Hungry as the Sea

A Novel

Author: Wilbur Smith

Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 501

View: 114

Wilbur Smith sets his vividly realistic novels on the razor's edge between human courage and nature's wrath. In Hungry As The Sea, this master storyteller takes us to the frigid South Atlantic, where one man fights for his life-- and for redemption. Nicholas Berg is steaming out of Cape Town aboard the salvage tug Warlock. Once Berg ruled an ocean-going empire. Now, his future has come down to a powerful boat and a daring rescue mission. One of his former ships is being lashed against the cliffs of Cape Alarm, surrounded by deadly icebergs and survivors clinging to their boats. Berg has gambled everything on reaching the Golden Adventurer before a competitor and a violent storm-- to win a fortune in salvage fees. But if Nick Berg succeeds, and climbs back into the international shipping game, that's when the real danger will begin... From the power of a relentless ocean to the hunger of men to survive upon her, this is a towering novel of adventure, love and the daring of the human soul.

The Eye of the Tiger/ Hungry as the Sea

Author: Wilbur Smith

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 720

View: 152

THE EYE OF THE TIGER The deep. The deadly. The damned... For a thousand years, an unimaginable treasure has rested on the bottom of the Indian Ocean, hidden by swift blue currents, guarded by deadly coral reefs, and even deadlier school of man-eating great white sharks. Harry Fletcher, a former soldier turned fisherman, is now being pulled into a murderous mystery by men willing to kill and a beautiful woman willing to lie for what rests far beneath the sea. Now, Harry has no choice but to enter full bore into an international battle to raise an extraordinary object from the deep. Because possessing this treasure isn't just about getting rich--it's about staying alive... HUNGRY AS THE SEA Wilbur Smith sets his vividly realistic novels on the razor's edge between human courage and nature's wrath. In Hungry As The Sea, this master storyteller takes us to the frigid South Atlantic, where one man fights for his life-- and for redemption. Nicholas Berg is steaming out of Cape Town aboard the salvage tug Warlock. Once Berg ruled an ocean-going empire. Now, his future has come down to a powerful boat and a daring rescue mission. One of his former ships is being lashed against the cliffs of Cape Alarm, surrounded by deadly icebergs and survivors clinging to their boats. Berg has gambled everything on reaching the Golden Adventurer before a competitor and a violent storm-- to win a fortune in salvage fees. But if Nick Berg succeeds, and climbs back into the international shipping game, that's when the real danger will begin... From the power of a relentless ocean to the hunger of men to survive upon her, this is a towering novel of adventure, love and the daring of the human soul.

Shakespearian Tempest -

Author: G. Wilsin Knight

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 360

View: 499

First published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Wilbur Smith's Smashing Thrillers

Hungry as the Sea, Elephant Song and Wild Justice

Author: Wilbur Smith

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1300

View: 460

Three thrilling, original adventures from the master of the genre, Wilbur Smith - for the first time in one collection of classics - that will take you on a journey deep into the heart of Africa at its wildest and most magnificent Hungry as the Sea: Nick Berg - robbed of his wife and ousted from his huge shipping empire - is hell-bent on vengeance. It is the sea which gives him his opportunity. When his arch-rival's luxury liner is trapped in the tempestuous Antarctic, Nick stakes all to pit his powerful salvage tug, the Warlock, in a desperate race against time and the elements . . . Elephant Song: In Zimbabwe's Chiwewe National Park, Dr Daniel Armstrong - world-famous TV naturalist - films the slaughter of a herd of elephant. Meanwhile in London, anthropologist Kelly Kinnear is forced into violent confrontation with the shareholders of the most powerful conglomerate in the City of London, warning them of the destruction of an African country. Now the time has come to act. Together, Armstrong and Kinnear forge a passionate alliance - and begin the fight against the forces of greed, evil and corruption attacking a land they would both give their lives to save . . . Wild Justice: The hijacking of a jumbo jet off the Seychelles galvanizes anti-terrorist chief Peter Stride into the action for which he has spent a lifetime training. But in the hail of bullets which follows, he knows that this is only the beginning of a nightmare. Stride is the one man who might find the twisted genius who holds the world hostage - if only his every move were not anticipated by the enemy . . .

The Last Ship

A Novel

Author: William Brinkley

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 624

View: 507

TV tie-in edition “An extraordinary novel of men at war” (The Washington Post) and the bestselling book that inspired the TNT mini-series The unimaginable has happened. The world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the U.S.S. Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain—one-hundred-and-fifty-two men and twenty-six women—to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are earth’s last remaining survivors—and they’ve all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind? For readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstchen.

