I’m Absolutely Fine!

A Manual for Imperfect Women

Author: Annabel Rivkin & Emilie McMeekan of The Midult

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 622

'I have been waiting for this book my entire life. It's brilliant.' - Claudia Winkleman 'A genius book. So funny, so wise, so cool and above all so USEFUL. I couldn't love it more. I am buying it for every one of my friends.' - India Knight 'I'm absolutely fine but I slightly need to pee, I followed the road less travelled and now I don't know where the hell I am, I may bleed to death shaving my legs, my soul aches, another week has ended without me becoming accidentally rich, I just put my keys in the fridge, unexpected object in the bagging area, I'll have a café mocha vodka Valium latte to go please, where's my phone? My anxieties have anxieties, no... not like that - here, I'll do it, do I have to do everything? WTF?' Is it just me? We gnaw on that, don't we? Is it just me? Well, look around. Look at the rage, the resolution, the 'hear me roar', the panic, the power, the chin hairs, the shame, the empathy, the conversation, the sheer potential. Welcome to Midulthood. A place where we recognise that we are all more alike than we are unalike. Of course it's not just you. If we're not in it together, we're not in it at all... From sex (What Could Possibly Go Wrong) to self-image (Does This Straightjacket Make Me Look Fat?), I'm Absolutely Fine is a wry look at real life, real wisdom and real information framed in fun.

I'm Absolutely Fine!

A Manual for Imperfect Women

Author: ANNABEL RIVKIN & EMILIE MCMEEKAN OF THE. MIDULT

Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 256

View: 926

I'm absolutely fine but I slightly need to pee, I followed the road less travelled and now I don't know where the hell I am, I may bleed to death shaving my legs, I just ate the fridge, my soul aches, ducking hell, my sock is slipping off inside my shoe, another week has ended without me becoming accidentally rich, I just put my keys in the fridge, my jeans hate me, unexpected object in the bagging area, I haven't slept since 2012, I've got road rage, I'll have a café mocha vodka valium latte to go please, where's my phone? My anxieties have anxieties, no... not like that - here, I'll do it, do I have to do everything? WTF? Is it just me? We gnaw on that, don't we? Is it just me? Well, look around. Look at the egg-freezing, the brain freezing, the soul freezing, the terror, the Tinder, the rage, the resolution, the 'hear me roar', the panic, the power, the regret, the chin hairs, the hyper-connectedness, the divorce, the shame, the empathy, the conversation, the sheer potential. Welcome to Midulthood: a place where we recognise that we are all more alike than we are unalike. Of course it's not just you. If we're not in it together, we're not in it at all...

It's All Absolutely Fine

Life is complicated, so I've drawn it instead

Author: Ruby Elliot

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 181

IT'S ALL ABSOLUTELY FINE is a darkly comic, honest and unapologetic account of daily struggles with mental health and what it's like trying to be a person when you feel like a potato. This book walks readers through the ups, downs and sideways of life, illuminating very real problems, all with Ruby's trademark originality and humour. It's an empowering book that will make you think, make you laugh, and make things that little bit more ok.

Who is Tom Ditto?

The feelgood comedy with a mystery at its heart

Author: Danny Wallace

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 910

Tom got a note from his girlfriend. It says she hasn't left him, but she's gone. But where the hell is she? When is she coming back? And what is Tom supposed to do in the meantime? With each new clue to Hayley’s whereabouts, Tom is forced to question whether he truly knows his girlfriend at all. Because who is Hayley really, anyway? Who is this other strange girl following him? And who, for that matter, is Tom Ditto? A laugh out loud high concept love story with a mystery at its heart, for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls from the bestselling author of Yes Man and F*** You Very Much What people are saying about Who is Tom Ditto?: 'Danny Wallace at his very best: funny, assured and relentlessly clever. A brilliant novel' John Niven 'A terrific novel...the plot is wild and unexpected, with a dash of sinister, and it's incredibly funny' The Times 'Wallace is adept at capturing the nuances of the mundane and the ridiculous, while being incredibly funny' Stylist 'A hilarious and fresh take on modern life. Brilliantly written' Heat

