I Miss Mummy

The True Story of a Frightened Young Girl Who Is Desperate to Go Home

Author: Cathy Glass

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 362

View: 277

In her new book, Cathy Glass, the no.1 bestselling author of Damaged, tells the story of the Alice, a young and vulnerable girl who is desperate to return home to her mother. Alice, aged four, is snatched by her mother the day she is due to arrive at Cathy's house. Drug-dependent and mentally ill, but desperate to keep hold of her daughter, Alice's mother snatches her from her parents' house and disappears. Cathy spends three anxious days worrying about her whereabouts before Alice is found safe, but traumatised. Alice is like a little doll, so young and vulnerable, and she immediately finds her place in the heart of Cathy's family. She talks openly about her mummy, who she dearly loves, and how happy she was living with her maternal grandparents before she was put into care. Alice has clearly been very well looked after and Cathy can't understand why she couldn't stay with her grandparents. It emerges that Alice's grandparents are considered too old (they are in their early sixties) and that the plan is that Alice will stay with Cathy for a month before moving to live with her father and his new wife. The grandparents are distraught Alice has never known her father, and her grandparents claim he is a violent drug dealer. Desperate to help Alice find the happy home she deserves, Cathy's parenting skills are tested in many new ways. Finally questions are asked about Alice's father suitability, and his true colours begin to emerge."

I Miss Mummy: Free Sampler

Author: Cathy Glass

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 50

View: 816

Discover the incredible memoirs of internationally bestselling author Cathy Glass with this free extended eBook sample of I Miss Mummy, the story of Alice, a young and vulnerable girl who is desperate to return home to her mother.

Mummydaddy

Author: Jeremy Howe

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 356

View: 132

In the summer of 1992, Jeremy Howe and his wife, Lizzie, were tending to last-minute holiday preparations. Lizzie was leaving to teach at a summer school before she could join Jeremy and their two daughters, Jessica, six and Lucy, four, at the seaside. That night, arriving at his mother’s in Suffolk, Jeremy managed to get the excited girls to go to sleep, irritated that their mother hadn't called to say goodnight as she had promised. Just after midnight the household was woken by a policeman who had come to tell them that Lizzie was dead. She had been murdered. Twenty years after that terrible night, Jeremy and his girls are not the people they might have been had Lizzie not died. They’re certainly different, but not damaged. This is the candid, heartrending story of how they got there, of how, faced with the worst thing that could possibly happen, they put their lives back together, bit by bit and piece by piece. It's a story of how Daddy became Mummydaddy and of the pitfalls along the way, from how on earth you decide what to tell your children about their mother's violent death to the practicalities of knowing what they like in their packed lunch; from helping your children to grieve when your own grief is so sharp it threatens to overwhelm you to making sure that they brush their teeth and comb their hair. It's a story full of tears, but also of love and family and redemption.

Friday's Child

The Heartbreaking Story of a Mother's Love and a Family's Loss

Author: Ben Palmer

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 449

In 2004, Jessica Palmer died suddenly of septicaemia, just six days after giving birth to her second child. Distraught, her husband Ben struggled to comprehend his loss and to care for their two young children. It later came to light that Jessica's condition can usually be easily detected and prevented but in this case nothing was done until it was too late. Ben and his family successfully sued the NHS for negligence in 2007. This is Ben's heartbreaking story of dealing with his grief while raising two small children as a single parent. As he tries to accept the idea of life without his beloved wife, he battles shock, grief, despair and guilt, before finally finding hope in the future, thanks to the love and support of his friends and family. It is a devastating story of living with a cruel and needless loss.

