Empathetic

Author: Thomas Jast

Publisher: eVw Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 159

Four friends. One plan. Zero common sense. Paul, Marty, Victor and Matt are late-twenties men that have a single plan: meet new women and fix their godforsaken, pathetic lives. The only problem is that they completely forget to consider the feelings of anyone but themselves as they spiral down into miserable situations, leaving them worse for wear. With their individual approaches and ill-advised team efforts, it's one hilarious and shocking adventure after another. A brazen story of friendship and adult stupidity, Empathetic is a comedic marvel.

Understanding Circumcision

A Multi-Disciplinary Approach to a Multi-Dimensional Problem

Author: George C. Denniston

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Law

Page: 404

View: 326

Proceedings of the Sixth International Symposium on Genital Integrity: Safeguarding Fundamental Human Rights in the 21st Century, held December 7-9, 2000, in Sydney, Australia.

Sex Goes to School

Girls and Sex Education before the 1960s

Author: Susan K. Freeman

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 388

When seeking approaches for sex education, few look to the past for guidance. But Susan K. Freeman's investigation of the classrooms of the 1940s and 1950s offers numerous insights into the potential for sex education to address adolescent challenges, particularly for girls. From rural Toms River, New Jersey, to urban San Diego and many places in between, the use of discussion-based classes fostered an environment that focused less on strictly biological matters of human reproduction and more on the social dimensions of the gendered and sexual worlds that the students inhabited. Although the classes reinforced normative heterosexual gender roles that could prove repressive, the discussion-based approach also emphasized a potentially liberating sense of personal choice and responsibility in young women's relationship decisions. In addition to the biological and psychological underpinnings of normative sexuality, teachers presented girls' sex lives and gendered behavior as critical to the success of American families and, by extension, the entire way of life of American democracy. The approaches of teachers and students were sometimes predictable and other times surprising, yet almost wholly without controversy in the two decades before the so-called Sexual Revolution of the 1960s. Sex Goes to School illuminates the tensions between and among adults and youth attempting to make sense of sex in a society that was then, as much as today, both sex-phobic and sex-saturated.

The Soul of Wit

Joke Theory Fromm Grimm to Freud

Author: Carl Dale Hill

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 244

View: 223

Witz can serve either builders or destroyers, defenders of the faith or heretics, diplomats or oafs, male chauvinists or radical feminists. Witz shows its volatility in setting up cultural, class, and gender boundaries just to smash them. Hill argues that there is something about Witz that makes it quintessential to the plight of modern culture. He views Witz as an ahistorical subject developing over time and transcending the lifespans and intentions of the authors who have written with or about it.

Road to Happiness

A New Ideology

Author: Charles Wicksteed Armstrong

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Happiness

Page: 245

View: 927

Moody Bitches

The Truth About the Drugs You're Taking, The Sleep You're Missing, The Sex You're Not Having, and What's Really Making You Crazy

Author: Julie Holland

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 432

View: 738

A groundbreaking guide for women of all ages that shows women’s inherent moodiness is a strength, not a weakness As women, we learn from an early age that our moods are a problem. Bitches are moody. To succeed in life, we are told, we must have it all under control. We have to tamp down our inherent shifts in favor of a more static way of being. But our bodies are wiser than we imagine. Moods are not an annoyance to be stuffed away. They are a finely-tuned feedback system that, if heeded, can tell us how best to manage our lives. Our changing moods let us know when our bodies are primed to tackle different challenges and when we should be alert to developing problems. They help us select the right tool for each of our many jobs. If we deny our emotionality, we deny the breadth of our talents. With the right care of our inherently dynamic bodies, we can master our moods to avail ourselves of this great natural strength. Yet millions of American women are medicating away their emotions because our culture says that moodiness is a problem to be fixed. One in four of us takes a psychiatric drug. If you add sleeping pills to the mix, the statistics become considerably higher. Over-prescribed medications can have devastating consequences for women in many areas of our lives: sex, relationships, sleep, eating, focus, balance, and aging. And even if we don’t pop a pill, women everywhere are numbing their emotions with food, alcohol, and a host of addictive behaviors that deny the wisdom of our bodies and keep us from addressing the real issues that we face. Dr. Julie Holland knows there is a better way. She’s been sharing her frank and funny wisdom with her patients for years, and in Moody Bitches Dr. Holland offers readers a guide to our bodies and our moodiness that includes insider information about the pros and cons of the drugs we’re being offered, the direct link between food and mood, an honest discussion about sex, practical exercise and sleep strategies, as well as some surprising and highly effective natural therapies that can help us press the reset button on our own bodies and minds. In the tradition of Our Bodies, Our Selves, this groundbreaking guide for women of all ages will forge a much needed new path in women’s health—and offer women invaluable information on how to live better, and be more balanced, at every stage of life.

The soul of wit

Freud's joke book as the analysis of a social psyche

Author: Carl Hill

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 660

View: 843

The Zippered Heart

Author: Marilyn Meberg

Publisher: Thomas Nelson Inc

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 210

View: 998

Explains why readers must acknowledge hidden and shameful aspects of their characters in order to allow God to conquer personal weaknesses and help them achieve spiritual and emotional well-being. Original.