It Will Just Be Us

A Novel

Author: Jo Kaplan

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 360

A terrifying new gothic horror novel about two sisters and a haunted house that never sleeps, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle. They say there's a door in Wakefield that never opens... Sam Wakefield's ancestral home, a decaying mansion built on the edge of a swamp, isn't a place for children. Its labyrinthine halls, built by her mad ancestors, are filled with echoes of the past: ghosts and memories knotted together as one. In the presence of phantoms, it's all Sam can do to disentangle past from present in her daily life. But when her pregnant sister Elizabeth moves in after a fight with her husband, something in the house shifts. Already navigating her tumultuous relationship with Elizabeth, Sam is even more unsettled by the appearance of a new ghost: a faceless boy who commits disturbing acts--threatening animals, terrorizing other children, and following Sam into the depths of the house wielding a knife. When it becomes clear the boy is connected to a locked, forgotten room, one which is never entered, Sam realizes this ghost is not like the others. This boy brings doom... As Elizabeth's due date approaches, Sam must unravel the mysteries of Wakefield before her sister brings new life into a house marked by death. But as the faceless boy grows stronger, Sam will learn that some doors should stay closed--and some secrets are safer locked away forever.

Christmas at Emelia's

Author: Lexi Buchanan

Publisher: HFCA Publishing House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 492

This Christmas join the De La Fuentes and McKenzies in Blossom Creek as they celebrate the grand opening of Emelia’s Restaurant. Over twenty years after Levi De La Fuente's parents opened the first Emelia’s, Levi and his cousin Ryan are getting ready to open a second location. Emma De La Fuente manages the first Emelia’s in Essex, Vermont for her parents. She’s in town to assist her brother and cousin in getting the new restaurant ready for its grand opening. However, she didn’t plan on the strong attraction she feels toward the town Sheriff. The man with his sweet words and heated looks has managed to derail her plans on returning home. While his sister is distracted, Levi finds himself in need of rescuing from a rather embarrassing situation. Luckily for him, Vivien Taylor, owner of Temptations, Blossom Creek’s handmade chocolate store, appears just at the right time. If only he didn’t crave the sweet woman, then maybe, this situation wouldn’t be so awkward. Blossom Creek just might be warm enough to melt the snow this holiday season.

Grandfather Is that You?

Author: Cliff Holt

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 42

View: 547

A teenager in a Lancashire town learns from his Grandfather that he must to go back in time to fulfil a family cycle. A light hearted fantasy with serious undertones. Does he go or does he stay. If he goes, could he change the past? If he stays, what will happen now! The potential for a cataclysmic change in the history of mankind is enormous.

JBI: Just Be It: This Precious Moment

Author: Randy Johnson

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page:

View: 481

An exploration of insights into the relationship of language and how it facilitates our movement to the unified experience. In a day where we create violence from smaller circles of belonging and from desires to act upon an object perceived as separate from us, the 'felt' sense of our interconnection offers guidance in the face of impermanence. Using Just Be it as linguistic facilitator to the unified experience aims to assist others in the practice of increased awareness and gratitude for the opportunity to participate without harm.

Vile Things

Extreme Deviations of Horror

Author: Ramsey Campbell

Publisher: Red Room Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 212

View: 942

Vile Things is the ultimate collection of extreme horror with 15 unspeakably gruesome, cringe-worthy, and sometimes disturbingly hilarious tales. and above all else an entertaining and damn good, fun read. The stories, most of which are previously unpublished, include a wide range of subjects: the Jersey Devil, zombies, sadistic Nazis, insatiable ghouls, perverted fishermen, a cult of Basilisk, tequila worms, and much more! FANGORIA MAGAZINE REVIEW "This book is not just your basic horror stories. This is extreme shit...Edited by Cheryl Mullenax, VILE THINGS: EXTREME DEVIATIONS OF HORROR is not for the light horror fan. The stories are not just extreme horror, but also extreme gore and sex…a triple threat of fun in my eyes...This book is a definite for any extreme horror fan. Full of terror, sex, and gore, I don’t recommend this for the faint of heart or for a light read at a beauty salon." MONSTER LIBRARIAN REVIEW "Vile Things is one of the stronger horror anthologies I have come across in some time... I would say that while there are definitely some stronger and gorier stories in this collection than in other horror anthologies, Vile Things offers some excellent horror tales and is highly recommended for public libraries." RUE MORGUE MAGAZINE REVIEW "The most striking fiction is often rooted directly in reality, and this is especially true for the stories found in Vile Things. Most of these tales, collected by editor Cheryl Mullenax, begin with plausible, everyday situations and then darken quickly to trap the reader in twisted supernatural plotlines that teem with the imagination's most repulsive creations, including parasitic mutations, a spate of festering fungal rashes and many other rancid and, well, vile things...But dismembered members aside, there are no cheap gross-outs here; even though the focus is clearly on the vile and unpalatable these don't feel like stories that were written with the sole purpose of being labeled "extreme horror" or to merely revel in their graphic, gory descriptions. Simply put, Vile Things is every deviant horror fan's wet dream."