The House by the Sea

A Novel

Author: Santa Montefiore

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 210

Previously published as The Mermaid Garden, the internationally bestselling author of The French Gardener presents a complex and irresistibly compelling novel that confirms the remarkable power of love to heal and transform. Ten-year-old Floriana is captivated by the beauty of the magnificent Tuscan villa that overlooks the sea just outside her small village. She likes to spy from the crumbling wall into the gardens and imagine that one day she’ll escape her meager existence and live there surrounded by its otherworldly splendor. Then one day Dante, the son of the villa’s powerful industrialist owner, invites her inside and shows her the enchanting Mermaid Garden. From that moment, Floriana knows that the only destiny for her is there, in that garden, with Dante. But as they grow up and fall in love, their romance causes a crisis, jeopardizing the very thing they hold most dear. Decades later and hundreds of miles away, a beautiful old country house hotel on England’s Devon coast has fallen on hard times after the financial crash of 2008. Its owner, Marina, advertises for an artist to stay the summer and teach the guests how to paint. The man she hires is charismatic and wise and soon begins to pacify the discord in her family and transform the fortunes of the hotel. However, he has his own agenda. Is it to destroy, to seduce, or to heal? Whatever his intentions, he is certain to change Marina’s life forever. Spanning four decades and sweeping from the Italian countryside to the English coast, this new story by Santa Montefiore is a moving and mysterious tale of love, forgiveness, and the past revealed.

The Spurgeon Series 1859 & 1860

Unabridged Sermons In Modern Language

Author: Charles H. Spurgeon

Publisher: New Leaf Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 1500

View: 133

Known as the "Prince of Preachers," Charles Haddon Spurgeon was among the most prolific and influential pastors of the 19th century. Characterized by profound insights and a passionate call for personal relationships with Christ, Spurgeon's work has stood the tests of time. Beloved even today, Spurgeon's sermons offer you the opportunity to grow in your own faith in a conveniently digital format, designed for your busy life on the go! Updated into modern language, with helpful explanatory footnotes, the text has been carefully proofed to ensure the highest quality and accuracy. Brought to you by the editors who translated the landmark work, Annals of the World, this first series of digital releases from the Spurgeon sermon collection is for the years 1855 and 1856 in one convenient digital file at an unbeatable price! All sermons are unabridged and include references to make it convenient for you to extend your Spurgeon studies. Easy to read and hard to forget, these are sermons of substance that will impact your life today!

The Hungry Detective

Author: Leo J. Du Lac

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 136

View: 932

Roger du Bois has wanted to be a detective since he was a little boy, despite the fact that his father wants him to join the family construction business in Downey, California. But at the ripe age of eighteen, Roger convinces his father to allow him to attend a detective school in France, as he always read that the French had the best detective schools. With two weeks left in his schooling, Le Caisse Banque Nationale in Nice, France, is robbed. Determined to be the first detective to respond, Roger rushes out the door before eating breakfast, which may prove to be the worst decision he's ever made. Even though he hasn't technically finished his schooling, Roger has no hesitation and quickly convinces the bank manager to give him the case. As Roger begins to investigate the bank vault, he learns that these robbers are good—very good. By the looks of things, they've been planning this robbery for months, maybe years. Will Roger manage to catch the larronges who've robbed the largest bank in Nice? Will he be pummeled to death by the angry mob? Or will he die from hunger before he solves his first case? Join author Leo J. Du Lac in The Hungry Detective—a thrilling tale about a detective who simply longs to make a name for himself and find something to eat.

The Stranger From The Sea

Author: Winston Graham

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 850

The Stranger From the Sea is the eighth novel in Winston Graham's hugely popular Poldark series, and continues the story after the fifth TV series, which has become an international phenomenon, starring Aidan Turner. Cornwall 1810. The Poldark family awaits the return of Ross from his mission to Wellington's army in Portugal. But their ordered existence ends with Jeremy Poldark's dramatic rescue of the stranger from the sea. Stephen Carrington's arrival in the Poldark household changes all their lives. For Clowance and Jeremy in particular, the children of Ross and Demelza, Stephen's advent is the key to a new world – one of both love and danger. The Stranger From The Sea is followed by the ninth book in the Poldark series, The Miller's Dance.