Emergency Contact

Author: Mary H. K. Choi

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 400

View: 855

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she’d somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind. Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.

Emergency Contact

Author: Susan Peterson

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 476

BEAUTIFUL WEAPON Tess woke up naked, confused…and without a single memory. But she knew something terrible was about to happen. She could trust no one, but Dr. Ryan Donovan's soothing voice calmed her fears and called to her woman's heart. The trouble was, he worked for the enemy…. Ryan had heard of sleepers before…ordinary men and women brainwashed to perform horrible acts, but he couldn't believe Tess was capable of violence. She was beautiful and funny, and in desperate need of a protector. But when her nightmares increased, the clock began ticking down. If Ryan wanted to protect Tess, he had to first betray his closest of allies, and then stop her at all costs….

Emergency Notification

Author: Robert C. Chandler

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 210

View: 992

This text provides critical information to help organizations improve their emergency communications, including the tools, automation technology, and processes of crisis notification. • Presents a complete background on emergency notification, including the seven basic phases of every emergency or crisis, and key attributes that make an emergency message effective and successful • Includes a sound, carefully-conceived plan to improve the crisis readiness of any organization

Emergency Contact

Short Story

Author: Michael Christie

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 50

View: 637

From the critically-acclaimed The Beggar’s Garden, “Emergency Contact” is the darkly comic tale of an emotionally isolated woman searching for human contact and love. The Beggar’s Garden follows a diverse group of characters, from a bank manager to a drug addict to a retired Samaritan, a web designer, and a car thief, as they drift through each other’s lives in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside. Michael Christie’s debut collection, it won the Vancouver Book Award, was longlisted for the Giller Prize, and was a finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. HarperCollins brings great works of literature to life in digital format, upholding the highest standards in ebook production and celebrating reading in all its forms. Look for more titles in the HarperCollins short-stories collection to build your digital library.

Professional Crystal Reports for Visual Studio .NET

Author: David McAmis

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Computers

Page: 384

View: 755

What is this book about? The addition of Crystal Reports 9.0 to Visual Studio .NET 2003 offers developers a reporting tool that allows you to turn almost any data into interactive, dynamic content through portals, wireless devices, and Microsoft Office documents. This code-intensive guide takes you step by step through developing reports and incorporating them into applications. First, you gain a thorough understanding of how this version of Crystal Reports differs from previous versions and how it fits into the .NET platform. Then you begin creating reports and learn how to integrate them into both Windows and Web-based applications. You explore XML Web services, find out how to work with ADO.NET, and learn to use formulas and logic in your reports. Finally, you develop distributed reporting applications and discover how to deploy the applications you have created. Packed with real-world examples of working applications, this comprehensive second edition provides a complete understanding of commonly used features, examples of integration with a variety of databases and platforms, and much more. What does this book cover? Here are some details on what you'll discover in this book: Advanced report design Methods for creating reports using the Expert How to integrate reports into Windows and Web-based applications Development and deployment of distributed reporting applications How to create XML Report Web Services and work with ADO.NET Tips for using parameters with Crystal Reports and customizing the report content at run-time Options for working with different data sources How to use the features contained in the properties, methods, and events associated with the Crystal Reports engine Who is this book for? This book is for programmers seeking a comprehensive guide to the functionality of Crystal Reports for Visual Studio .NET. You should have some experience with .NET and Visual Studio .NET. Some familiarity with Crystal Reports is helpful, although this update includes a large section on report design.

Occupational Emergency Medicine

Author: Michael Greenberg

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Medical

Page: 256

View: 662

With a large proportion of emergency admissions due to occupational health problems, the effect this can have on your practice cannot be ignored. Owing to the shortage of occupational physicians and limited worker access to health care, the diagnosis and treatment of occupational diseases rely increasingly on the emergency physician. Apart from extra paperwork, owing to the extra legal and administrative regulations, a lack of knowledge of occupational medicine can risk a missed diagnosis. This burden of work means occupational disorders impact the whole of the emergency department. Michael Greenberg addresses your questions and concerns about the management of these patients: from triage to discharge, and beyond for all work-place injuries or disorders, whether office-based, agricultural or industrial and their employment regulations Occupational Emergency Medicine is an essential reference for emergency physicians and trainees, featuring comprehensive information on legal issues involving the physician, and advice on managing occupational health admissions.