Harley Loco

A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Author: Rayya Elias

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 935

“Terrific. . .Rayya’s stories blew mine away.” – Elizabeth Gilbert “A classic, blood-stained love letter to bohemian NYC.” – Craig Marks When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early. Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias’s passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets—between her visits to jail. This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias’s wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that’s sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson. From the Hardcover edition.

In Loco Parentis

Author: Nigel Bird

Publisher: All Due Respect, an imprint of Down & Out Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 248

View: 840

Joe Campion is the kind of teacher any child would want for their class. He’s also the kind of teacher who never turns down a drink, a smoke or a lay. When Joe finds out some of his students are suffering abuse, he doesn’t trust the system to take care of it. His impulsive nature, dedication to his pupils and love of women lead him on a long, strange and bloody trip. Praise for IN LOCO PARENTIS: “In Loco Parentis is terrific, start to finish.” —Charlie Stella, author of Tommy Red “Beautiful, painful and excruciatingly brilliant writing.” —McDroll, crime fiction author “A unique voice that sets the writing head and shoulders above and apart.” —Anonymous-9, author of Hard Bite and Bite Harder “The writing is beautiful and spare and by the end I felt a cathartic relief. This story is a roller coaster ride of emotion, but a ride well worth taking.” —Mike Miner, author of Hurt Hawks

The Eucharist in Theology and Philosophy

Issues of Doctrinal History in East and West from the Patristic Age to the Reformation

Author: István Perczel

Publisher: Leuven University Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 474

View: 856

Discusses the conceptual, doctrinal, theological, and philosophical aspects of the developments concerning the Eucharistic doctrines of the Christian Churches, not just the Western ones, but the Byzantino-Slavic and Oriental ones, too.

Catalogus Bibliothecae Harleianae

In Locos Communes Distributus Cum Indice Auctorum

Author: Edward Harley Earl of Oxford

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Classical literature

Page:

View: 910