I’m Absolutely Fine!

A Manual for Imperfect Women

Author: Annabel Rivkin & Emilie McMeekan of The Midult

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 246

'I have been waiting for this book my entire life. It's brilliant.' - Claudia Winkleman 'A genius book. So funny, so wise, so cool and above all so USEFUL. I couldn't love it more. I am buying it for every one of my friends.' - India Knight 'I'm absolutely fine but I slightly need to pee, I followed the road less travelled and now I don't know where the hell I am, I may bleed to death shaving my legs, my soul aches, another week has ended without me becoming accidentally rich, I just put my keys in the fridge, unexpected object in the bagging area, I'll have a café mocha vodka Valium latte to go please, where's my phone? My anxieties have anxieties, no... not like that - here, I'll do it, do I have to do everything? WTF?' Is it just me? We gnaw on that, don't we? Is it just me? Well, look around. Look at the rage, the resolution, the 'hear me roar', the panic, the power, the chin hairs, the shame, the empathy, the conversation, the sheer potential. Welcome to Midulthood. A place where we recognise that we are all more alike than we are unalike. Of course it's not just you. If we're not in it together, we're not in it at all... From sex (What Could Possibly Go Wrong) to self-image (Does This Straightjacket Make Me Look Fat?), I'm Absolutely Fine is a wry look at real life, real wisdom and real information framed in fun.

I'm Absolutely Fine!

A Manual for Imperfect Women

Author: ANNABEL RIVKIN & EMILIE MCMEEKAN OF THE. MIDULT

Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 256

View: 501

I'm absolutely fine but I slightly need to pee, I followed the road less travelled and now I don't know where the hell I am, I may bleed to death shaving my legs, I just ate the fridge, my soul aches, ducking hell, my sock is slipping off inside my shoe, another week has ended without me becoming accidentally rich, I just put my keys in the fridge, my jeans hate me, unexpected object in the bagging area, I haven't slept since 2012, I've got road rage, I'll have a café mocha vodka valium latte to go please, where's my phone? My anxieties have anxieties, no... not like that - here, I'll do it, do I have to do everything? WTF? Is it just me? We gnaw on that, don't we? Is it just me? Well, look around. Look at the egg-freezing, the brain freezing, the soul freezing, the terror, the Tinder, the rage, the resolution, the 'hear me roar', the panic, the power, the regret, the chin hairs, the hyper-connectedness, the divorce, the shame, the empathy, the conversation, the sheer potential. Welcome to Midulthood: a place where we recognise that we are all more alike than we are unalike. Of course it's not just you. If we're not in it together, we're not in it at all...

Who is Tom Ditto?

The feelgood comedy with a mystery at its heart

Author: Danny Wallace

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 869

Tom got a note from his girlfriend. It says she hasn't left him, but she's gone. But where the hell is she? When is she coming back? And what is Tom supposed to do in the meantime? With each new clue to Hayley’s whereabouts, Tom is forced to question whether he truly knows his girlfriend at all. Because who is Hayley really, anyway? Who is this other strange girl following him? And who, for that matter, is Tom Ditto? A laugh out loud high concept love story with a mystery at its heart, for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls from the bestselling author of Yes Man and F*** You Very Much What people are saying about Who is Tom Ditto?: 'Danny Wallace at his very best: funny, assured and relentlessly clever. A brilliant novel' John Niven 'A terrific novel...the plot is wild and unexpected, with a dash of sinister, and it's incredibly funny' The Times 'Wallace is adept at capturing the nuances of the mundane and the ridiculous, while being incredibly funny' Stylist 'A hilarious and fresh take on modern life. Brilliantly written' Heat

It's All Absolutely Fine

Life Is Complicated So I've Drawn It Instead

Author: Ruby Elliot

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 853

It’s All Absolutely Fine is an honest and unapologetic account of day-to-day life as a groaning, crying, laughing sentient potato being for whom things are often absolutely not fine. Through simple, humorous drawings and a few short narratives, the book encompasses everything from mood disorders, anxiety, and issues with body image through to existential conversations with dogs and some unusually articulate birds. With each chapter a particular set of struggles is picked up, looked at, and squished about a bit using visuals before being put down again with a little more resolve. Problems related to mental health that can be very devastating and even isolating are discussed openly in a way people are often told not to, but this is as much a book about the human emotional experience that touches all of us as it is about mental health. Through the drawings, the reader is shown that it is okay to struggle, and that it is okay to talk about struggling, to not undermine oneself by yelling ‘it’s fine’ when it isn’t, and while all this is going on to know that it is absolutely possible to hold on to hope, and of course humor. Building on Rubyetc's huge online presence, It's All Absolutely Fine includes mostly new material, both written and illustrated, and is inspirational, empowering, and entertaining. Hope and tenacity abound in this book that is as heartening as it is hilarious.

