In the Empire of Shadow

Author: Lawrence Watt-Evans

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 666

Pel Brown knew nothing about parallel universes, let alone travel between them. Then he stepped through a portal that appeared in his basement - and his life turned upside down. That first inexplicable doorway took him into a magic world called Faerie, ruled by the evil and mysterious Shadow. Another portal provided escape to a world of science and spaceships - and ruthless space pirates plundering the Galactic Empire. Imperial forces rescued Pel. They would even send him home - but only after he returned to Faerie and destroyed Shadow. And so, with wizards, spacemen, and swordsmen as his unlikely allies, Pel set out to beard the enemy in its stronghold. But real life is what happens while you're making other plans - as Pel learned when he uncovered his malign foe's true nature...

The Empire of Shadows

Author: Richard E. Crabbe

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 370

New York City, August 1889: within sight of Madison Square Park, a man lays dead in a darkened construction site. Jim Tupper, a Mohawk of the Iroquois nation, stands over the body. Within minutes he's seen. And as police whistles scream in the night, he runs, knowing there is but one place to hide. With the police hounding him, Tupper makes his way back to the place he knows best-the vast, unsettled Adirondack wilderness. What he finds upon his return is both familiar and strange, a homeland torn by forces from within and without. But after surviving a deadly chase through the streets, back alleys, and underworld haunts of a teeming lower Manhattan, he is home, and Tupper sinks beneath the surface of the Adirondack forest, blending back into the landscape of his youth. But he has left a trail of death behind, a trail leading dangerously close to a fantastic luxury hotel deep in the heart of the wilderness where Captain Tom Braddock and his family are vacationing. Worlds collide when Tom's son becomes the prime suspect in the murder of a young maid at the hotel. To clear him, Braddock has no choice but to find the illusive Indian, a man who knows the forest as well as Tom knows the streets. Determined to catch Tupper no matter the cost, Braddock launches an epic chase through more than a hundred miles of Adirondack lakes, rivers and forest, his guide the legendary Mitchell Sabattis. But not all in the Adirondacks is as it appears. Powerful forces have been set in motion, and as developers make manifest their need to rein in the wilderness, Tom too wonders what the vast forests might hold. Will he find the clues he needs to exonerate his son and put a killer behind bars? Or will the great forest smother its secrets in shadow until its price has been paid in blood?

Empire of Shadows

The Epic Story of Yellowstone

Author: George Black

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 560

View: 629

"George Black rediscovers the history and lore of one of the planet's most magnificent landscapes. Read Empire of Shadows, and you'll never think of our first—in many ways our greatest—national park in the same way again." —Hampton Sides, author of Blood and Thunder Empire of Shadows is the epic story of the conquest of Yellowstone, a landscape uninhabited, inaccessible and shrouded in myth in the aftermath of the Civil War. In a radical reinterpretation of the nineteenth century West, George Black casts Yellowstone's creation as the culmination of three interwoven strands of history - the passion for exploration, the violence of the Indian Wars and the "civilizing" of the frontier - and charts its course through the lives of those who sought to lay bare its mysteries: Lt. Gustavus Cheyney Doane, a gifted but tormented cavalryman known as "the man who invented Wonderland"; the ambitious former vigilante leader Nathaniel Langford; scientist Ferdinand Hayden, who brought photographer William Henry Jackson and painter Thomas Moran to Yellowstone; and Gen. Phil Sheridan, Civil War hero and architect of the Indian Wars, who finally succeeded in having the new National Park placed under the protection of the US Cavalry. George Black1s Empire of Shadows is a groundbreaking historical account of the origins of America1s majestic national landmark.