Such Wicked Intent

The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, Book Two

Author: Kenneth Oppel

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 870

Devotion turns deadly in this second Gothic thriller from Printz Honor–winner Kenneth Oppel that is “every bit as thrilling and engaging” (VOYA) as This Dark Endeavor. When does obsession become madness? Tragedy has forced sixteen-year-old Victor Frankenstein to swear off alchemy forever. He burns the Dark Library. He vows he will never dabble in the dark sciences again—just as he vows he will no longer covet Elizabeth, his brother’s betrothed. If only these things were not so tempting. When he and Elizabeth discover a portal into the spirit world, they cannot resist. Together with Victor’s twin, Konrad, and their friend Henry, the four venture into a place of infinite possibilities where power and passion reign. But as they search for the knowledge to raise the dead, they unknowingly unlock a darkness from which they may never return.

Dancing in the Dark

My Struggle

Author: Karl Ove Knausgaard

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 861

A beautiful, funny, vital novel of teenage years and teenage mistakes from the international phenomenon, Karl Ove Knausgaard Fresh out of high school, Karl Ove moves to a remote fishing village to work as a teacher. He has no interest in the job itself – or in any other job for that matter, his sole aim is to save money and start writing. All goes well to begin with but as the nights grow longer, his life takes a darker turn. Drinking causes him blackouts, his repeated attempts at losing his virginity end in humiliation, and to his own great distress he develops romantic feelings towards one of his 13-year-old students. And all the while the shadow of his father looms large. ‘Beautifully human... Being drawn into Knausgaard’s world is an ineluctable pleasure’ The Times

We Are All Completely Fine

Author: Daryl Gregory

Publisher: Tachyon Publications

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 441

World Fantasy and Shirley Jackson Award Winner Harrison was the Monster Detective, a storybook hero. Now he’s in his mid-thirties and spends most of his time popping pills and not sleeping. Stan became a minor celebrity after being partially eaten by cannibals. Barbara is haunted by unreadable messages carved upon her bones. Greta may or may not be a mass-murdering arsonist. Martin never takes off his sunglasses. Never. No one believes the extent of their horrific tales, not until they are sought out by psychotherapist Dr. Jan Sayer. What happens when these seemingly-insane outcasts form a support group? Together they must discover which monsters they face are within—and which are lurking in plain sight.

Verboten

Author: Amelia Carter

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 286

View: 312

There was a story of a girl: a girl who fell in love with the wrong person; a girl who had so much power and she didn't even know it; a girl who almost destroyed the universe. She trusted a boy with her heart, hoping that everything would turn out okay in the end. It didn't. A girl. A song. A lover. A demon. A murder. But will she make the right choice the second time around?

No Place to Die

Author: Clare Donoghue

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 699

DS Jane Bennett takes charge of South London's Lewisham murder squad following the temporary suspension of her boss, DI Mike Lockyer. His involvement with a female witness resulted in her murder. Mike returns to work but he's a shadow of the detective he was a few months before. Bennett gets a desperate call from an old friend to say that her husband, retired colleague Mark Leech, has gone missing. Blood spatters found in the home suggest that she doesn't have long to find him. When Jane is sent to a site in Elmstead Woods she stumbles upon a sinister murder scene. A tomb has been created, and the body she finds is not Mark's - as she dreaded and suspected - but that of missing university student, Maggie Hungerford. Her killer recorded her last moments, even providing an air supply which was only cut off when the game lost its thrill. Two men admit to having had a sexual relationship with Maggie. Both deny murder. Someone is lying. And Mark is still missing. When another tomb is discovered, an anonymous tip and mounting evidence suggest a disturbing link which threatens to derail both cases and let a murderer walk free. Lockyer is shocked into supporting Bennett in a case which becomes ever more ominous and dangerous as the investigation deepens. They know that their hunt is for a killer with a mind so twisted that he, or she, is likely to stop at nothing.