Lagom

The Swedish Secret of Living Well

Author: Lola A Åkerström

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 192

View: 991

Perfect for fans of The Little Book of Hygge and Norwegian Wood, find the balance in life that is just right for you. Let Lola A. Åkerström, Editor-in-chief of Slow Travel Stockholm, be your companion to all things lagom. As the Swedish proverb goes, 'Lagom är bäst' (The right amount is best). Lagom sums up the Swedish psyche and is the reason why Sweden is one of the happiest countries in the world with a healthy work-life balance and high standards of living. Lagom is a way of living that promotes harmony. It celebrates fairness, moderation and being satisfied with and taking proper care of what you've got, including your well-being, relationships, and possessions. It's not about having too little or too much but about fully inviting contentment into our lives through making optimal decisions. Who better than Lola A. Åkerström to be your lagom guide? Sweden-based Lola is an award-winning writer, photographer , and editor-in-chief of Slow Travel Stockholm and she offers us a unique vantage point when it comes to adopting elements of a lagom lifestyle. Full of insights and beautiful photographs, taken by Lola herself, this authentic book will help you make small, simple changes to your every day life - whether that's your diet, lifestyle, money, work or your home - so you can have a more balanced way of living filled with contentment.

Lagom: The Swedish Art of Living a Balanced, Happy Life

Author: Niki Brantmark

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: House & Home

Page: 288

View: 978

Uncover the secrets of the Swedish philosophy of life called Lagom – meaning ‘just enough’. At its core is the idea that we can strike a healthy balance with the world around us without having to make extreme changes, and without denying ourselves anything.

Live Laugh Lagom

Enough Is Enough--Embracing the Swedish Way to Balance and Happiness

Author: Lola A. Åkerström

Publisher: Ulysses Press

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page:

View: 737

WHAT MAKES SWEDES HAPPY? ONE WORD: LAGOM Throwing away all your stuff isn't going to make you happy. Conspicuous consumption isn't going to work either. But somewhere in the middle is lagom—the Swedish way to happiness based on the idea of not too much, not too little. Lagom is not just a word but the very essence of what it means to be a Swede. As you'll discover in this book, lagom is the secret to the enviable Swedish lifestyle of social consciousness, moderation, and sustainability. Guiding you to operate at your most natural, effortless state of contentment, Live Laugh Lagom teaches you to strive for the ultimate balance in all aspects of your existence, including well-being, relationships, work, finances, diet, and home life.

Lagom

The Swedish Art of Balanced Living

Author: Linnea Dunne

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 160

View: 103

Step aside Hygge. Lagom is the new Scandi lifestyle trend taking the world by storm. This delightfully illustrated book gives you the lowdown on this transformative approach to life and examines how the lagom ethos has helped boost Sweden to the No.10 ranking in 2017's World Happiness Report. Lagom (pronounced 'lah-gom') has no equivalent in the English language but is loosely translated as 'not too little, not too much, just right'. It is widely believed that the word comes from the Viking term 'laget om', for when a mug of mead was passed around a circle and there was just enough for everyone to get a sip. But while the anecdote may hit the nail on the head, the true etymology of the word points to an old form of the word 'lag', which means 'law'. Far from restrictive, lagom is a liberating concept, praising the idea that anything more than 'just enough' is a waste of time. Crucially it also comes with a selflessness and core belief of responsibility and common good. By living lagom you can: Live a happier and more balanced life Reduce your environmental impact Improve your work-life balance Free your home from clutter Enjoy good food the Swedish way Grow your own and learn to forage Cherish the relationships with those you love

