I'll Be Seeing You

Author: Melody Carlson

Publisher: Christian Series Level III (24

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 500

View: 510

December 7, 1941, San Francisco is on high alert following the attack on Pearl Harbor and the Mulligan family is grappling with the news that Peter, beloved son and brother, is among the missing.

I’ll Be Seeing You

A Love Story

Author: JAMES T. BORN

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 170

View: 894

This is a true love story of a woman who walked through life's trials with God by her side. Her walk and faith in Jesus Christ manifests itself when she tells of her trials and tribulations, that she endured during World War II, Vietnam and during her almost 65 years of marriage to the same man. Her continued faith will inspire you, and help you to understand what you may need to do, when you are confronted with life's tragic and sometimes sudden events. She is of the "Greatest Generation" and her story, much of which is in her own words, will instill in you that courage that her generation had. This story was accomplished with historical perspective and with a feeling of deep religious conviction.

I'll Be Seeing You

Author: Suzanne Hayes

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 876

"I hope this letter gets to you quickly. We are always waiting, aren't we? Perhaps the greatest gift this war has given us is the anticipation…" It's January 1943 when Rita Vincenzo receives her first letter from Glory Whitehall. Glory is an effervescent young mother, impulsive and free as a bird. Rita is a sensible professor's wife with a love of gardening and a generous, old soul. Glory comes from New England society; Rita lives in Iowa, trying to make ends meet. They have nothing in common except one powerful bond: the men they love are fighting in a war a world away from home. Brought together by an unlikely twist of fate, Glory and Rita begin a remarkable correspondence. The friendship forged by their letters allows them to survive the loneliness and uncertainty of waiting on the home front, and gives them the courage to face the battles raging in their very own backyards. Connected across the country by the lifeline of the written word, each woman finds her life profoundly altered by the other's unwavering support. A collaboration of two authors whose own beautiful story mirrors that on the page, I'll Be Seeing You is a deeply moving union of style and charm. Filled with unforgettable characters and grace, it is a timeless celebration of friendship and the strength and solidarity of women.

I'll Be Seeing You

A whirlwind romance is tested by war and ambition

Author: Benita Brown

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 323

View: 234

Will the life she's always dreamed of bring her the happiness she needs? I'll Be Seeing You is a heartrending saga from Benita Brown of true love, the crippling effects of ambition and prejudice, and the onset of the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Dilly Court. Village girl Linda Bellwood has always been in awe of the glamorous Hylton family. So when they hire her as companion to the grandmother, she's thrilled. However, when her friendship with the youngest son Florian blossoms into something more, the rest of the family are not so welcoming. Disowned and thrown out, Linda and Florian escape to the city and struggle to keep afloat in the depths of bohemian London. With Florian squandering their money on his far-fetched dreams of becoming a writer, their relationship begins to unravel. But then war is declared and their troubles seem to pale in comparison with the challenges ahead... What readers are saying about I'll Be Seeing You: 'Well written and very hard to put down, thoroughly enjoyed it... Fabulous!' 'Another excellent read - touching and very enjoyable' 'This book was like a breath of fresh air'

I'll be Seeing You

Author: Dianne Castell

Publisher: Brava

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 293

View: 508

Everybody in Fallon's Landing remembers Quaid O'Fallon as the street-tough kid adopted by the tight-knit clan and made into one of their own. Quaid has spent the last few years working in the Coast Guard Search and Rescue in Alaska, but he's still got a hint of danger humming under the surface--and a heart fiercely loyal to the man who saved him, Rory O'Fallon. That's why he had to come back home. What he doesn't expect is to run into the only person who's ever cracked his armor, Cynthia James. His attraction to the single mom has lasted years even though they're worlds apart. She loves New York; he loves the River. She's Vogue; he's Field & Stream. She designs beautiful clothes; his job is fishing people out of dangerous waters. He may be a rough-and-tumble river man, but he's not about to let a second chance at his dream woman get away. Cynthia came home to Fallon's Landing in defeat after her smooth-talking husband ran her clothing business into the ground and left her with their son to raise. The last thing she needs is another man in her life, no matter how incredibly tempting he is. But Quaid's always been a fascination to her. She's wondered what those strong arms would feel like wrapped around her, or what ways a man that bold might have of pleasing a woman. He's all wrong for her, but once she shuts out the rest of the world and tastes Quaid's hungry kisses, all she can think about is just how right he feels.

I'll Be Seeing You

Author: Mary Higgins Clark

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 307

The murdered woman could have been her double. When reporter Meghan Collins sees the sheet-wrapped corpse in a New York City hospital, she feels as if she's staring into her own face. And Meghan has troubles enough already without this bizarre experience. Nine months ago, her much-loved father's car spun off a New York bridge. Now, investigators are saying that there's no trace of his car in the river, and they suspect he faked his own death. With frightening speed, links start to appear between Meghan's father and her dead lookalike. Meghan may be in danger herself, but she's determined to find the truth to the mystery. In a nightmare journey spiraling from New York to Connecticut to Arizona, Meghan finds that the truth can sometimes be deadly.

I'll Be Seeing You

Author: Margaret Mayhew

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 393

When Juliet Porter's mother dies, she leaves Juliet some old letters and a photograph which shatter all her previously-held beliefs. They show that her real father was an American bomber pilot in the second world war, some forty years before, and that he had met her mother while serving in England. Armed only with this photo, Juliet sets out to trace her real father, and eventually finds the airfield where he served. In 1943, Juliet's mother Daisy is in the WAAF and stationed at the airfield which is taken over by the American airmen at a moment's notice. She falls in love with a bomber pilot who is then posted missing, presumed dead; pregnant and grieving, she marries a long-term admirer only to discover, at the end of the war, that her pilot had survived...

I'll Be Seeing You

Author: Ben Baglio

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 212

View: 241

World War II came to the United States by surprise on a Sunday morning in a tropical paradise. America called upon her average sons and daughters to save her, and average gave way to heroism above and beyond the call. Ill Be Seeing You reintroduces the reader to the men and women A String of Pearls employed to tell the story of how revisionist history might have us reevaluate the Pearl Harbor raid. They are joined by new characters, some who wear the swastika and Rising Sun on their sleeves. The transition from civilian to soldier and from plowshare to sword is cast in the first critical months of war when the United States seemingly couldnt do anything right, to those first tentative and desperate battles where it could do nothing wrong, led by a core of soldiers and sailors who through each other learned how special the country they fought for really was. The reader watches Doolittles B-25s bolt from the Hornet to bomb Tokyo, flies with a heroic torpedo squadron at Midway, convulses with Marines on Guadalcanal, and witnesses German agents land on Long Island. Did it all have to happen as it did? What were the thoughts of Churchill and Roosevelt during these early days? Its a story that needs revisiting, as its lessons are relevant today.

Interpreting Popular Music

With a new preface by the author

Author: David Brackett

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 275

View: 959

There is a well-developed vocabulary for discussing classical music, but when it comes to popular music, how do we analyze its effects and its meaning? David Brackett draws from the disciplines of cultural studies and music theory to demonstrate how listeners form opinions about popular songs, and how they come to attribute a rich variety of meanings to them. Exploring several genres of popular music through recordings made by Billie Holiday, Bing Crosby, Hank Williams, James Brown, and Elvis Costello, Brackett develops a set of tools for looking at both the formal and cultural dimensions of popular music of all kinds.