How to Fall in Love with a Man Who Lives in a Bush

Author: Emmy Abrahamson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 421

A fresh, hilarious and compulsively readable love story with the most wonderful kernel of truth to it. An uplifting and clever read for fans of Graeme Simsion and Marian Keyes.

Kelly Country

A Photographic Journey

Author: Brendon Kelson

Publisher: Univ. of Queensland Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 168

View: 835

More than any other story in Australian history, the Kelly Outbreak is strongly associated with places: the bush of North-Eastern Victoria, Glenrowan (the small hamlet made famous by the Last Stand), the Woolshed (the home of the Byrnes and Sherrits) and, above all, Greta West, the home of the Kellys. There are also the pubs where gang members drank, the courthouses where they faced the judge, the gaols where they served time and the drop at Old Melbourne Gaol where Ned Kelly was executed. Many of the places associated with the Kelly story are still with us today, tangible reminders of a story that resonates strongly with many Australians.This book looks at the Kellys and their history through images of the places associated with the outbreak of bushranging - from busy to country towns, from squatters' mansions to ruined homesteads, from the gaols to the cemeteries. In doing so, it brings a new perspective to the Kelly story.

Jason Benjamin

What Binds Us

Author: Jason Benjamin

Publisher: Macmillan Education AU

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 192

View: 207

Jason Benjamin is a young Australian painter whose career as an artist begain in the US after studies at the Pratt Institute in New York. A regular contributor to the Archibald Prize, his paintings are moody and aptly titled and certain to draw empathetic responses from those who view them.

What A Party!

My Life Among Democrats: Presidents, Candidates, Donors, Activists, Alligators and Other Wild Animals

Author: Terry McAuliffe

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 500

"I thought I knew Terry McAuliffe as well as anyone, but this time he surprised even me. Who knew Terry could sit still long enough to give us a book this good? What a Party! is a must-read for all of us who love politics, believe in public service, and know that laughter is often the best survival strategy." —President Bill Clinton "No one knows more about American politics than Terry McAuliffe. He gives us some remarkable insights and knows how to make his accounts both humorous and informative." —President Jimmy Carter "I've often said Terry's energy could light up a city, and readers of this book will know why. Terry's excitement for politics—and life—is evident on every page." —Senator Hillary Clinton For more than twenty-five years, Terry McAuliffe has been at the epicenter of American politics. Just out of Catholic University in Washington, Terry took a position with the Carter-Mondale campaign and quickly became one of the campaign's chief fund-raisers—and hasn't looked back since. The list of Terry ́s former mentors, friends, and close associates in the nation's capital reads like a who's who of legendary Democrats: Tip O'Neill. Jimmy Carter. Dick Gephardt. Bill Clinton. Hillary Clinton. Al Gore. The list goes on and on. Terry has fought hard for the Democratic Party his entire life and, as Bill Clinton reveals here for the first time, he was the first one in the party to see opportunity in the Republican gains in the 1994 Congressional elections. Without question the most successful fund-raiser in political history, Terry established himself as a heavyweight Democratic strategist and leader who was George W. Bush ́s most vocal and persistent critic during the first four years of the Bush 43 presidency. He earned rave reviews even from former critics for his groundbreaking work as chairman of the Democratic National Committee from 2001 to 2005, pulling the DNC out of debt for the first time in its history. Terry has served as a confidant and adviser to President Clinton and countless presidential candidates, a mediator among party leaders, the chairman of a national convention and presidential inaugural, and a forceful spokesman for the party—all without losing his reputation as a colorful, fun-loving character liked and respected even by his Republican adversaries. What a Party! is a fascinating, hilarious, and provocative look at the life of one of Washington's legendary figures. From wrestling an alligator to running the Democratic National Committee to his friendship with President Clinton, Terry McAuliffe's wonderful memoir covers it all and is, without doubt, the political book of the year.

