Everybody Bakes Bread

Author: Norah Dooley

Publisher: Millbrook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 645

In this sequel To The enormously popular Everybody Cooks Rice, young Carrie is sent on a mission by her mother: To search the neighborhood for a "three-handled rolling pin." While on her quest, Carrie discovers that although her neighbors hail from several different countries, they all enjoy the tastes and smells of home-baked bread.

Everybody Bakes Bread--Refrigerator Pan Buns Recipe

Author: Sharon Draznin

Publisher: Teacher Created Materials

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 4

View: 458

Cooking projects provide a highly motivating, real-life application for learning. This child-friendly recipe is based on a piece of children's literature. Read the book, and then collaborate to make this delicious food to enjoy together.

Everybody Brings Noodles

Author: Norah Dooley

Publisher: First Avenue Editions

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 637

The block party was Carrie's idea, but when it arrives she can only think about two things: the talent show and the delicious noodle dishes from many countries that her neighbors are bringing.

Everybody Serves Soup

Author: Norah Dooley

Publisher: Millbrook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 979

It has snowed so much that Carrie has the day off from school. She wants to earn money shoveling to buy her mother a Christmas present. But what should she buy? As she goes from house to house, Carrie finds everybody making soup. Carrie's neighbors come from many places, so each one is making a different kind of soup. As she collects recipes, Carrie begins to get an idea of what to give her mother. Accompanied by simple recipes, this tale is sure to please the many readers who loved Everybody Cooks Rice and Everybody Bakes Bread as well as those who are new to Carrie's delightful multicultural neighborhood.

Everybody Cooks Rice

Author: Norah Dooley

Publisher: Millbrook Press ™

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 407

In this multicultural picture book, Carrie goes from one neighbor's house to the next looking for her brother, who is late for dinner. She discovers that although each family is from a different country, everyone makes a rice dish at dinnertime. Readers will enjoy trying the simple recipes that correspond to each family's unique rice dish.

Multicultural Teaching

A Handbook of Activities, Information, and Resources

Author: Pamela L. Tiedt

Publisher: Allyn & Bacon

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 425

View: 435

/* 4663L-4, Tiedt, Pamela L., Multicultural Teaching: A Handbook of Activities, Information and Resources, 6e*/ A Classic in the field of Multicultural teaching, this new edition provides activities and information designed to enable the teacher to explore the many kinds of diversity in the classroom. This book presents model lesson plans, fully developed thematic units, and a variety of instructional strategies, as well as a wealth of resources that support multicultural teaching. It examines difficult issues and problems within multicultural education to encourage reflections and discussion. It explains the basic content of multicultural education and also describes methods for carrying out the best education for all students. coverage of: language diversity, appropriate terminology, prejudice and stereotyped thinking. The material emphasizes the development of esteem, empathy, and equity in the classroom. The author provides suggestions for professional development as teachers assume an active role in promoting multiculturalism in the school and community. A strong Esteem/Empathy /Equity model provides the framework for building a successful multicultural program at any grade level. This latest edition emphasizes the currency of multicultural education and factors that influence our thinking related to local, national, and world affairs. Educators at any level interested in diversity and multicultural

Wild about Literacy

Fun Activities for Preschool

Author: Between The Lions

Publisher: Gryphon House Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: EDUCATION

Page: 232

View: 378

The more than 150 activities in Wild About Literacy feature theme connections, vocabulary, materials and preparation, and extension ideas. Each chapter follows a literacy scope and sequence so teachers can use a targeted approach to help children learn essential literacy skills. With learning centers and story ideas, Wild About Literacy is sure to enrich any curriculum.

Legislative Documents

Author: Iowa

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Iowa

Page:

View: 600

Contains the reports of state departments and officials for the preceding fiscal biennium.

What Do Children and Young Adults Read Next?

A Reader's Guide to Fiction for Children and Young Adults

Author: Janis Ansell

Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 750

View: 889

Lists books by subject and title and recommends what book children and young adults should read next based on their previous likes and dislikes.

Forthcoming Books

Author: Rose Arny

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 257

Building Character

Five Enduring Themes for a Stronger Early Childhood Curriculum

Author: Gayle Mindes

Publisher: Allyn & Bacon

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 289

View: 498

Contains thematic units and activities for the early childhood classroom that incorporate character education into the social studies and other areas of the curriculum.

Stories Neverending

A Program Guide for Schools and Libraries

Author: Jan Irving

Publisher: Libraries Unltd Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 160

View: 359

Brimming with inspiration and creative ideas, this guide presents you with a wealth of thematic programs and lively, book-based activities for public library, school library, and elementary classroom settings, complete with practical instructions for implementation. Each chapter focuses on a theme or curriculum area--from Red Hot Readers and Math Countdown to Barrel of Fun and Poetry Place--and offers an annotated list of picture books and chapter books for use with the topic. Also included are complete programs containing step-by-step instructions, materials lists, reproducible patterns, scripts, and stories. Grades K-6

Literature-based Instruction with English Language Learners, K-12

Author: Nancy L. Hadaway

Publisher: Prentice Hall

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 294

View: 619

This book takes a literature-based approach to how children learn language and how it is taught in today's diverse K-12 classrooms. The material is based on the belief that literature offers the most effective instructional approach for English language learners. The book offers meaningful reading, writing, speaking, and listening activities, as well as new understandings about the forms and functions of written language. This is the first book that offers instructors guidance in expanding the range of materials they use for teaching ESL by going beyond the standard texts to include books of all kinds - children's literature, trade books, magazines, and other media. "Voices from the Classroom: Scenarios from K-12 classrooms with English language learners" are provided throughout the chapters, offering practical stories from teachers' points of view.K-12 Educators with diverse student populations.

Collaborating to Meet Literacy Standards

Teacher/librarian Partnerships for K-2

Author: Toni Buzzeo

Publisher: Linworth Publishing, Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 271

View: 786

Provides fifteen teaching units to demonstrate how teachers and librarians can collaborate to help students in grades K-2 improve their skills and test scores for national literacy standards.

Cataloging Bulletin

Author: Hennepin County Library. Cataloging Section

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cataloging

Page:

View: 991

Harcourt Health and Fitness

Author:

Publisher: Hmh School

ISBN:

Category: Health education (Elementary)

Page: 456

View: 955

Harcourt Health and Fitness (grades K-6) is a brand new program designed to help students develop positive behaviors and attitudes that lead to a lifetime of good health.