New Indian Home Cooking

More Than 100 Delicious Nutritional, and Easy Low-fat Recipes!

Author: Madhu Gadia

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 254

View: 788

A registered dietitian from India conveys her love of her cultural heritage with 100 healthy, low-fat recipes. "Gadia brings quintessential Indian dishes, such as specialty breads and tandoori chicken, within easy reach of the home cook". -- "Publishers Weekly".

Appalachian Home Cooking

History, Culture, and Recipes

Author: Mark F. Sohn

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 384

View: 482

Mark F. Sohn's classic book, Mountain Country Cooking, was a James Beard Award nominee in 1997. In Appalachian Home Cooking, Sohn expands and improves upon his earlier work by using his extensive knowledge of cooking to uncover the romantic secrets of Appalachian food, both within and beyond the kitchen. Shedding new light on Appalachia's food, history, and culture, Sohn offers over eighty classic recipes, as well as photographs, poetry, mail-order sources, information on Appalachian food festivals, a glossary of Appalachian and cooking terms, menus for holidays and seasons, and lists of the top Appalachian foods. Appalachian Home Cooking celebrates mountain food at its best.

California Home Cooking

400 Recipes that Celebrate the Abundance of Farm and Garden, Orchard and Vineyard, Land and Sea

Author: Michele Jordan

Publisher: Harvard Common Press

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 528

View: 795

Regional recipes include appetizers, salsas, soups, breads, egg dishes, meat, seafood, desserts, and beverages

Manly Meals and Mom's Home Cooking

Cookbooks and Gender in Modern America

Author: Jessamyn Neuhaus

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 886

More than a history of the cookbook, Manly Meals and Mom's Home Cooking provides an absorbing and enlightening account of gender and food in modern America.

Home Cooking

A Writer in the Kitchen

Author: Laurie Colwin

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 208

View: 337

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, Home Cooking is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong. Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise. Home Cooking will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover. Praise for Laurie Colwin: 'Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson 'I have in my kitchen a book called Home Cooking. And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old-Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book. I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read The Silver Palate Cookbook standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna Quindlen Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

Vermont Home Cooking

Do You Really Remember Your Mother's Cooking

Author: Carole White

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 98

View: 970

This is a wonderful, funny family memoir cookbook. It was developed from the author’s desire to preserve the family recipes and to showcase wonderful recipes, as well as fabulous stories of life growing up in Vermont. The author also describes many humorous errors she has made during cooking and has interesting and easy methods to prevent future failures like she has had! There are a total of thirty-five recipes, including nineteen desserts and ten main dishes. There is a full chapter on just the Christmas and Thanksgiving dinner, including all parts of this meal and a special recipe for kids to make and to keep them busy and out of mischief. Each recipe includes detailed steps to make it, with helpful hints included and a complete list of utensils and ingredients, making this the perfect book for the beginning cook.

Home Cooking from Russia: A Collection of Traditional, Yet Contemporary Recipes

Author: Ekaterina And Liudmila Bylinka

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 128

View: 126

"Home Cooking from Russia" offers 50 recipes that include all courses from appetizers to desserts. This cookbook contains some of the ex-Soviet Union people heritage - the recipes that have been traditional and favorite for ages and up-to-date in families that have been living in the countries of Russia, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tadzhikistan, Belorussia and others. You have probably heard about many of those meals like Borsch, Varenyky/Perogies, Pelmeni, Plov/Pilaf, Kompot, Mors, Draniki, Blini, etc. Now you can have some of those recipes on your own bookshelf and you can make some of those meals in your own kitchen. The authors are not professionals, but enthusiastic cooks at home and are more than happy to share with you their most cherished family recipes composed in a rustic and simple way. Little historic notes and suggestions might be curious and helpful. Full-color photographs accompany each recipe so that you can easily make your choice and see the end result of your effort. Bon Appetite!

Vietnamese Home Cooking

Author: Charles Phan

Publisher: Ten Speed Press

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 256

View: 617

In his eagerly awaited first cookbook, award-winning chef Charles Phan from San Francisco's Slanted Door restaurant introduces traditional Vietnamese cooking to home cooks by focusing on fundamental techniques and ingredients. When Charles Phan opened his now-legendary restaurant, The Slanted Door, in 1995, he introduced American diners to a new world of Vietnamese food: robustly flavored, subtly nuanced, authentic yet influenced by local ingredients, and, ultimately, entirely approachable. In this same spirit of tradition and innovation, Phan presents a landmark collection based on the premise that with an understanding of its central techniques and fundamental ingredients, Vietnamese home cooking can be as attainable and understandable as American, French, or Italian. With solid instruction and encouraging guidance, perfectly crispy imperial rolls, tender steamed dumplings, delicately flavored whole fish, and meaty lemongrass beef stew are all deliciously close at hand. Abundant photography detailing techniques and equipment, and vibrant shots taken on location in Vietnam, make for equal parts elucidation and inspiration. And with master recipes for stocks and sauces, a photographic guide to ingredients, and tips on choosing a wok and seasoning a clay pot, this definitive reference will finally secure Vietnamese food in the home cook’s repertoire. Infused with the author’s stories and experiences, from his early days as a refugee to his current culinary success, Vietnamese Home Cooking is a personal and accessible guide to real Vietnamese cuisine from one of its leading voices.

Home Cooking in the Global Village

Caribbean Food from Buccaneers to Ecotourists

Author: Richard Wilk

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 286

View: 420

Belize, a tiny corner of the Caribbean wedged into Central America, has been a fast food nation since buccaneers and pirates first stole ashore. As early as the 1600s it was already caught in the great paradox of globalization: how can you stay local and relish your own home cooking, while tasting the delights of the global marketplace? Menus, recipes and bad colonial poetry combine with Wilk's sharp anthropological insight to give an important new perspective on the perils and problems of globalization.