Fires of Fortune

A sweeping Australian saga about love and understanding

Author: Patricia Shaw

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 435

View: 226

River of the Sun revealed the indomitable spirit of former slave girl Diamond. Now her intrepid son faces his own struggle for survival... Patricia Shaw's Fires of Fortune is the thought-provoking sequel to the unforgettable saga, River of the Sun. The perfect read for fans of Tricia McGill and Fleur McDonald. As a boy, Ben Beckman is sheltered from the harsher aspects of life by his Aborigine mother Diamond, who is all too familiar with the prejudice rife within Brisbane society. He is unaware that his father is the ruthless Ben Buchanan, a prominent figure in the state political scene. Then one appalling night Diamond's life comes to an end. Crazed with grief, Ben vandalises his neighbour Dr Thurlwell's mansion - as the doctor refused to tend his mother. Ben's actions are to have tragic consequences... Over hard years, Ben's hatred for Dr Thurwell deepens. The girl next door is Phoebe Thurlwell, whom Ben has known all his life. When she offers the hand of friendship he is still motivated by a bitter feud with her parents. Phoebe is sent away to a friend's cattle station to remove her from Ben's influence, but he follows. There he comes face to face with his own father, a far more dangerous adversary than he ever thought possible... What readers are saying about Fires of Fortune: 'An imaginative and compelling account of what life was really like for early pioneers of Australia' 'The characters come alive and keep the reader gripped from first page to last' 'As always, Patricia Shaw writes a great story with great historical care'

Global Fortune

The Stumble and Rise of World Capitalism

Author: Cato Institute

Publisher: Cato Institute

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 295

View: 438

This collection of essays proposes improvements to the international financial system and evaluates the prospects that the recent conversion to global capitalism will be sustained.

Beckoning Fortune

A Study of the Mongol Dalalya Ritual

Author: Krystyna Chabros

Publisher: Otto Harrassowitz Verlag

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 316

View: 898

Fortune's Blight

The Shattered Kingdoms, Book Two

Author: Evie Manieri

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 749

Fortune's Blight by Evie Manieri continues the conflict begun in Blood's Pride. Victory for the Shadari rebels has come at a terrible price. Hardship, superstition, and petty feuds poison King Daryan's young reign, and entire families are vanishing without a trace. Help is nowhere to be found, for their Nomas allies have troubles of their own and the Mongrel, plagued by the sins of her violent past, has disappeared. While Daryan struggles to maintain the peace, Eofar and Rho are racing to their northern homeland to plead—or fight—for the Shadar's independence. But Norland has changed, and they soon find themselves embroiled in the court politics of an empire about to implode. Meanwhile, the Mongrel's path carries her deep into Norland's frozen wastes to redeem a promise—one that forces her into the heart of the growing conflict. As the foundations of the two far-flung countries begin to crack, an enigmatic figure watches from a tower room in Ravindal Castle. She is old, and a prisoner, but her reach is long, and her patience is about to be rewarded.... At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Fortune

Author: Elizabeth D. Marie

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 645

Nikolai's Fortune

Author: Solveig Torvik

Publisher: University of Washington Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 332

View: 176

As a child, Solveig Torvik heard stories of a lost, mysterious great-grandfather who left Finland for America to make his fortune - leaving Torvik�s great-grandmother and his unborn daughter behind. As a reporter, Torvik determined to discover the fate of the man who followed his dreams to Oregon. She uncovered not only the story of one man, but also the saga of an entire family. In Nikolai�s Fortune, a tale of Scandinavian women, the journalist turns fact into fiction and shares the tales of her ancestors as she imagines they would have told them. Nikolai's Fortune is a heartbreaking, multigenerational epic, chronicling family secrets and sufferings against the backdrop of Scandinavian history and culture. Blending memoir and historical fiction, grandmother, mother, and daughter each share their own story: Kaisa, of her mother�s love for Nikolai and her own 500-mile trek at the age of twelve from impoverished Finland across the snowy mountains of Lapland; Berit, of child slavery and an obsession with seeking out her grandfather�s fortune for her mother; and Hannah, the voice of Torvik, of her childhood during the Nazi occupation of Norway and her family�s emigration to Idaho. Through detailed historical research into census, church, and weather records, as well as academic and museum sources, Torvik recaptures a dramatic story nearly lost to memory and inherits something worth more than a fortune in riches � a sense of her family history, ethnic background, and the generations of remarkable women who came before her. Norwegian-born Solveig Torvik was a reporter, editor, and columnist at the Seattle Post-Intelligencer for thirty years. She was also a reporter for United Press International in Salt Lake City and for the San Francisco Chronicle, and an editor at the San Jose Mercury News.

Fortune's Bride

Author: Jane Peart

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 555

Slowly she turned to face the door just as Graham came through at full stride. At the sight of him a wild kind of joy seized her. Graham halted on the threshold. He drew in his breath sharply, and in spite of himself, his pulse thundered at the sight of the tall, willowy figure. The last time he had seen Avril she had been a child. Here in her place was a graceful young woman. "Avril, my dear," he said, finding his voice. "Welcome home!" Fortune's Bride, the third in a series of award-winning novels by Jane Peart, is a revision of the story of Avril Dumont, a wealthy young heiress and orphan, who gradually comes to terms with her lonely adolescence. There is romance and heartbreak, true love and fulfillment in this story of Avril's seemingly unreturned but undaunted love for her bachelor guardian, Graham Montrose. Readers of Fortune's Bride will be smitten with the charm of the old South as they follow Avril's development into womanhood, and meet the people who give her a sense of self-worth. So skillfully drawn is the plot of this romance that the reader will suffer form ongoing suspense throughout Avril's story.

How to Achieve Good Fortune

A 1930s Guide

Author: Murdo Donaldson MacLeod

Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 96

View: 427

Is good fortune just a matter of luck? Or being born under the right star? In this compelling book, Murdo MacLeod shows how you can load the dice in your own favour. Murdo MacLeod’s easy-to-follow programme demonstrates how to harness the power within you in order to achieve: material wealth perfect health personal charm the conquest of anxiety First published in 1932, How to Achieve Good Fortune is strikingly modern in its approach, not just in its promotion of the ‘power of positive thinking’, but also in the method of picturing what it is that you desire. Many of the ideas that Murdo MacLeod proposed have since been taken up in New Age philosophy, particularly the concept of ‘Cosmic Mind’.

A Fortune Wedding

Author: Kristin Hardy

Publisher: Silhouette

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 352

Once, he was her whole world… …until Roberto Mendoza left Frannie Fortune and their hometown far behind. But she was no longer the seventeen-year-old in love with the smoldering ranch hand. She was a woman accused of murdering her husband. When he left Red Rock nineteen years ago, Roberto swore he would never return. But when an unseen enemy threatened the Mendoza clan, he found himself charging to Frannie's rescue, determined to help her clear her name. And when passion reignited—hotter and more powerful than before—Roberto knew he'd do anything to heal the past and build a future with the woman who'd always belong to him. The woman he'd never stopped loving.