Getting Rid of Excess Baggage in Our Lives

Author: Duane R. Lund

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 94

View: 730

This book deals with excess baggage you may be experiencing, such as: worry, excess accumulation of this world's goods, conflict, addictions, obsessions, depression, anger and prejudice. Dr. Duane Lund was born in Brainerd, Minnesota. He is a product of the Brainerd School System and is a member of the Brainerd High School Hall of Fame. Dr. Lund has a BA Degree from Macalester College and an MA and PhD from the University of Minnesota, with post-graduate work firm Columbia University, New York City. Professionally, he began as a high school teacher and guidance counselor in the high school in Staples, Minnesota. He then spent five years on the staff of U.S. Senator Edward Thye in Washington, D.C., serving as chief of staff the last year. Dr. Lund then returned to education, serving one year as high school principal in Staples and then 25 years as superintendent of schools. During that time he served on numerous committees including the National Advisory Council for Vocational Education, Vice President's appointee to the White House Conference on Education, Consultant to the U.S. House of Representatives and the Washington, D.C. Schools for Vocational Education, Member of the Executive Board of the Minnesota Historical Society, Member of the Advisory Committee for the Boundary Waters, Member of the People to People Missions to Cuba and China. After retiring from the superintendency in Staples, he served as a senior consultant to the Blandin Foundation of Grand Rapids, Minnesota for 10 years. Dr. Lund has several hobbies but has devoted the most time to oil painting and writing, including 43 books. In 1992, when he published "Our Historic Upper Mississippi," The Minnesota Association of Media Specialists (including librarians) selected Duane Lund as that state's Author of the Year.

Hygge and Lagom DIY Bundle

Scandinavian Living Tips with Danish Hygge and Swedish Lagom

Author: Maya Thoresen

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN:

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 110

View: 998

Hygge and Lagom, Your Personal Prescription for Happiness and Balance in an Unhappy and Out of Control World If you are feeling as though you've lost your way recently, you're not alone. Many of us feel disconnected from the world we live in. It's no wonder, given just how fast the world moves these days. Technology brings so many benefits, but it comes at a steep cost. Our happiness. Many of us are left feeling alone, disillusioned, and unhappy. These feelings make us withdraw from family, friends, and even the society to which we belong. Join the Happiest People on Earth... Hygge and Lagom are two Scandinavian principles that are catching on in the rest of the world. For a long time, these countries have topped the charts in the world's "happiness index." What makes them so different and what are these two special principles? This Book is actually TWO books in One. You get a full discussion on both including 21-day challenges to help you adopt these principles. Either book stands their own, but the real synergy takes place when you embrace both. This will give you a feeling of lasting happiness and contentment. One that you can practice for a lifetime and join those Scandinavians as some of the happiest and most fulfilled people on the planet. You'll Learn How practicing Hygge and Logam can give you practical advice on how to: furnish your home so you are left feeling tranquil and peaceful. Turning your home into a place of refuge from the modern world. embrace nature to feel a connection to the natural world. Improve your attitude about work and end work-place frustration. get that feeling of work-life balance that so many of us lack. Practice the "Do's and Don'ts" that are the keys to successful relationships. survive the holidays that so many of us find stressful and overwhelming. integrate nature's seasons into your own life and mirror them to feel centered and balanced. More Than Just the Meatballs... There're also chapters on how to dress, eat, and advice for parents on how to incorporate these customs into your home. Experience a state of well-being by having "just enough" in your life. Everyone understands that moderation can be a practical tool to achieving a happy fulfilled life. What we do not understand is how to really live that life of moderation without feeling deprived. This book will teach you to do exactly that. You'll get specific tips and tricks that will help not only you but also the environment. The state of the planet demands that we embrace these ideas and give the earth a break from all the stress we put on it. Reconnect with Yourself, Find Your Happiness, Achieve Balance Today. Buy This valuable two book set that teaches you what the Scandinavians use to be the happiest people on the planet.

The Happiness Passport

A world tour of joyful living in 50 words

Author: Megan C Hayes

Publisher: White Lion Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 144

View: 531

Exploring the global dictionary, from common languages to obscure dialects, The Happiness Passport takes the reader on a joyful journey around the world seeking out the secrets of wellbeing. The wonderfully evocative words in this collection resonate with universal emotions: the deep longing for home conjured up by the Welsh word hiraeth, or the transportive ability of good storytelling captured in the Urdu goya. Yet at the same time each is deeply ingrained in its place of origin: long, dark Danish days encourage the warmth and cosiness of hygge, while the satisfied chatter after a sun-soaked meal - sombremesa - resonates uniquely with Spanish hospitality. These words are simultaneously all-inclusive and peculiar to place; they are on the tip of our tongue and yet not in our vocabulary. The Happiness Passport delves into this treasure trove of delights, examining the cultural context of each and the lessons that we can apply in our own lives to achieve greater contentment. A must-read for all those seeking a more balanced life, this beautiful guide features original illustrations that conjure up each elusive expression.