Kitchen Essays

Author: Agnes Jekyll

Publisher: Persephone Books Limited

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 263

View: 753

Beautifully written, sparkly, witty, and knowing essays about the kitchen from Lady Jekyll.

The Reporter's Kitchen

Essays

Author: Jane Kramer

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 304

View: 520

Jane Kramer started cooking when she started writing. Her first dish, a tinned-tuna curry, was assembled on a tiny stove in her graduate student apartment while she pondered her first writing assignment. From there, whether her travels took her to a tent settlement in the Sahara for an afternoon interview with an old Berber woman toiling over goat stew, or to the great London restaurateur and author Yotam Ottolenghi's Notting Hill apartment, where they assembled a buttered phylo-and-cheese tower called a mutabbaq, Jane always returned from the field with a new recipe, and usually, a friend. For the first time, Jane's beloved food pieces from The New Yorker, where she has been a staff writer since 1964, are arranged in one place--a collection of definitive chef profiles, personal essays, and gastronomic history that is at once deeply personal and humane. The Reporter's Kitchen follows Jane everywhere, and throughout her career--from her summer writing retreat in Umbria, where Jane and her anthropologist husband host memorable expat Thanksgivings--in July--to the Nordic coast, where Jane and acclaimed Danish chef Rene Redzepi, of Noma, forage for edible sea-grass. The Reporter’s Kitchen is an important record of culture distilled through food around the world. It's welcoming and inevitably surprising.

Kitchen Essays - With Recipes and Their Occasions

Author: Lady Jekyll

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 262

View: 216

"Kitchen Essays" is a vintage collection of delicious recipes by Lady Jekyll. The recipes are arranged according to different meals and occasions ranging from a simple breakfast to three-course meals and even large dinner parties. Full of expert tips and simple instructions, "Kitchen Essays" is perfect for those who like to throw parties and cook to impress, and it would make for a wonderful addition to any culinary collection. Contents include: "Old Friends with New Faces", "Le Mot Juste in Food", "In the Cook's Absence", "Of Good Taste in Food", "On the Serving of Food", "Children's Bread", "For Men Only", "Thoughts of Venice from Home", "Home Thoughts of Florence and some Tuscan Recipes", "Some Breakfast-time Suggestions", etc. Dame Agnes Jekyll, DBE (1861-1937) was a British writer, artist, and philanthropist. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in a modern, high-quality edition complete with the original text and artwork.

Kitchen Essays

Author: Lady Agnes Lowndes Jekyll

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 748

Writing in the Kitchen

Essays on Southern Literature and Foodways

Author: David A. Davis

Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 320

View: 293

Scarlett O’Hara munched on a radish and vowed never to go hungry again. Vardaman Bundren ate bananas in Faulkner’s Jefferson, and the Invisible Man dined on a sweet potato in Harlem. Although food and stories may be two of the most prominent cultural products associated with the South, the connections between them have not been thoroughly explored until now. Southern food has become the subject of increasingly self-conscious intellectual consideration. The Southern Foodways Alliance, the Southern Food and Beverage Museum, food-themed issues of Oxford American and Southern Cultures, and a spate of new scholarly and popular books demonstrate this interest. Writing in the Kitchen explores the relationship between food and literature and makes a major contribution to the study of both southern literature and of southern foodways and culture more widely. This collection examines food writing in a range of literary expressions, including cookbooks, agricultural journals, novels, stories, and poems. Contributors interpret how authors use food to explore the changing South, considering the ways race, ethnicity, class, gender, and region affect how and what people eat. They describe foods from specific southern places such as New Orleans and Appalachia, engage both the historical and contemporary South, and study the food traditions of ethnicities as they manifest through the written word.

