Food Listography

My Delicious Life in Lists

Author: Lisa Nola

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 244

View: 241

Listography

Your Life in Lists

Author: Lisa Nola

Publisher: Chronicle Books (CA)

ISBN:

Category: Diaries (Blank-books)

Page: 160

View: 142

List-makers rejoice! This quirky and imaginative guided journal is the ultimate tool for creating a unique autobiography entirely in list form. Some lists are obvious (greatest accomplishments, best friends, favorite food), others obscure (guiltiest pleasures, greatest acts of kindness, personal fashion trends), and each list is accompanied by hilarious illustrations.Listography is perfect for getting down all the details of a life less ordinary.

Literary Listography

My Reading Life in Lists

Author: Lisa Nola

Publisher: Chronicle Books (CA)

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 160

View: 731

160 pages illus by Holly Exley. 7.1" x 9.6"

Acts of Teaching: How to Teach Writing: A Text, A Reader, A Narrative, 3rd Edition

Author: Joyce Armstrong Carroll Ed.D, H.L.D.

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 233

View: 465

Inclusive of the scope and authoritative references from earlier editions, this edition additionally embraces the digital world and provides practical suggestions for performing the "act of teaching." • Offers practical suggestions for teaching writing to students of all ages • Focuses on the inquiry process as it parallels the writing process • Offers many new tips and strategies for teachers to implement in all stages of the writing process • Discusses the impact of technology on student writing • Features appendices with important readings in the field of writing instruction

Using Poetry Across the Curriculum

Learning to Love Language

Author: Barbara Chatton

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 241

View: 350

This comprehensive listing and discussion of poetic works supports the standards of all areas of the curriculum, helping librarians and teachers working with kindergarten through middle school students. * Updates from the first edition include new and different poetry and newer authors than the first edition * Provides numerous lists of anthologies, poems, and poetic prose and meets national standards and areas within those standards * Offers lists of bilingual works in Spanish and English and lists of poems representing various cultural groups both in the United States and around the world * Includes teaching ideas, writing activities, and links for crossing the curriculum

How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room

The Psychology of Intuition, Influence, Decision Making and Trust

Author: Jacob Burak

Publisher: Watkins Media Limited

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 240

View: 364

An inquiry into what it is about our experiences and cultures that brings out the differences and reveals the similarities in us as humans beings, in the vein of Malcolm Gladwell and Daniel Kahneman. Jacob Burak is on a quest to answer the question “are we as human beings, who are separated by different cultures and experiences, similar or different?” Through the lens of behavioural studies, we see how, while our approaches differ and often conflict, we all strive for similar things: love, acceptance, power and understanding. How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room offers the latest scientific studies of human behaviour alongside accessible anecdotes to examine the universal human experiences of comparing ourselves to others, the need to belong, the urge to achieve and the anxiety and uncertainty of life itself. More importantly, Burak shows us how, in understanding these behavioural patterns, we learn that we are actually more alike than we are different; that our rivals often make us stronger; and that being trusting can help us live longer. With his inquisitive nature, logical thinking and engaging style, Burak examines whether it is destiny or personality that controls our lives, through intriguing subjects such as: • What are the ten rules for happiness that are entirely under our control? • Why do smart people make stupid mistakes? • What distinguishes bureaucrats and entrepreneurs? • What are the psychological differences between liberals and conservatives? • In what circumstances is it right to surrender our privacy? • Does it pay to trust people?