Katie's Kitchen

A compelling saga of betrayal and a mother’s love

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 266

View: 180

As the Great War looms, can a young woman hope to build a new life? Dee Williams writes an engrossing saga in Katie's Kitchen - the story of a young mother's escape from the past, only to be threatened by the horror of the First World War. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Annie Murray. 'A gem, a warm and compulsive read' - Coventry Evening Telegraph When her friend and business partner Edwin Brown dies it seems as if Katherine Carter's own world has ended. Not only has her closest companion been taken from her, she's also lost the successful restaurant they built up together, as well as the comfortable home they shared with her young son. Now all this has been snatched away, for Edwin has left no will and his lecherous brother Gerald presumes he's inherited Katherine along with the house. With little money but full of determination, Katherine escapes Gerald's violent advances and takes lodgings in Rotherhithe, with her cook's sister, Milly. Despite its poverty, Docklands London is full of hope and friendship and, in helping her new neighbours through their difficulties, Katherine finally begins to tackle her troubled past. But even as she rebuilds her life around the pie-and-mash shop where she works, a terrible shadow is hanging over the country. And little does anyone know the horrors 1914 will unleash... What readers are saying about Katie's Kitchen: 'Brilliant storyline - kept me up late wanting to know what happens next' 'This book is brilliant. Gives you a great insight into war in everyday lives - a great story line and great characters. A must read' 'Five stars'

Devlin

Author: Barbara Freethy

Publisher: Fog City Publishing, LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 230

View: 966

Meet the Blackthorne men, each one as hot, fast, and smooth as the whisky that built the family fortune, and the yachts and race cars that bear their name. From proud Scottish stock, Blackthornes never lose. But, one by one, the seven sexy men in this family are about to risk everything when they fall for strong and beautiful women who test their mettle in life…and love. Devlin – Book One As the second Blackthorne son, Devlin usually likes to stay out of the family drama, but with his family suddenly falling apart, he has one way to bring them back together. He wants to win the Southern Maine Sailing Invitational, like his father and uncle before him. He has built the fastest boat, he has planned for every contingency, except one…a beautiful blonde determined to beat him and avenge a family betrayal. Hannah Reid is tired of watching the Blackthornes win races on boats built by her dad, especially after the family patriarch fired her father. She has only one way to get revenge, win the race. Unfortunately, Devlin Blackthorne is standing in her way. She wants to hate him, but Devlin's love of the sea and brave, adventurous spirit mirrors her own, and she begins to realize that this sexy, charming man is hurting, too. As they race to the finish, battling strong winds and family loyalty, Hannah and Devlin wonder if winning each other wouldn't be the greatest win of all… Don't miss these sexy, heartwarming, emotion-filled books by seven bestselling authors: Barbara Freethy, Julia London, Lynn Raye Harris, Cristin Harber, Roxanne St. Claire, Samantha Chase and Christie Ridgway. Devlin #1 – Barbara Freethy Jason #2 – Julia London Ross #3 – Lynn Raye Harris Phillip #4 – Cristin Harber Brock #5 – Roxanne St. Claire Logan #6 – Samantha Chase Trey #7 – Christie Ridgway What the readers are saying about Devlin! "I loved this book! Barbara Freethy never fails to deliver a story filled with complex characters, great dialogue, beautiful scenery and wonderful plots. Freethy has got this series off to a flying start, and I can’t wait to read the rest. Another 5-star read devoured in one sitting ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️" Book Lovers Anonymous "This is a quick enjoyable read with sharp, likeable, passionate characters. Its a fun book and a great beginning to what promises to be an excellent series. Don't miss it!" Trude – Goodreads "I binge read this book. Seriously, I didn’t even get out of my PJ’s until I was finished. I loved everything about this story. The setting, the family dynamics and of course Devlin Blackthorne himself. I’m anxious for the next book, I can’t wait to see what’s next for the Blackthorne’s. I highly recommend!" Tammy – Goodreads "Passion, competition, family relationships, renewed friendships, and chemistry bring Devlin and Hannah together. A heartwarming book full of emotion and passion- another winner by Batbara Freethy and an engrossing start to the series. I loved it!" Kristen - Goodreads PRAISE FOR BARBARA FREETHY BOOKS: "A fabulous, page-turning combination of romance and intrigue. Fans of Nora Roberts and Elizabeth Lowell will love this book." — NYT Bestselling Author Kristin Hannah on Golden Lies "This book has it all: heart, community, and characters who will remain with you long after the book has ended. A wonderful story." — NYT Bestselling Author Debbie Macomber on Suddenly One Summer "In the tradition of LaVyrle Spencer, gifted author Barbara Freethy creates an irresistible tale of family secrets, riveting adventure and heart- touching romance." — NYT Bestselling Author Susan Wiggs on Summer Secrets "A warm and wonderful book about love, family and everything that’s important in life. Irresistible! I loved it!" — NYT Bestselling Author Susan Elizabeth Phillips on Ask Mariah