Fires of Fortune

A sweeping Australian saga about love and understanding

Author: Patricia Shaw

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 435

View: 231

River of the Sun revealed the indomitable spirit of former slave girl Diamond. Now her intrepid son faces his own struggle for survival... Patricia Shaw's Fires of Fortune is the thought-provoking sequel to the unforgettable saga, River of the Sun. The perfect read for fans of Tricia McGill and Fleur McDonald. As a boy, Ben Beckman is sheltered from the harsher aspects of life by his Aborigine mother Diamond, who is all too familiar with the prejudice rife within Brisbane society. He is unaware that his father is the ruthless Ben Buchanan, a prominent figure in the state political scene. Then one appalling night Diamond's life comes to an end. Crazed with grief, Ben vandalises his neighbour Dr Thurlwell's mansion - as the doctor refused to tend his mother. Ben's actions are to have tragic consequences... Over hard years, Ben's hatred for Dr Thurwell deepens. The girl next door is Phoebe Thurlwell, whom Ben has known all his life. When she offers the hand of friendship he is still motivated by a bitter feud with her parents. Phoebe is sent away to a friend's cattle station to remove her from Ben's influence, but he follows. There he comes face to face with his own father, a far more dangerous adversary than he ever thought possible... What readers are saying about Fires of Fortune: 'An imaginative and compelling account of what life was really like for early pioneers of Australia' 'The characters come alive and keep the reader gripped from first page to last' 'As always, Patricia Shaw writes a great story with great historical care'

Flame and Fortune in the American West

Urban Development, Environmental Change, and the Great Oakland Hills Fire

Author: Gregory Simon

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 272

View: 184

Flame and Fortune in the American West creatively and meticulously investigates the ongoing politics, folly, and avarice shaping the production of increasingly widespread yet dangerous suburban and exurban landscapes. The 1991 Oakland Hills Tunnel Fire is used as a starting point to better understand these complex social-environmental processes. The Tunnel Fire is the most destructive fire—in terms of structures lost—in California history. More than 3,000 residential structures burned and 25 lives were lost. Although this fire occurred in Oakland and Berkeley, others like it sear through landscapes in California and the American West that have experienced urban growth and development within areas historically prone to fire. Simon skillfully blends techniques from environmental history, political ecology, and science studies to closely examine the Tunnel Fire within a broader historical and spatial context of regional economic development and natural-resource management, such as the widespread planting of eucalyptus trees as an exotic lure for homeowners and the creation of hillside neighborhoods for tax revenue—decisions that produced communities with increased vulnerability to fire. Simon demonstrates how in Oakland a drive for affluence led to a state of vulnerability for rich and poor alike that has only been exacerbated by the rebuilding of neighborhoods after the fire. Despite these troubling trends, Flame and Fortune in the American West illustrates how many popular and scientific debates on fire limit the scope and efficacy of policy responses. These risky yet profitable developments (what the author refers to as the Incendiary), as well as proposed strategies for challenging them, are discussed in the context of urbanizing areas around the American West and hold global applicability within hazard-prone areas.

Fortune's Fire

Author: Barbara Cummings

Publisher: Zebra Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 990

Fleeing the passions and vengeance of a British aristocrat, beautiful, headstrong Cathleen Cochran leaves Ireland to journey to the American Colonies on the eve of revolution. Original.

Wings of Fortune

Author: E. A. Chevrette, Jr.

Publisher: The Troy Book Makers

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 313

View: 731

From the basic fabric covered Cub, to the sleek corporate jet, the author takes you page by page through what some have called "The Golden Age" of general aviation. Meet pilots and share in their camaraderie and humor; experience their tragedy and personal triumph. This is a fascinating real life account of the author's life as a pilot, and his own personal "wings of fortune."