Home Cooking

A Writer in the Kitchen

Author: Laurie Colwin

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 208

View: 631

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, Home Cooking is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong. Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise. Home Cooking will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover. Praise for Laurie Colwin: 'Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson 'I have in my kitchen a book called Home Cooking. And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old-Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book. I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read The Silver Palate Cookbook standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna Quindlen Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

Adventures in the Slavic Kitchen

A book of Essays with Recipes

Author: Igor Klekh

Publisher: Glagoslav Publications

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 184

View: 436

The polyglot Igor Klekh is an extraordinarily erudite and accomplished Russian writer, journalist, and translator, whose formative years were spent in Western Ukraine, mostly in Ivano-Frankivsk and in the multi-cultural city of Lviv where he had access to the literature of East-Central Europe. He currently resides in Moscow. His complex prose style has been compared to that of Jorge Luis Borges and Bruno Schulz, whose novellas he was among the first to translate from Polish into Russian. He has authored seven books of prose, essays, translations, and literary criticism and has been a frequent contributor to the best Russian literary journals including Novyi mir, Znamya, and Druzhba narodov. His works have earned numerous prizes including the Alfred C. Toepfer Pushkin Prize (1993), the Yury Kazakov Prize (2000) for Best Short Story, and the October Magazine Prize (2000) for his book on the artist Sergei Sherstiuk. His works have been nominated for the Russian version of the Booker Prize twice (1995 and 2012). Adventures in the Slavic Kitchen: A Book of Essays with Recipes is a cultural study of the role food plays in the formation and expression of a nation’s character. It focuses primarily on the Russian and Ukrainian kitchens but discusses them in the context of international food practices. His prose works have been published in English translation under the title A Land the Size of Binoculars (2004) by Northwestern University Press.

Victory in the Kitchen

The Life of Churchill's Cook

Author: Annie Gray

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN:

Category: History

Page:

View: 768

This is the story of a woman who was not a royal, not rich, not famous, simply someone who worked hard and enjoyed her life. Beginning in 1882, she ranged through life in the country, life in the town, life in her own house, and in that of others. She travelled, married, had children and a highly successful career. For while Georgina Landemare saw herself as ordinary, her accomplishments, and the life she lived, were anything but. She started her career as a nursemaid, and ended it cooking for one of the best-known figures in British history, a man to whom food was central, not only as a pleasure by itself, but as a diplomatic tool in a time when the world was embroiled in a worldwide war. Victory in the Kitchen is a culinary biography: a life lived through food, ranging from rural Berkshire to wartime London, via Belle Epoque Paris and prohibition-era New York. Through one eager eater, and one skilled cook, Annie Gray contextualises twentieth century food through two figures who were both intimately involved with it. Recipes include Georgina's German Kougelhof, Curried Brains, macaroons, Boodles Orange, Mousse de Maple and 'Chocolat Cake Good'.

Discovering Words in the Kitchen

Author: Julian Walker

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 96

View: 263

Throughout history the English language has reflected social changes, trade routes, and waves of fashion. This book examines the histories of the names of foods, ingredients, utensils, drinks, cooking methods, and dishes to show how the vocabulary of English has reflected the ways speakers of the language have interacted with their tastes, their environment and other cultures. Approximately 250 words that have entered English language over the past fifteen hundred years are examined, ranging from Old English adoptions from Latin via French, to U.S. adoptions from Chinese. Changes of spelling and meaning and disagreements about the history of the words are discussed, supported by references within the text to authoritative food historians and dictionary writers from Johnson and Webster to the most recent publications.

The Pedant In The Kitchen

Author: Julian Barnes

Publisher: Atlantic Books Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 300

View: 517

The Pedant's ambition is simple. He wants to cook tasty, nutritious food; he wants not to poison his friends; and he wants to expand, slowly and with pleasure, his culinary repertoire. A stern critic of himself and others, he knows he is never going to invent his own recipes (although he might, in a burst of enthusiasm, increase the quantity of a favourite ingredient). Rather, he is a recipe-bound follower of the instructions of others. It is in his interrogations of these recipes, and of those who create them, that the Pedant's true pedantry emerges. How big, exactly, is a 'lump'? Is a 'slug' larger than a 'gout'? When does a 'drizzle' become a downpour? And what is the difference between slicing and chopping?This book is a witty and practical account of Julian Barnes' search for gastronomic precision. It is a quest that leaves him seduced by Jane Grigson, infuriated by Nigel Slater, and reassured by Mrs Beeton's Victorian virtues. The Pedant in the Kitchen is perfect comfort for anyone who has ever been defeated by a cookbook and is something that none of Julian Barnes' legion of admirers will want to miss.