Glasgow Kiss

6

Author: Alex Gray

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 253

Eric Chalmers is one of the most popular teachers at Muirpark Secondary School in Glasgow. Gentle and kind, he is the person the students come to when they want to confide in someone. So when precocious teenager Julie Donaldson accuses Chalmers of rape, the school goes into shock. How could a deeply religious family man like Chalmers do anything like that? With some students and teachers supporting Julie, and others standing by Chalmers, life at Muirpark is far from harmonious. And then things get much worse - Julie Donaldson goes missing, and the police are called in. For DCI William Lorimer, this is the second missing persons case in a week. He's been having sleepless nights about a toddler who has been missing for several days - with each day, the likelihood of her being found alive diminishes. Julie's disappearance adds a further burden to Lorimer's already overstretched workload. With hope fading, it becomes a breakneck race against time to find both missing girls.

The Glasgow Kiss

The Wrong And Right Way to Use Your Head

Author: Caroline Neeley

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 104

View: 185

Did you ever feel discouraged after you argue with a family member, neighbor or the boss? That's life. Don't you wish you could have bolstered your argument to make your point? Reading The Glasgow KISS: The Wrong and Right Way To Use Your Head should be your first line of defense. If there's conflict and you find yourself in it, you cannot handle it well. Clearly make your point. You don't have to feel inept. Figuring out what to say is why you need to reach out to Caroline Neeley. With her dry Scottish humor, wise insight and professional expertise, Caroline Neeley provides the tools to constructively work through your conflicts and put down those conflicts. Positively work it out the right way. Secrets Neeley reveals have helped thousands on her weekly radio talk show based in southern California. The Glasgow KISS: The Wrong And Right Way To Use Your Head is straight talk with a touch of humor. Reconstruct your deflated confidence and offer constructive suggestions. Fight fair for what is right. Create boundaries, clear the mental toxic waste and get on with life! Find the answers to your conflict questions and use your head-the right way!

The Long Glasgow Kiss

Author: Craig Russell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 111

'The kind of thriller writing that made me want to be a writer' Chris Brookmyre 'Storytelling at its very best!' Michael Connelly Fast-paced, stylish, and blackly funny noir for fans of Philip Kerr and Raymond Chandler Glasgow in the 1950s - private investigator Lennox is keeping a low profile, enjoying a fling with the daughter of shady bookie and greyhound breeder MacFarlane. When MacFarlane is found bludgeoned to death, Lennox is a suspect. Luckily, he has a solid gold alibi - he was in bed with the victim's daughter at the time. It turns out MacFarlane was into some seriously dodgy stuff. One of Glasgow's notorious Three Kings, crime boss Willie Sneddon, is involved and he's not a man Lennox wants to cross. But there's an even bigger player out there, an elusive villain who makes the Three Kings look like minnows. Lennox is going to get his fingers burnt, badly. Praise for Craig Russell: 'Another brilliantly sharp, witty and tough take on a hard city at a hard time . . . a former cop, Russell is Britain's rising crime-writing star' Daily Mirror 'Through his humorous lens, time and place become razor-sharp . . . The lightness of touch is a breath of fresh air in this most crowded of genres . . . This is tartan neo-noir at its most entertaining' Sunday Herald

Red Thorn Vol. 1: Glasgow Kiss

Author: David Baillie

Publisher: Vertigo

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 168

View: 977

RED GOD RISING Although she grew up in America, gifted artist Isla Mackintosh is a Scot at heart. Both of her parents were born in Glasgow, and 25 years ago her older sister Lauren vanished during a visit to the land of her ancestry. Now, Isla is following in her sister’s footsteps, hoping to discover the truth behind her disappearance. The secret she’s about to unearth, however, is far older and more dangerous than she ever could have guessed. Something has been waiting for Isla, deep beneath the moors. A pagan demigod has been trapped there for millennia, caged inside the bones of ancient gods. He smells of the blood of a thousand enemies and the sweat of countless lovers. His name is Thorn, and Isla’s art is the key to his freedom. Writer David Baillie and artists Meghan Hetrick and Steve Pugh bring the myths and legends of Scotland roaring back to life in RED THORN VOL. 1: GLASGOW KISS-a sweeping, supernatural saga in the classic VERTIGO tradition! Collects RED THORN #1-7.