Formula for Fortune

How Asa Candler Discovered Coca-Cola and Turned It into the Wealth His Children Enjoyed

Author: Ann Uhry Abrams

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 362

View: 203

Asa Candler rose from a rural background to reap a fortune. His windfall came from purchasing the Coca-Cola formula in 1888 and establishing the company that became a national phenomenon in less than a decade. In Formula for Fortune, author Ann Uhry Abrams narrates the life and times of Candlerfrom his ancestral background to the death of the last of his five children. Formula for Fortune not only shows how he turned his entrepreneurial genius into an empire, but also relates his status in Atlanta, Georgia, as a prominent banker, realtor, philanthropist, civil servant, and mayor. Painting a lively portrait of the past, this biography tells a fascinating American story that covers a century of American and Southern life as seen through the eyes of a middle-class family elevated to prominence by their patriarchs incredible success. It not only provides a peek into the horse-and-buggy days of one of the nations major corporations, but also follows Coca-Colas fascinating transformation from patent-medicine to international phenomenon. Family dynamics weave through this drama of love, disappointments, and disaster played out against the background of four wars, a race riot, technological revolutions, and numerous courtroom dramas.

Fortune's Blight

The Shattered Kingdoms, Book Two

Author: Evie Manieri

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 662

Fortune's Blight by Evie Manieri continues the conflict begun in Blood's Pride. Victory for the Shadari rebels has come at a terrible price. Hardship, superstition, and petty feuds poison King Daryan's young reign, and entire families are vanishing without a trace. Help is nowhere to be found, for their Nomas allies have troubles of their own and the Mongrel, plagued by the sins of her violent past, has disappeared. While Daryan struggles to maintain the peace, Eofar and Rho are racing to their northern homeland to plead—or fight—for the Shadar's independence. But Norland has changed, and they soon find themselves embroiled in the court politics of an empire about to implode. Meanwhile, the Mongrel's path carries her deep into Norland's frozen wastes to redeem a promise—one that forces her into the heart of the growing conflict. As the foundations of the two far-flung countries begin to crack, an enigmatic figure watches from a tower room in Ravindal Castle. She is old, and a prisoner, but her reach is long, and her patience is about to be rewarded.... At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Ariadne Objective

Patrick Leigh Fermor and the Underground War to Rescue Crete from the Nazis

Author: Wes Davis

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 448

View: 744

In the bleakest years of the Second World War when it appeared that nothing could slow the advance of the German army, Hitler set his sights on the Mediterranean island of Crete, the ideal staging ground for domination of the Middle East. But German command had not counted on the strength of the Cretan resistance or the eccentric band of British intelligence officers who would stand in their way, conducting audacious sabotage operations in the very shadow of the Nazi occupation force. The Ariadne Objective tells the remarkable story of the secret war on Crete from the perspective of these amateur soldiers who found themselves serving because, as one of them put it, they had made 'the obsolete choice of Greek at school'. John Pendlebury, a swashbuckling archaeologist with a glass eye and a swordstick; Xan Fielding, a writer who would later produce the English translations of books like Bridge on the River Kwai and Planet of the Apes; Sandy Rendel, a future Times reporter, who prided himself on a disguise that left him looking more ragged and fierce than the Cretans he fought alongside; and Patrick Leigh Fermor, the future travel-writing luminary who, as a teenager in the early 1930s, walked across Europe, a continent already beginning to feel the effects of Hitler's rise to power. Having infiltrated occupied Crete, these British gentleman spies teamed with Cretan partisans to carry out a cunning plan to disrupt Nazi manoeuvres, culminating in a daring, high-risk plot to abduct the island’s German commander. In this thrilling and little known episode of Second World War history, Wes Davis paints a brilliant portrait of some extraordinary characters and tells a story of triumph against all the odds.

Global Fortune

The Stumble and Rise of World Capitalism

Author: Cato Institute

Publisher: Cato Institute

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 295

View: 837

This collection of essays proposes improvements to the international financial system and evaluates the prospects that the recent conversion to global capitalism will be sustained.

Beckoning Fortune

A Study of the Mongol Dalalya Ritual

Author: Krystyna Chabros

Publisher: Otto Harrassowitz Verlag

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 316

View: 342