Roman Dirge's Lenore

Swirlies

Author: Roman Dirge

Publisher: Titan Books (UK)

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 120

View: 833

Follows the adventures of the little dead girl Lenore as she copes with events such as a normal birthday party, a cyborg undertaker, and dealing with her stalker, Mr. Gosh.

Collected Poems of Lenore Kandel

Author: Lenore Kandel

Publisher: North Atlantic Books

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 264

View: 746

Jack Kerouac immortalized her in his novel Big Sur. A student of Zen, she hung out with Gary Snyder and Allen Ginsberg and was a speaker at San Francisco’s Human Be-In. But Lenore Kandel was no muse or hanger-on; she was a brilliant lyric poet, often unabashedly erotic, and that’s where her legacy lies. Collected Poems of Lenore Kandel contains 80 examples of her art, from the “holy erotica” of her early years to later, more contemplative works. Many of the poems have never been published, others only in rare ephemeral publications. Some are explicit, celebrating carnal love as part of the divine. Others are humorous and cover more quotidian subjects. A recurring theme is the “divine animal” duality. The collection includes poems written from the early fifties up until Kandel’s death. The paradox of Lenore Kandel is that despite her prodigious talent, she was one of the least read and critically appreciated of modern poets. Kandel found her voice at a time when the Beat era was giving way to the countercultural age, and though she straddled both eras, it meant that she also fell through the cracks in terms of recognition. Now for the first time the full range of her work appears in one volume. From the Hardcover edition.

Black Ice

Author: Linda Hall

Publisher: WaterBrook

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 113

They said she came in with the ice… Lenore Featherjohn found the girl, frozen against a snow bank behind Lenore’s bed-and-breakfast. Some said she was a ghost, others said an angel. Lenore knows better. Fearing that the police might look to her sons as murderers, she hires Jake Rikker and his crusty business partner, May, to investigate the suspicious circumstances surrounding her undesirable discovery. Their search leads them not to the strange girl–or to Earth’s final days, as many in the town suspect–but to Amy McLaren, the wife of a local minister. As Jake and May get closer to the truth, the tension between Lenore and Amy rises, forcing each woman to face the secrets they’ve hidden far too long. Return to Fog Point in Black Ice, a gripping novel that asks, is any faith strong enough to survive the coldest seasons of life? From the Trade Paperback edition.

Lenore - Purple Nurples

Author: Roman Dirge

Publisher: Titan Books

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 120

View: 606

Follows the adventures of a little dead girl as she encounters the evil Creeping Creepig and a spooky refrigerator dweller.

Halfway Hexed

Author: Kimberly Frost

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 354

Duvall, Texas. A small town that’s about to be in some big trouble. Tammy Jo Trask is finally ready to embrace her mixed-up magic, but not everyone in town is what you’d call supportive. While a scripture-spouting posse is organized to kidnap her and “save” Duvall from witchcraft, the president of WAM—the World Association of Magic—arrives to investigate Tammy’s entanglement with the off-limits and drop-dead gorgeous wizard Bryn Lyons. But when a clash between the locals and the magical visitors leads to a series of unnatural disasters, Tammy Jo will have to hope that her magical synergy with Bryn is enough to save the town from certain doom.

Highland Shapeshifter

Author: Clover Autrey

Publisher: Clover Autrey

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 969

Flung forward into the 21st Century, Highland shapeshifter Col Limont needs to find the healer Charity Greves in order to get back home and save his family. However, the healer’s sister, Lenore, is determined to do everything she can to keep Col from dragging her sister back to 13th Century Scotland into his family’s supernatural war. But when monsters and a strange yuppie trio also try to stop him, Lenore has to reconsider her options. But by helping Col, she’ll lose her sister.

Taverns of the Dead

Author: Kealan Patrick Burke

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 423

View: 177

Taverns are timeless places, as familiar and welcome as the spirits that rest themselves atop the bar. Through the ages, in times of war, of famine, of love and death, they have stood in silence, radiating the promise of a soporific sojourn from the horrors and the worries of the outside world. We are drawn to them by this promise, by the notion that we may be protected and comforted by the light, the animated chatter and the warmth inside those smeared glasses. When we go there, it is with no fear at all.But taverns can be deadly places, where ghosts walk, the shadows talk and not everyone is your friend.With Taverns of the Dead, editor Kealan Patrick Burke has reserved a table and gathered together some of the finest writers in modern horror and dark fantasy to share their most terrifying bar stories with you, the unsuspecting patron.Pull up a chair and prepare to be regaled by tales of monsters, madness, ghosts and gore, in a place we know all too well...

Dark Water

Author: Linda Hall

Publisher: Waterbrook Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 354

View: 646

When a jewelry designer hires private investigator Jake Rikker to find her stalker, Jake becomes entangled in a mystery that threatens to destroy them both.

Chasing Before

Author: Lenore Appelhans

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 368

View: 860

Perfect for fans of Divergent and The Matrix, Chasing Before follows Felicia as she grapples with a futuristic afterlife in this riveting sequel to The Memory of After. It’s been four months since Felicia saved Level Two from the Morati, the corrupted angels who trapped her and her boyfriend, Neil, in the afterlife. Now she and Neil have moved on to Level Three, an afterlife training facility where humans pick a career to pursue until they retire to the next level. But when Felicia learns some shocking truths about her life, she begins to question everything. Neil wants to focus on the future, but Felicia is willing to do anything to find answers about her past—even if that means seeking out Julian, her charming former love interest and an ex-Morati. Just when Felicia thinks things can’t get any more complicated, deadly explosions begin to rock Level Three and the Morati, disguised as human trainees, are the main suspects. When given the choice, will Felicia do everything in her power to expose the Morati and save Level Three? Or will she chase after the desires of her heart and risk losing her past humanity, her present afterlife, and a future with Neil?

Uncertain Pilgrims

A Novel

Author: Lenore Carroll

Publisher: UNM Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 219

View: 281

A young woman from Kansas City takes a road trip along the Santa Fe Trail to New Mexico.