Fractured

Author: Sandra Windsor

Publisher: Abbott Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 296

View: 461

“It’s just a move,” her father said. Her mother shrugged. Sarah cried. Fourteen and her dream country club life shattered. It’s not just a move, it’s a move to a farm with fields and animals and miles of dusty roads between farmhouses. She isn’t even part of a town. Neither is her mother. These two lives move in parallel as each negotiates change within the confines of the 1950s Midwest mores. A perfect family: executive father, trophy wife, two daughters until this move rips the scabs off the marriage and fractures the family structure. “Readers will be swept away by FRACTURED, a timeless coming-of-age novel with an unforgettable heroine. Set in the 1950s, the novel evokes a more innocent time, but Sandra Windsor has a few plot twists up her sleeve that show the darkness hiding behind even the most perfect-seeming family. Windsor is a masterful storyteller with remarkable insight into the human condition. This novel is full of heart.”

The Burning Ones

Calling Forth a Generation of Dread Champions

Author: Jerame Nelson

Publisher: Destiny Image Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 192

View: 437

Burning Ones is a call to action. Christians will be encouraged and motivated to consider seriously stepping in the role of “burning ones” and “dread champions” to spread the Kingdom of God in the earth. Vivid and detailed descriptions of these champions are given throughout the book, supported with biblical examples and modern-day personal experiences, including real-life healings worldwide. Each of the seven chapters concludes with “Burning Questions” designed to stimulate thought and action, followed by a space for the reader to record “Your Response.” A “Prayer to Get You There” connects the reader with the Lord in a genuine way that caps the vital issues covered in the chapter.

The Dreaming Land I

The Challenge

Author: E.P. Clark

Publisher: Helia Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 570

View: 765

All’s fair in war. But what about love? If you liked the Kushiel series or The Priory of the Orange Tree, check out this sweeping epic starring a bisexual warrior princess with a taste for dominance! Valya is a warrior. It is her strong will that holds the steppe, the freest, wildest, most war-like of the provinces of Zem’, and it is her strong sword that defends it from raiders. But now, as a growing demand for Zemnian slaves threatens her people, a call from the Empress in Krasnograd requires Valya to leave her native land behind and take up her other duty, as unpopular heir to the Wooden Throne. In order to save her beloved Zem’ from the enemies both outside and inside its borders, Valya must find out what secrets her sister princesses are keeping, face up to her scandal-ridden past, and woo the son of the woman she hates most in the world. Valya believes that all is fair in war, but in love she’s not so sure. With the fate of her family and her country riding on her shoulders, though, there may not be time for scruples. A continuation of the story begun in the award-winning novels The Midnight Land and The Breathing Sea, The Dreaming Land I: The Challenge is the first installment of the concluding trilogy of this epic saga about the matrilineal world of Zem’, where trees walk, animals talk, and women rule. This subversive blend of high fantasy and literary fiction will appeal to fans of classical Russian literature and contemporary fantasy alike. With discussion questions at end. Reading order of the Zemnian Series: The Zemnian Series: Slava’s Story The Midnight Land I: The Flight The Midnight Land II: The Gift The Zemnian Series: Dasha’s Story The Breathing Sea I: Burning The Breathing Sea II: Drowning The Zemnian Series: Valya’s Story The Dreaming Land I: The Challenge The Dreaming Land II: The Journey The Dreaming Land III: The Sacrifice