Dancing in the Dark

My Struggle

Author: Karl Ove Knausgaard

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 436

A beautiful, funny, vital novel of teenage years and teenage mistakes from the international phenomenon, Karl Ove Knausgaard Fresh out of high school, Karl Ove moves to a remote fishing village to work as a teacher. He has no interest in the job itself – or in any other job for that matter, his sole aim is to save money and start writing. All goes well to begin with but as the nights grow longer, his life takes a darker turn. Drinking causes him blackouts, his repeated attempts at losing his virginity end in humiliation, and to his own great distress he develops romantic feelings towards one of his 13-year-old students. And all the while the shadow of his father looms large. ‘Beautifully human... Being drawn into Knausgaard’s world is an ineluctable pleasure’ The Times

Vidal

The Autobiography

Author: Vidal Sassoon

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 520

Vidal Sassoon's extraordinary life has taken him from an impoverished East End childhood to global fame. The father of modern hairdressing, his slick sharp cutting took the fashion world by storm and reinvented the hairdressers' art. Before Vidal Sassoon, a trip to the hairdressers meant a shampoo and set or a stiffly lacquered up-do that would last a week - or more. After Vidal Sassoon, hair was sleek, smooth and very, very stylish. Along with his lifelong friend and partner in style, Mary Quant, who he first met in 1957 and who to this day sports a Sassoon-style geometric bob, he styled the 1960s. As memorable as the mini - be it car or skirt - he is one of the few people who can genuinely be described as iconic. His memoirs are as rich in anecdote as one might hope and full of surprising and often moving stories of his early life - his time at the Spanish & Portuguese Jewish Orphanage in Maida Vale, fighting Fascists in London's East End and fighting in the army of the fledgling state of Israel in the late Forties. And then there's the extraordinary career, during which he cut the hair of everyone who was anyone, launched salons all over the world, founded the hairdressing school that still bears his name and became a global brand, with Vidal Sassoon products on all our bathroom shelves.

The Storm

Author: Virginia Bergin

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 185

I'll tell you a weird thing about apocalypses – a thing I didn't even know until I was in one: they seem pretty bad, don't they? Well, take it from me: they can always get worse. Three months after the killer rain first fell, Ruby is beginning to realize her father might be dead . . . and that she cannot survive alone. When a chance encounter lands her back in the army camp, Ruby thinks she is safe - at a price. Being forced to live with Darius Spratt is bad enough, but if Ruby wants to stay she must keep her eyes - and her mouth – shut. It's not going to happen. When she realizes what is going on - the army is trying to find a cure by experimenting on human subjects - Ruby flips out . . . and makes an even more shocking discovery: she's not useless at all. The Storm begins . . .

Male Gaze

Author: Joe Treasure

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 910

David Parker’s new start in LA isn’t going entirely as he had hoped. London feels a million miles away, and even his loving marriage is beginning to look shaky. Drawn, through an alcoholic haze, into the orbit of Astrid and her friends, he spends a night on Malibu Beach that shocks him to the core. With the stakes suddenly raised, David must get his bearings: in love, in the city, and in a new century that seems to be imploding. Funny, deadly, and bristling with energy, this is the story of a man who loses life as he knows it – and sets out to find it again. 'Very funny, sparky and stylish. You won't be putting this book down' Independent on Sunday ‘A unique, persuasive voice. His is a name to watch’ Time Out ‘Scorching. Dark and sad, but equally smart and funny’ Elle

The Fish Finger Years

Author: Fiona Gibson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 288

View: 255

If you have an embarrassing child who bursts into friends' houses announcing 'It stinks in here' or shouts 'why is that man so fat?' on the bus (and not a spooky child who replaces felt-tip lids and enjoys dusting) then this book is for you. Self-confessed imperfect mum Fiona Gibson blends her own hilarious tales of raising three children with anecdotes and nuggets of advice from 300 fellow parents who admit they too get things wrong occasionally. Stories and tips cover a huge range of parenting dilemmas, from 'what to do if your child has a screaming, plank-rigid wobbler in M&S, and everyone's giving you Bad Parent looks' and 'how to handle a foul-mouthed monster obsessed with the toilet parts of horses' to 'sex: should you make the effort or just not bother?'. Above all, this funny, refreshingly honest look at being a real-life mum will come as a welcome reminder that yours is not the only family who can't go to Ikea without tears, tantrums and the threat of divorce...

One Seriously Messed-Up Week

in the Otherwise Mundane and Uneventful Life of Jack Samsonite

Author: Tom Clempson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 540

Our hero? Jack Samsonite His mission? 1) pass his GCSEs 2) get the girl (to notice he exists) 3) survive the week without a serious face punching Good thing he's got a plan. Well, half a plan...