Hidden Treasures of the Romanovs

Saving the Royal Jewels

Author: William Malpas Clarke

Publisher: National Museums of Scotland

ISBN:

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 159

View: 214

The story of the Romanov jewels and of Englishman Albert Stopford who risked his life to smuggle millions of pounds worth of of the precious gems from Russia to London in 1917.

Angelopolis

A Novel

Author: Danielle Trussoni

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 142

"A stunning follow-up to the best-seller Angelology. . . Part historical novel, fantasy, love story, thriller, and mystery. . . It's a must-read." —Booklist (starred review) A New York Times bestseller and global sensation, Angelology unfurled a brilliant tapestry of myth and biblical lore on our present-day world and plunged two star-crossed heroes into an ancient battle against mankind’s greatest enemy: the fatally attractive angel-human hybrids known as the Nephilim. With Angelopolis, the conflict deepens into an inferno of danger and passion unbound. A decade has passed since Verlaine saw Evangeline alight from the Brooklyn Bridge, the sight of her new wings a betrayal that haunts him still. Now an elite angel hunter for the Society of Angelology, he pursues his mission with single-minded devotion: to capture, imprison, and eliminate her kind. But when Evangeline suddenly appears on a twilit Paris street, Verlaine finds her nature to be unlike any of the other creatures he so mercilessly pursues, casting him into a spiral of doubt and confusion that only grows when she is abducted before his eyes by a creature who has topped the society’s most-wanted list for more than a century. The ensuing chase drives Verlaine and his fellow angelologists from the shadows of the Eiffel Tower to the palaces of St. Petersburg and deep into the provinces of Siberia and the Black Sea coast, where the truth of Evangeline’s origins—as well as forces that could restore or annihilate them all—lie in wait. Conceived against an astonishing fresh tableau of history and science, Angelopolis plumbs Russia’s imperial past, modern genetics, and ancient depictions of that most potent angelic appearance—the Annunciation of Gabriel—in a high-octane tale of abduction, treasure seeking, and divine warfare as the fate of humanity once again hangs in the balance.

Veiled Revenge

A Crime of Fashion Mystery

Author: Ellen Byerrum

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 901

Home of the helmet hairdo and congressional comb-over, Washington, D.C., is a hotbed of fashion faux pas. If anyone should know, it’s “Crimes of Fashion” columnist Lacey Smithsonian. She dishes out advice to the scandal-scorched and clothing-clueless, doing her part to change this town—one fashion victim at a time.... SHAWL TALE Washington, D.C., fashion reporter Lacey Smithsonian has always believed clothes can be magical, but she’s never thought they can be cursed. Until now. Lacey’s best friend, Stella, is finally getting married, and at her bachelorette party, fellow bridesmaid—and fortune-teller—Marie Largesse arrives with a stunning Russian shawl. A shawl, Marie warns, that can either bless or curse the wearer. When a party crasher who mocks the shawl is found dead the next day, the other guests fear the curse has been unleashed. But Lacey has her doubts, and she must employ all her Extra-Fashionary Perception to capture a villain who has vowed that nobody at this wedding will live happily ever after….

The Fate of the Romanovs

Author: Greg King

Publisher: Wiley

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 672

View: 411

Abundant, newly discovered sources shatter long-held beliefs The collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991 revealed, among many other things, a hidden wealth of archival documents relating to the imprisonment and eventual murder of Tsar Nicholas II, his wife Alexandra, and their children. Emanating from sources both within and close to the Imperial Family as well as from their captors and executioners, these often-controversial materials have enabled a new and comprehensive examination of one the pivotal events of the twentieth century and the many controversies that surround it. Based on a careful analysis of more than 500 of these previously unpublished documents, along with numerous newly discovered photos, The Fate of the Romanovs makes compelling revisions to many long-held beliefs about the Romanovs' final months and moments. This powerful account includes: * Surprising evidence that Anastasia may, indeed, have survived * Diary entries made by Nicholas and Alexandra during their captivity * Revelations of how the Romanovs were betrayed by trusted servants * A reconstruction of daily life among the prisoners at Ipatiev House * Strong evidence that the Romanovs were not brutalized by their captors * Statements from admitted participants in the murders

Anastasia Romanov: The Last Grand Duchess #10

Author: Ann Hood

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 283

Ann Hood’s historical fantasy series comes to a thrilling end with a trip to early 20th century Russia! In the final book of the Treasure Chest, Maisie and Felix find themselves in Russia with the Romanov family. This epic series is full of time travel and mystery that piques readers’ interests, delights teachers and librarians, and celebrates some of the great historical figures of the past. Every Treasure Chest book features a biography of the featured historical figure along with Ann’s Favorite Facts from her research!

