Football Manager Stole My Life

20 Years of Beautiful Obsession

Author: Iain Macintosh

Publisher: BackPage Press

ISBN:

Category: Computer games

Page: 224

View: 558

Football Manager stole my life reveals the cult behind a computer game that, since its debut in 1992, has sold 20m copies and become a part of football culture.

The Football Manager's Guide to Football Management

Author: Iain Macintosh

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Games & Activities

Page: 224

View: 414

The Football Manager Guide to Football Management is for anyone who has ever believed that they could do a better job than their club’s manager. It’s for anyone who has ever tried to prove that point by taking the hot seat in the management simulation Football Manager. Whilst most Football Manager players feel they possess innate tactical awareness, on point man-management skills and a gift for dealing with the media; even the most hardened fan would have to admit there’s much to be learned from those who ply their trade in the real world. If you want to make an immediate impact on your struggling hometown club, you need to refer back to Sir Bobby Robson. If you want to lay down the law with your young players, you need to take tips from Sir Alex Ferguson. Want to avoid a financial catastrophe? Then learn from Leeds United! So if, at any point in your life, you have imagined yourself in a tracksuit, waving your arms in the air on the touchline, with your perfect XI scribbled on the back of a beer mat and thinking ahead to the press conference, then this book is for you. After all, you’re already a football manager... you just haven’t been appointed yet.

Cases on the Societal Effects of Persuasive Games

Author: Ruggiero, Dana

Publisher: IGI Global

ISBN:

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 345

View: 642

"This book investigates the connection between multimedia technologies and game-based learning for an improved understanding of the impact and effectiveness of serious games in modern societies, offering examples from the fields of education, business, healthcare, and more"--Provided by publisher.

Enjoying It

Candy Crush and Capitalism

Author: Alfie Bown

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 96

View: 923

Using a range of ‘case studies’ from Critical Theory to Candy Crush, ‘Gangnam Style’ to Game of Thrones and Football Manager to Hieronymus Bosch, this book argues that we need to rethink our enjoyment. Inspired by psychoanalysis, the book offers a new way of thinking about how we talk about what we enjoy and how we enjoy what we talk about.

The Blizzard - The Football Quaterly: Issue Six

Author: Jonathan Wilson

Publisher: Blizzard Media Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 190

View: 722

The Blizzard is a quarterly football publication, put together by a cooperative of journalists and authors, its main aim to provide a platform for top-class writers from across the globe to enjoy the space and the freedom to write what they like about the football stories that matter to them. Issue Six Contents --------------- Portugal --------------- * The Curse of the Golden Whistle, by Ben Shave—How corruption and inefficiency have squandered the legacy of Euro 2004 * The Flight of the Eagles, by Luis Catarino—In the early sixties Benfica rose to topple Real Madrid, only to be cursed by Béla Guttmann * The Pretenders, by Andy Brassell—Only two sides outside 'Os Tres Grandes' have won the Portuguese title. For both a repeat seems unlikely * The Dragons' Cap, by Vitor Sobral—Porto's rise in the late seventies was inspired by the innovative coaching of José Maria Pedroto --------------- Interview --------------- * Antonin Panenka — The Czechoslovakia great discusses how his famous dinked penalty came about and the impact it's had --------------- Euro 2012 --------------- * The Essential Backdrop, by Jonathan Wilson—Euro 2012 raised major questions about the nature of fandom and what comprises a tournament * The First Twitter Tournament, by Barney Ronay—In Euro 2012, newspapers were very rarely the first with the news as social media came into its own --------------- Theory --------------- * Directing the Pianists, by Philippe Auclair—Brendan Rodgers discusses the importance of possession football and what he's learned from José Mourinho * Ivan the Reasonable, by Antonis Oikonomidis—Ivan Jovanovic explains his philosophy and how he hopes to build on Apoel's success last season * The Rise of the Technocrats, by Tim Vickery—How attitudes to the dictatorship shape Brazil's change of approach in the seventies * The Second Coming, by Federico Farcomeni—Zdenek Zeman talks about attacking, romance and his challenge after returning to Roma this season --------------------- Photo Essay --------------------- * River's Return, by Anibal Greco—Images of River Plate's battle to win promotion from the purgatory of Nacional B --------------- The Lost --------------- * The Paper Tiger, by David Bartram—How politics and society have stood in the way of a Chinese boom * The Coach on the Couch, by Iain Macintosh—Is being addicted to Football Manager a medical condition? * The Far Corner, by James Young—How football in the north-east of Brazil struggles to keep up with the giants of the south --------------- Polemics --------------- * Care for the Community, by Gabriele Marcotti—Could a radical rejig of television schedules help create a greater bond between clubs and their fans? * Location, Location, Location, by Tom Dart—Which is more important? How it looks or where a stadium is? --------------- Fiction --------------- * The Limping God, by David Ashton—His football career ended by injury, John Brodie's life is going nowhere until he is sucked into the world of crime --------------------------- Greatest Games --------------------------- * Spain 1-0 Ireland, by Dermot Corrigan—World Cup qualifying play-off, Parc des Princes, Paris, 10 November 1965 ----------------- Eight Balls ----------------- * Classic Footballs, by Sheridan Bird—A selection of the best footballs through the ages