Narcissistic Leaders

Who Succeeds and Who Fails

Author: Michael Maccoby

Publisher: Crown Business

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 300

View: 522

Today's business leaders maintain a higher profile than their predecessors did in the 1950s through the 1980s. Rather than hide behind the corporate veil, they give interviews to magazines like Business Week, Time, and The Economist. According to psychoanalyst, anthropologist, and consultant Michael Maccoby, this love of the limelight often stems from their personalities—in a narcissistic personality. That is both good and bad news: Narcissists are good for companies that need people with vision and the courage to take them in new directions. But narcissists can also lead companies into trouble by refusing to listen to the advice and warnings of their managers. So what can the narcissistic leader do to avoid the traps of his own personality? Maccoby argues that today’s most innovative leaders are not consensus-building bureaucrats; they are “productive narcissists” with the interrelated set of skills —foresight, systems thinking, visioning, motivating, and partnering—that he terms “strategic intelligence.” Maccoby redefines the negative stereotype as the personality best suited to lead during times of rapid social and economic change.

The Gamble

General Petraeus and the Untold Story of the American Surge in Iraq, 2006 - 2008

Author: Thomas E. Ricks

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 432

View: 688

Based on unprecedented real-time access to the military's entire chain of command, The Gamble is the definitive account of the insurgency within the US military that led to a radical shift in America's strategy in Iraq - and the bloody implementation of that strategy on the ground. In his international bestseller Fiasco, Thomas E. Ricks gave us the definitive reckoning with what went so wrong in Iraq. The story The Gamble tells is how, when the war was at its darkest hour, a group of dissident junior commanders and their civilian allies did an end run around their superiors in the military establishment and seized control of the war. The result was "the Surge," one of the American military's boldest strategic gambles since the landings at Inchon. General David Petraeus gave military expert Thomas E. Ricks extraordinary privileged access to himself and his team during the past two years, and the result is a chronicle of astonishing vividness and analytical depth. It is the story of military leadership in the crucible of war, under excruciating political pressure at home. It is also the story of the soldiers who executed the strategy out in the field. Ricks concludes that the war likely will last for many years to come - and that it will not be remembered for the reasons we think.

Because I am a Girl

Author: Deborah Moggach

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 208

View: 691

Because I am a girl I am less likely to go to school Because I am a girl I am more likely to suffer from malnutrition Because I am a girl I am more likely to suffer violence in the home Because I am a girl I am more likely to marry and start a family before I reach my twenties. Eight authors have visited eight different countries and spoken to young women and girls about their lives, struggles and hopes. The result is an extraordinary collection of writings about prejudice, abuse, and neglect, but also about courage, resilience and changing attitudes. Proceeds from sales of this book will go to PLAN, one of the world's largest child-centered community development organisations.

Jane

The Woman Who Loved Tarzan

Author: Robin Maxwell

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 482

Cambridge, England, 1905. Jane Porter is hardly a typical woman of her time. The only female student in Cambridge University's medical program, she is far more comfortable in a lab coat dissecting corpses than she is in a corset and gown sipping afternoon tea. A budding paleoanthropologist, Jane dreams of traveling the globe in search of fossils that will prove the evolutionary theories of her scientific hero, Charles Darwin. When dashing American explorer Ral Conrath invites Jane and her father to join an expedition deep into West Africa, she can hardly believe her luck. Africa is every bit as exotic and fascinating as she has always imagined, but Jane quickly learns that the lush jungle is full of secrets—and so is Ral Conrath. When danger strikes, Jane finds her hero, the key to humanity's past, and an all-consuming love in one extraordinary man: Tarzan of the Apes. Jane is the first version of the Tarzan story written by a woman and authorized by the Edgar Rice Burroughs estate. Its publication marks the centennial of the original Tarzan of the Apes. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Housetraining

Author:

Publisher: i5 Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Pets

Page: 96

View: 420

Housetraining a dog is not something you should attempt without doing some research first. Get the facts, and you and your puppy will be ahead of the game. This Popular Pet Library® Magabook® (magazine-book) includes tips, training and advice from professional trainers and dog experts that will help owners housetrain their furry new family member. Part of the Popular Dogs® Series. From the Editors of Dog Fancy® magazine.