Empire of Shadows

The House of Crimson & Clover Volume 7

Author: Sarah M. Cradit

Publisher: Sarah M. Cradit

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 750

View: 917

Dive into the secret, ancient, powerful world of two New Orleans families, the Deschanels and the Sullivans… From USA Today bestselling paranormal author Sarah M. Cradit comes Empire of Shadows, Volume 7 in the bestselling witches family saga, The House of Crimson & Clover. Two dynasties clash for power. Only one empire can emerge. In a time now legend, a sacred vow united the Farværdig and the Tuatha Dé Danann. One race born of fire, the other risen from nature. Together, they enjoyed centuries of peace and prosperity, under the protective blanket of this hallowed oath. But when war came to the doorstep of the Tuatha, the Farværdig turned their backs. Expelled from their lands, those Tuatha who were not extinguished went into hiding, later re-emerging in secret as the Quinlans. The broken vow took its toll on the Farværdig, dividing the race into two factions: those willing to fall to heel of new restrictive laws, and rebels determined to restore the peaceful values of their kind. In the midst of years of strife that follows, a Prophecy emerged, promising hope. Unite the races once more, and right the ancient wrong. As the shadows of age and myth are exposed, the Deschanels find themselves deeply enmeshed in this war. Their bloodline and futures closely intertwined with both races, each member of the family must uncover their own vital role in fulfilling the Prophecy or risk decimation. The Saga of Crimson & Clover:A sprawling dynasty. An ancient bloodline. A world of magic and mayhem. Welcome to the Saga of Crimson & Clover, where all series within are linked but can be equally enjoyed on their own. Visit www.sarahmcradit.com for the latest information, news, and updates. Search terms: witches, wizards, family of witches, New Orleans, Louisiana, Southern Gothic, complex characters, wealthy families, sorcery, magic, paranormal romance, romance, love triangle, forbidden love, norse gods, Norway, Wales, Ireland, fae, faeries, Celtic lore, coming of age, druid, bestseller, bestselling, USA Today bestseller.

Empire of the Moghul: Traitors in the Shadows

Author: Alex Rutherford

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 780

TRAITORS IN THE SHADOWS is the sixth gripping novel in the action-packed Empire of the Moghul series by Alex Rutherford, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Robyn Young. 'Totally absorbing... Authentic characters and sweeping action' Wilbur Smith A dynasty at war A new emperor, Aurangzeb, sits on India's glittering Peacock Throne - the throne he seized from his father while the old emperor still lived. He has paid for it with blood: during the brutal civil war he hunted down and killed his brothers. Now he must return the Moghul Empire to the true path and achieve new glory. But the exercise of great power is isolating. With enemies everywhere, who should he trust? Certainly not his sons. He must rely on himself and the knowledge that there are more ways to subdue a man than on the battlefield. But as the years pass memories haunt him - memories of a father who never loved him and a mother who lies in the Taj Mahal; of murdered brothers and of sons and daughters locked in sunless prisons. He tells himself that everything he has done has been necessary - moral, even. But how will his God judge him?

Shadows of the Empire: Star Wars Legends

Author: Steve Perry

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 602

Shadows of the Empire illuminates the shadowy outlines of a criminal conspiracy that exists in the background of the events in the movies, ruled by a character new to us. Prince Xizor is a mastermind of evil who dares to oppose one of the best-known fictional villains of all time: Darth Vader. The story involves all the featured Star Wars movie characters, plus Emperor Palpatine and, of course, Lord Vader himself. Features a bonus section following the novel that includes a primer on the Star Wars expanded universe, and over half a dozen excerpts from some of the most popular Star Wars books of the last thirty years!

America in the Shadow of Empires

Author: D. Coates

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Political Science

Page: 267

View: 792

The focus of the book is the cost of empire, particularly the cost in the American case – the internal burden of American global leadership. The book builds an argument about the propensity of external responsibilities to undermine the internal strength, raising the question of the link between weakening and the global spread of American power.

In the Shadow of Empire

Austrian Experiences of Modernity in the Writings of Musil, Roth, and Bachmann

Author: Malcolm Spencer

Publisher: Camden House

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 254

View: 832

The first book to consider together the responses of the great Austrian writers Musil, Roth, and Bachmann to the crisis of modernity.

The Empire of the Stars

Author: Alison Baird

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 314

Baird, a fresh new voice in the tradition of Marion Zimmer Bradley, follows up "The Stone of the Stars" with this second installment of her Dragon Throne trilogy of adventure, magic, and mythic beasts.