Red Templar

Author: Paul Christopher

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 622

Paul Christopher's gripping Red Templar follows John Holliday on his quest to uncover the secrets of the ancient Templar Order. Army Ranger and historian John Holliday has spent his life crossing the globe uncovering the truth behind the ancient Templar Order. Now, finally returning home, he is intercepted at by a mysterious Russian, Genrikhovich, with an astonishing secret... Genrikhovich claims to know the location of the long-lost Templar sword, Aos - one of four taken from the Holy Land at the fall of Acre. He believes it is the companion to Holliday's own Templar sword. Holliday is sent on a deadly and bloody quest into the dark heart of Russia, where the Templars have wielded power for centuries. But can Genrikhovich be trusted? Will Holliday's hunting for the truth finally kill him? And what is the greatest Templar secret of all? Red Templar is Paul Christopher's sixth and latest action-packed conspiracy thriller that will take readers to the heart of an ancient secret society. Fans of The Templar Conspiracy, The Templar Cross and The Templar Throne are going to love this. Paul Christopher is the pseudonym of a bestselling US novelist who lives in the Great Lakes region.

Great Treasures of the Kremlin

Author: David Douglas Duncan

Publisher: Outlet

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 139

View: 625

This enormous volume features full-color photography of art rarely seen in the West. From one of the most extensive - yet hidden - collections in Europe comes this treasury of works of art, statuary, tapestry, jewelry, and much, much more. Comprehensively annotated by one of the foremost art historians specializing in Russian artworks. -- Provided by publisher.

The Kitchen Boy

A Novel of the Last Tsar

Author: Robert Alexander

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 873

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Kristin Scott Thomas (The English Patient), directed by Stefan Ruzowitzky (The Counterfeiters) Drawing from decades of work, travel, and research in Russia, Robert Alexander re-creates the tragic, perennially fascinating story of the final days of Nicholas and Alexandra Romanov as seen through the eyes of their young kitchen boy, Leonka. Now an ancient Russian immigrant, Leonka claims to be the last living witness to the Romanovs’ brutal murders and sets down the dark secrets of his past with the imperial family. Does he hold the key to the many questions surrounding the family’s murder? Historically vivid and compelling, The Kitchen Boy is also a touching portrait of a loving family that was in many ways similar, yet so different, from any other. "Ingenious...Keeps readers guessing through the final pages." —USA Today

Everyday Aesthetics

Prosaics, the Play of Culture and Social Identities

Author: Professor Katya Mandoki

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 344

View: 693

Katya Mandoki advances in this book the thesis that it is not only possible but crucial to open up the field of aesthetics (traditionally confined to the study of art and beauty) toward the richness and complexity of everyday life. She argues that in every process of communication, whether face to face or through the media, fashion, and political propaganda, there is always an excess beyond the informative and functional value of a message. This excess is the aesthetic. Following Huizinga's view of play as an ingredient of any social environment, Mandoki explores how various cultural practices are in fact forms of playing since, for the author, aesthetics and play are Siamese twins. One of the unique contributions of this book is the elaboration and application of a semiotic model for the simultaneous analysis of social interactions in the four registers, namely visual, auditory, verbal and body language, to detect the aesthetic strategies deployed in specific situations. She argues that since the presentation of the self is targeted towards participants' sensibilities, aesthetics plays a key role in these modes of exchange. Consequently, the author updates important debates in this field to clear the way for a socio-aesthetic inquiry through contexts such as the family, school, medical, artistic or religious traditions from which social identities emerge.

The Search for Anastasia

Author: John D. Klier

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Princesses

Page: 246

View: 762

The fate of Anastasia and the Russian Imperial family is still shrouded in mystery, but with access to exclusive sources the authors attempt to separate the truth from the lies. This book includes previously unpublished photographs