Children of the Light

Author: Karen Wood

Publisher: Author House

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 176

View: 527

When your loved ones go to Spirit we all have questions. When a child has gone we have even more. Have you ever wondered how they are? What they are doing? Will they continue to develop? Will they forget you? Will they visit? Do they know about new arrivals? Special events? Do they have fun? You may just find the answers here. All the pieces and poems are the words of those in the Spirit World. I don't know the answers, but they do. As one child put it it isnt the end its our beginning They learn, they love, they have fun, and they are safe. They are also as mischievous, as bright and lively and as adorable as children the world over. Come and read their stories, their journeys to the Spirit World. Some of them did not have easy lives, some had illnesses, some accidents. All were met with love, with patience and with any help they needed at that time and later. Not all are children, but the majority are. I ask no questions, give no demands, I simply accept what I am told and write it down. I have learned to be very careful how I phrase any comments I make to them, or any requests. If I wake at three in the morning, I am likely to find myself with company. I have been known to say, Hi sweetheart, could you please come back when I get up? It isnt then the childs fault if I visit the bathroom at four in the morning is it? I am up and I dont have the heart to turn them away again. So atfour in the morning I have been known to get out pad and pen, or turn on the pc .

Saturdays at Noon

Author: Rachel Marks

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 740

'Wonderful, compassionate, unpredictable' GRAEME SIMSION, bestselling author of The Rosie Project 'Beautifully written and filled with emotion, I genuinely couldn't recommend Saturdays At Noon enough' ***** 'I loved this original, at times painful but truly thought-provoking book. A triumph' Sunday Times bestselling author Katie Fforde 'I loved this book. As in LOVED it' ***** _________ The heart-warming debut with a difference - perfect for fans of Half A World Away by Mike Gayle and The Rosie Project Emily just wants to keep the world away. After getting into trouble yet again, she's agreed to attend anger management classes. But she refuses to share her deepest secrets with a room full of strangers. Jake just wants to keep his family together. He'll do anything to save his marriage and bond with his six-year-old son, Alfie. But when he's paired with spiky Emily, he wonders whether opening up will do more harm than good. The two of them couldn't be more different. Yet when Alfie, who never likes strangers, meets Emily, something extraordinary happens. Could one small boy change everything? THE STUNNING DEBUT WITH A DIFFERENCE. Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, Half A World Away by Mike Gayle and The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary _________ What readers are saying . . . 'This is such a special book . . . the characters jump off the page and pull you immediately into their world' ***** NetGalley Reader Review 'This book was FANTASTIC. When I wasn't reading it I couldn't stop thinking about it' ***** NetGalley Reader Review 'Outstanding. I have goosebumps typing this review . . . The story telling is the best I have read in a long time' ***** NetGalley Reader Review

The Mummy and Miss Nitocris

Author: George Griffith

Publisher: eStar Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 655

An adventure to another plane of existence! The Mummy and Miss Nitocriss: A Phantasy of the Fourth Dimension is a wild ride, a sci-fi novel with a cast of zany characters and unpredictable plot turns!

The Mummy and Miss Nitocris

Magical Creatures, A Weiser Books Collection

Author: George Chetwynd Griffith

Publisher: Weiser Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 223

View: 986

Varla Ventura, fan favorite on Huffington Post’s Weird News, frequent guest on Coast to Coast, and bestselling author of The Book of the Bizarre and Beyond Bizarre, introduces a new Weiser Books Collection of forgotten crypto-classics. Magical Creatures is a hair-raising herd of affordable digital editions, curated with Varla’s affectionate and unerring eye for the fantastic. What do you get when you mix a nutty professor, Egyptian mythology, time-travel, past life regression, a mysterious sarcophagus, and specters from another dimension? The Mummy and Miss Nitocris, of course! A tale of a misplaced mummy coming back to life in present day, this 1906 story was one of the foundational works of Egyptian themed horror and mysteries during the early part of the 20th century, when the excavation of Ancient Egypt was headline news. The author, George Chetwnyd Griffith, was a highly regarded Science Fiction and fantasy writer of the late Victorian and early Edwardian era whose illustrated short story A Honeymoon in Space was the first to create the archetype of Greys--space aliens with wide bald heads, dark almond eyes, and hyper intelligence. He died in 1906 of cirrhosis of the liver.