Kitchen Essays

Author: Agnes Jekyll

Publisher: Persephone Books Limited

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 263

View: 517

Beautifully written, sparkly, witty, and knowing essays about the kitchen from Lady Jekyll.

The Reporter's Kitchen

Essays

Author: Jane Kramer

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 304

View: 747

Jane Kramer started cooking when she started writing. Her first dish, a tinned-tuna curry, was assembled on a tiny stove in her graduate student apartment while she pondered her first writing assignment. From there, whether her travels took her to a tent settlement in the Sahara for an afternoon interview with an old Berber woman toiling over goat stew, or to the great London restaurateur and author Yotam Ottolenghi's Notting Hill apartment, where they assembled a buttered phylo-and-cheese tower called a mutabbaq, Jane always returned from the field with a new recipe, and usually, a friend. For the first time, Jane's beloved food pieces from The New Yorker, where she has been a staff writer since 1964, are arranged in one place--a collection of definitive chef profiles, personal essays, and gastronomic history that is at once deeply personal and humane. The Reporter's Kitchen follows Jane everywhere, and throughout her career--from her summer writing retreat in Umbria, where Jane and her anthropologist husband host memorable expat Thanksgivings--in July--to the Nordic coast, where Jane and acclaimed Danish chef Rene Redzepi, of Noma, forage for edible sea-grass. The Reporter’s Kitchen is an important record of culture distilled through food around the world. It's welcoming and inevitably surprising.

Writing in the Kitchen

Essays on Southern Literature and Foodways

Author: David A. Davis

Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 320

View: 357

Scarlett O’Hara munched on a radish and vowed never to go hungry again. Vardaman Bundren ate bananas in Faulkner’s Jefferson, and the Invisible Man dined on a sweet potato in Harlem. Although food and stories may be two of the most prominent cultural products associated with the South, the connections between them have not been thoroughly explored until now. Southern food has become the subject of increasingly self-conscious intellectual consideration. The Southern Foodways Alliance, the Southern Food and Beverage Museum, food-themed issues of Oxford American and Southern Cultures, and a spate of new scholarly and popular books demonstrate this interest. Writing in the Kitchen explores the relationship between food and literature and makes a major contribution to the study of both southern literature and of southern foodways and culture more widely. This collection examines food writing in a range of literary expressions, including cookbooks, agricultural journals, novels, stories, and poems. Contributors interpret how authors use food to explore the changing South, considering the ways race, ethnicity, class, gender, and region affect how and what people eat. They describe foods from specific southern places such as New Orleans and Appalachia, engage both the historical and contemporary South, and study the food traditions of ethnicities as they manifest through the written word.

Kitchen Essays - With Recipes and Their Occasions

Author: Lady Jekyll

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 262

View: 404

"Kitchen Essays" is a vintage collection of delicious recipes by Lady Jekyll. The recipes are arranged according to different meals and occasions ranging from a simple breakfast to three-course meals and even large dinner parties. Full of expert tips and simple instructions, "Kitchen Essays" is perfect for those who like to throw parties and cook to impress, and it would make for a wonderful addition to any culinary collection. Contents include: "Old Friends with New Faces", "Le Mot Juste in Food", "In the Cook's Absence", "Of Good Taste in Food", "On the Serving of Food", "Children's Bread", "For Men Only", "Thoughts of Venice from Home", "Home Thoughts of Florence and some Tuscan Recipes", "Some Breakfast-time Suggestions", etc. Dame Agnes Jekyll, DBE (1861-1937) was a British writer, artist, and philanthropist. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in a modern, high-quality edition complete with the original text and artwork.

Kitchen Essays

Author: Lady Agnes Lowndes Jekyll

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 984

Home Cooking

A Writer in the Kitchen

Author: Laurie Colwin

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 208

View: 419

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, Home Cooking is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong. Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise. Home Cooking will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover. Praise for Laurie Colwin: 'Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson 'I have in my kitchen a book called Home Cooking. And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old-Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book. I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read The Silver Palate Cookbook standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna Quindlen Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

Discovering Words in the Kitchen

Author: Julian Walker

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 96

View: 570

Throughout history the English language has reflected social changes, trade routes, and waves of fashion. This book examines the histories of the names of foods, ingredients, utensils, drinks, cooking methods, and dishes to show how the vocabulary of English has reflected the ways speakers of the language have interacted with their tastes, their environment and other cultures. Approximately 250 words that have entered English language over the past fifteen hundred years are examined, ranging from Old English adoptions from Latin via French, to U.S. adoptions from Chinese. Changes of spelling and meaning and disagreements about the history of the words are discussed, supported by references within the text to authoritative food historians and dictionary writers from Johnson and Webster to the most recent publications.

Domestic Imaginaries

Navigating the Home in Global Literary and Visual Cultures

Author: Bex Harper

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 215

View: 392

This book examines representations of home in literary and visual cultures in the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection brings together scholars working on literature, film, and photography with the aim of showcasing new research in a burgeoning field focusing on representations of domesticity. The chapters span a diverse range of contexts from across the world and use a variety of approaches to exploring representations of home including studies of space, material culture, sexuality, gender, multiculturalism, diaspora, memory and archival practice. They include explorations of the Finnish Suburban home on film, home and the diasporic imagination in Chinese Canadian women’s writing and the archiving practices and photographs used to document the homes of two gay writers from Australia and New Zealand. By bringing together this range of approaches and subjects, the book explores domestic imaginaries as part of a multi-faceted, mutable and amorphous conception of home in a modern, world context. This collection therefore seeks to further studies of home by investigating how the page, screen and photograph have constructed domestic imaginaries – experiencing, critiquing, reconfiguring and archiving home – in a global age.

Summer Cooking

Author: Elizabeth David

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 272

View: 664

Summer Cooking - first published in 1955 - is Elizabeth David's wonderful selection of dishes, for table, buffet and picnic, that are light, easy to prepare and based on seasonal ingredients. Elizabeth David shows how an imaginative use of herbs can enhance even the simplest meals, whether egg, fish or meat, while her recipes range from a simple salade niçoise to strawberry soufflé. Finally, Summer Cooking has chapters on hors d'oeuvres, summer soups, vegetables, sauces and sweets that are full of ideas for fresh, cool food all summer long. 'Not only did she transform the way we cooked but she is a delight to read' Express on Sunday 'Britain's most inspirational food writer' Independent 'When you read Elizabeth David, you get perfect pitch. There is an understanding and evocation of flavours, colours, scents and places that lights up the page' Guardian 'Not only did she transform the way we cooked but she is a delight to read' Express on Sunday Elizabeth David (1913-1992) is the woman who changed the face of British cooking. Having travelled widely during the Second World War, she introduced post-war Britain to the sun-drenched delights of the Mediterranean and her recipes brought new flavours and aromas into kitchens across Britain. After her classic first book Mediterranean Food followed more bestsellers, including French Country Cooking, Summer Cooking, French Provincial Cooking, Italian Food, Elizabeth David's Christmas and At Elizabeth David's Table.

The Kitchen

Life World, Usage, Perspectives

Author: Klaus Spechtenhauser

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 160

View: 925

Since the 1990s the kitchen has moved into the design spotlight, and this publication examines and reviews its significance in an architectural, cultural, social and economical context. The authors look at developments and revolutionary kitchen concepts of the last decades including standardized kitchens and open kitchen living spaces.