The Five-a-Side Bible

Author: Chris Bruce

Publisher: Cargo Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 240

View: 775

If you play football, the chances are you play 5-a-side - it's by far the most popular version of the game in the UK. But it's much more than a game. It's an unbeatable fitness regime, it's a social club, it's an elite sport, it's what we do when we get too old for 'jumpers for goalposts'. The 5-a-side Bible tells the whole story. There's sports science, the low-down on tacti and nutrition, how to use warm-ups and warm-downs to optimise performance. But there's also the fun side of fives: crazy team names - The Neville Wears Prada, Murder on Zidane's Floor - wacky stories of ill-discipline and injuries, outlandish excuses for not playing, kit disasters and a bucket list of the world's most iconic 5-a-side pitches. Produced by BackPage Press (Football Manager Stole My Life), Freight and 5-a-side.com, this is the book 5-a-side has been waiting for.

Manchester City Ruined My Life

Author: Colin Shindler

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 263

View: 695

Colin Shindler has previously written of his deep love for Manchester City in the bestselling Manchester United Ruined My Life and three other previous books. Now he tells the story of his sorrowful disenchantment with his home town club as, on the instruction of its new foreign owners, it turns itself remorselessly into a global brand. Trophyless since 1976, in 2011 Manchester City won the FA Cup and set off on their quest for the Premiership and the Champions League. In their zeal to win every competition the new Manchester City has spent money with wild abandon, signing outstandingly talented players as well as a few ordinary ones but in almost every case at hugely inflated prices. From the nail-biting win over Gillingham in the League Two Play Off final at Wembley in 1999 to the climax of the 2011 season, Shindler watches his team get steadily more successful and, to his own bewilderment, feels steadily more alienated from it. This is the story of a frustrated romantic who finds in the glitz and glamour of the current media-obsessed game a helter-skelter of artificially fabricated excitement. As he details how football courses through his veins Shindler tells how it intersects with his own life, a life that has been marked by family tragedy, and how he finally found personal redemption even as his team lost its soul.

I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Author: Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 802

I AM ZLATAN - the explosive, critically-acclaimed memoir of Zlatan Ibrahimovich, one of the world's most gifted and controversial footballers 'Guardiola has no balls. He drove me like a Fiat . . . I'm a Ferrari' Zlatan Ibrahimovic - professional football's most mercurial player, Swedish national hero, tabloid fixture, fashion icon, modern-day philosopher and black belt in Taekwondo. Born to a Muslim father from Bosnia, and a Catholic mother from Croatia, Zlatan recounts his extraordinary life story, from his poverty-stricken upbringing as an outsider in Malmö, Sweden, to becoming one of the world's most sought-after and expensive players, gracing Europe's finest clubs, from Ajax to Juventus, Internazionale to Barcelona, Milan to Paris Saint-Germain. I AM ZLATAN reveals a rare and ferocious intelligence, willpower and God-given talent most recently exhibited when Zlatan scored all 4 goals for Sweden in a 4-2 victory against England. His fourth goal, a 30-yard overhead kick with his back to goal is widely regarded as one of the greatest goals of all time. The BBC described it as a goal that 'combined unfathomable imagination and expert technique'. For fans of The Secret Footballer and Football Manager Stole My Life this no holds barred football memoir is every bit as dramatic and revealing as Roy Keane's classic autobiography. 'The best footballer's autobiography of recent years is probably I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic . . .' Simon Kuper, author of Why England Always Lose 'Eagerly awaited, not least because Ibra seems to be spoiling for a fight on every other page. 'Dynamite' said one Swedish reporter' Daily Mail on I AM ZLATAN

The Wright Stuff

Author: Rick Glanvill

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 838

Ian Wright is one of the English game's great football heroes. He is an England international and the leading marksman and trophy-winner for Arsenal. Yet he also regularly collects yellow cards, and is rarely out of the headlines. From humble beginnings to the heights of international stardom, this is the story of the rise of a boy from South London who has as many enemies as he has friends; of a role model who never forgot his roots; of a superstar, hungry for success, but almost denied the chance to play professional football by blatant discrimination and his own hot-headedness.

Portrait of Laurel

Author: Kenneth Champion Thomas

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: College students

Page: 294

View: 538