Glasgow Kiss: Episode Four

Author: C. S. Duffy

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 202

View: 428

How do you survive a fate worse than murder?"This addictive series of books is already on my top reads list for this year." - Portobello book blog"Set in Glasgow this is pure Scottish gold." - Books from Dusk Till Dawn"Glasgow has just found itself a fresh new name in crime fiction." - ChapterofmyLifeJade is supposed to be dead. She fought off the killer and escaped, and for two years has been trapped in a half-life, with no conscious memory of what happened or who attacked her, but plagued by debilitating flashbacks. Now a killer is targeting athletic young men in Glasgow, and when a friend of Jade's is murdered she can't shake the feeling it was because of her.She turns to Dr. Amy Kerr for help, but as they begin to untangle the tortured knots in Jade's mind, Amy begins to realise that the killer who attacked Jade is someone Amy knows all too well.Someone who was never supposed to be free again.Someone who is now watching them.

Glasgow Kiss

A Collection of New Writing from Glasgow

Author: Catherine McInerney

Publisher: Interlink Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: English fiction

Page: 151

View: 143

A collection of stories from writing groups in Glasgow, to promote writing and literature in the city. The themes and settings are varied, from a Berlin childhood to a hairdresser's in Glasgow, from lost times to gossip and betrayal.

Glasgow Kiss: Episode Five

Author: C. S. Duffy

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 236

View: 240

How do you escape a past that won't stay buried?"This addictive series of books is already on my top reads list for this year." - Portobello book blog"Set in Glasgow this is pure Scottish gold." - Books from Dusk Till Dawn"Glasgow has just found itself a fresh new name in crime fiction." - ChapterofmyLifeStuart Henderson is on the loose and Alec McAvoy is still unconscious - but there is a killer just getting started. After Ruari makes a gruesome discovery in a tunnel deep in the bowels of Glasgow, the team realise that if they don't cut this reign of terror off at the source it will never end.But as they work to uncover who - or what- the Darkness is, Amy is starting to face the stunning possibility that Stuart could be innocent. Has she uncovered a horrifying miscarriage of justice or is she falling under Charlie's spell?

Glasgow: The Real Mean City

True Crime and Punishment in the Second City of the Empire

Author: Malcolm Archibald

Publisher: Black & White Publishing

ISBN:

Category: True Crime

Page: 272

View: 232

There cannot be many cities where crime could mean anything from singing a seditious song to stealing a ship, but nineteenth-century Glasgow was a unique place with an amazing dynamism. Immigrants poured in from Ireland and the Highlands, while the factories, shipyards and mills buzzed with innovation. However, underneath the hustle and bustle was a different world, as an incredibly diverse criminal class worked for their own profit - with a total disregard for the law. The highways and byways were infested with robbers; garrotters jumped on the unwary; drunken brawls disfigured the evening streets; prostitutes lured foolish men into dark corners; conmen connived clever schemes; and murder was nearly commonplace. This was a dark and dangerous world, with a volatile population and the constant threat of riots. Holding back the tide of lawlessness was Britain's first professional police force, established in Glasgow in 1800. Their task of policing the city was daunting as they faced everything from petty crime to murder, the notorious Paisley Union Bank robbery to a string of jewellery thefts in the city centre. Glasgow: The Real Mean City is a fascinating account of the century-long struggle of the forces of law and order as they battled to bring peace to a troubled city.

Not the End of the World

Author: Christopher Brookmyre

Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 913

Death threats rock a Hollywood film festival: “Imagine Day of the Locust updated and rewritten by Carl Hiaasen” (Kirkus Reviews). After a family tragedy, LAPD cop Larry Freeman gets back to work with what he thinks is a simple assignment: Keep a rabid group of right-wing evangelical protestors as far away as possible from a celluloid celebration of ex—and very X—adult film actors. But when an oceanic research vessel off the West Coast is discovered with its crew vanished, Freeman has no idea how dirty this twisty game in the City of Angels is going to get. The players include the voluptuous daughter of a conservative US senator, a Glaswegian photographer with a mysterious agenda, a yacht-load of Hollywood producers, a throng of faded stars feeling more exposed than ever, and a band of self-righteous extremists bent on a glittering apocalypse. Set on the near side of the millennium, at a point when the world is about to spin out of control, this witty thriller delivers “a crazy off-the-wall roller coaster of a book that throws in not only the kitchen sink but the dresser, the best china, and the cook herself” (The Irish Times). “A wild, no-punches-pulled ride.” —The Philadelphia Weekly

The Bullet Trick

Author: Louise Welsh

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 889

When down-at-heel Glasgow conjurer William Wilson gets booked for a string of cabaret gigs in Berlin, he's hoping his luck's on the turn. There were certain spectators from his last show who he'd rather forget. Like the one who's now a corpse. Amongst the showgirls and tricksters of Berlin's scandalous underground Wilson can abandon his heart, his head and, more importantly, his past. But secrets have a habit of catching up with him and, as he gets sucked into certain lucrative after-hours work, the line between what's an act and what's real starts to blur.