond compare – wines that can remove memories, cheeses that can make you hallucinate and perfumes that convince you to trust the wearer, even as they slit your throat. The people of Caverna are more ordinary, but for one thing: their faces are as blank as untouched snow. Expressions must be learned, and only the famous Facesmiths can teach a person to show joy, despair or fear – at a price. Into this dark and distrustful world comes Neverfell, a little girl with no memory of her past and a face so terrifying to those around her that she must wear a mask at all times. For Neverfell's emotions are as obvious on her face as those of the most skilled Facesmiths, though entirely genuine. And that makes her very dangerous indeed . . . 'Everyone should read Frances Hardinge. Everyone. Right now.' - Patrick Ness, author of A Monster Calls.

Little Eve Edgarton

Easyread Super Large 20pt Edition

Author: Eleanor Hallowell Abbott

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 232

View: 329

Books for All Kinds of Readers. ReadHowYouWant offers the widest selection of on-demand, accessible format editions on the market today. Our 7 different sizes of EasyRead are optimized by increasing the font size and spacing between the words and the letters. We partner with leading publishers around the globe. Our goal is to have accessible editions simultaneously released with publishers new books so that all readers can have access to the books they want to read. To find more books in your format visit www.readhowyouwant.com