Echoes of the Goddess

Tales of Terror and Wonder from the End of Time

Author: Darrell Schweitzer

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 274

View: 99

"[This] novel has immense power in its climax," said The Encyclopedia of Fantasy about Darrell Schweitzer's 1982 novel, THE SHATTERED GODDESS. Now, at last, here's the companion volume to that work, a cycle of eleven stories set "in the time of the death of the Goddess." This is an Earth of the far future, when the planet has declined into chaos, and darkness looms at the end of human history. Here you'll meet...a dadar, a wizard's shadow attempting to become a man; two sorcerers grotesquely transformed by their fratricidal hatred; a musician who becomes the lord of death; a boy-priest consumed by divine visions; and a witch who loves a god, among many others. Here's strangeness, wonder, and terror in the tradition of Clark Ashton Smith's Xothique or Jack Vance's The Dying Earth. Schweitzer is a master fantasist, whom anthologist Mike Ashley once called "today's supreme stylist." Great fantasy reading, now collected into book form for the first time!

Echoes of the Goddess

A Quest for the Sacred Feminine in the British Landscape

Author: Simon Brighton

Publisher: Ian Allen Pub

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 463

PRE-CHRISTIAN EUROPEAN & MEDITERRANEAN RELIGIONS. In pre-Christian Britain the Great Goddess was worshipped either as an equal to the Gods or as an individual deity. From the Palaeolithic 'Earth Mother' to the Celtic goddesses of Boadicea and the Brigantes, this land once revered the divine feminine. Investigations into the history of the Great Goddess presents many questions. Over the past five years Simon Brighton and Terry Welbourn set out to discover what happened to the Goddess after she was evicted from her elevated position. Travelling throughout Britain, they have uncovered traces of the divine feminine: from holy wells and shrines, lost underground chambers to folklore, legends and fairy tales. Between them they have researched and photographed hundreds of sites.

Echoes

Lucifer and the Dark Goddess

Author: nikki broadwell

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 129

Dystopian fantasy set in the desert

A Stir of Echoes

Author: RŽgis Auffray

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 336

View: 238

Much has been stated about poetry. OPoetry is what in a poem makes you laugh, cry, prickle, be silent, makes your toe nails twinkle, makes you want to do this or that or nothing, makes you know that you are alone in the unknown world, that your bliss and suffering is forever shared and forever all your own.O Dylan Thomas OPoetry can be dangerous, especially beautiful poetry, because it gives the illusion of having had the experience without actually going through it.O Rumi OPoetry is an echo, asking a shadow to dance.O Carl Sandburg OPoetry is a word-fed spring flowing from the consciousness of the poetOs mind.O RZgis Auffray With OA Stir of EchoesO it is the authorOs hope that the reader will be able to appreciate and perhaps to identify with the various situations, dilemmas, conflicts, miseries, euphoria, etc. that are expressed and consequently shared through his verses. The verses offer a glimpse into the authorOs soul and thus a way to get to know him more intimately.

The Sleuth and the Goddess

Hestia, Artemis, Athena and Aphrodite in Women’s Detective Fiction

Author: Susan Rowland

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 272

View: 615

Rowland presents a detailed exploration of how the archetypes of ancient goddesses Hestia, Artemis, Athena and Aphrodite breathe into and shape female-authored detective fiction. Representing aspects of characterisation not bound by gender, the book examines how these archetypes emerge in themes like the home and hearth, hunting, survival and desire. Rowland assesses numerous examples from a range of works, providing a clear illustration of each archetype and illuminating aspects of femininity, psyche and being. This uniquely interdisciplinary work of literary analysis sheds light on the popularity and underlying mystique of the genre.

Shelley's Goddess

Maternity, Language, Subjectivity

Author: Barbara Charlesworth Gelpi

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 311

View: 866

Gelpi examines the importance of the mother-infant relationship in Percy Bysshe Shelley's poetry and life. Her book also uses Shelley as a touchstone by which to examine the rich historical and theoretical issues relevant to motherhood in the Romantic period.

Weird Tales #325

Author: Darrell Schweitzer

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 64

View: 988

Weird Tales #325 (Fall 2001) features "From Out of the Crocodile's Mouth," by Darrell Schweitzer; "The Gravedigger's Apprentice," by Alvin Helms; "Our Temporary Supervisor," by Thomas Ligotti; "Where All Things Perish," by Tanith Lee; "The Wizard of Ashes and Rain," by David Sandner, and more.

Around the Outsider

Essays Presented to Colin Wilson on the Occasion of His 80th Birthday

Author: Colin Stanley

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 334

View: 465

In May 1956, aged just 24, Colin Wilson achieved success and overnight fame with his philosophical study of alienation and transcendence in modern literature and thought, The Outsider. Fifty-four years on, and never out of print in English, the book is still widely read and discussed, having been translated into over thirty languages. In a remarkably prolific career, Wilson, a true polymath, has since written over 170 titles: novels, plays and non-fiction on a variety of subjects. This volume brings together twenty essays by scholars of Colin Wilson's work worldwide and is published in his honour to mark the author's 80th birthday. Each contributor has provided an essay on their favourite Wilson book (or the one they consider to be the most significant). The result is a varied and stimulating assessment of Wilson's writings on philosophy, psychology, literature, criminology and the occult with critical appraisals of four of his most thought-provoking novels. Altogether a fitting tribute to a writer

Lord Dunsany

A Comprehensive Bibliography

Author: S. T. Joshi

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 304

View: 451

Anglo-Irish writer Lord Dunsany (1878–1957) was a pioneering writer in the genre of fantasy literature and the author of such celebrated works as The Book of Wonder (1912) and The King of Elfland’s Daughter (1924). Over the course of a career that spanned more than five decades, Dunsany wrote thousands of stories, plays, novels, essays, poems, and reviews, and his work was translated into more than a dozen languages. Today, Dunsany’s work is experiencing a renaissance, as many of his earlier works have been reprinted and much attention has been paid to his place in the history of fantasy and supernatural literature. This bibliography is a revision of the landmark volume published in 1993, which first charted the full scope of Dunsany’s writing. This new edition not only brings the bibliography up to date, listing the dozens of new editions of Dunsany’s work that have appeared in the last two decades and the wealth of criticism that has been written about him, but also records many obscure publications in Dunsany’s lifetime that have not been previously known or identified. In all, the bibliography has been expanded by at least thirty percent. Among this new material are dozens of uncollected short stories, newspaper articles, and poems, and many books, essays, and reviews of Dunsany’s work published over the past century. Altogether, this bibliography is the definitive listing of works by and about Dunsany and will be the foundation of Dunsany studies for many years to come.

The Emperor of the Ancient Word and Other Fantastic Stories

Author: Darrell Schweitzer

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 230

View: 815

Seventeen fantasies by one of the field's most prolific short story authors, including tales of...mad gods, specters returning from the beyond, inexplicable enigmas from outer space, a romantic and surreal interlude of the legendary madman, Tom O'Bedlam, time travel to allow an irate professor to settle the Shakespearean authorship controversy, and the King Arthur legend--plus genuinely frightening horror, including the celebrated story, "The Dead Kid." Mike Ashley calls the author "today's supreme stylist" of fantasy, and Tanith Lee says that "Schweitzer is a story-teller, by whose smoky fire one may sit spellbound." First-rate stories of the fantastic by a World Fantasy Award winner!

Discovering H.P. Lovecraft

Author: Darrell Schweitzer

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 172

View: 913

A definitive look at the life and work of horror writer H.P. Lovecraft, by a leading scholar of the fantasy and horror field. INTRODUCTION, by Darrell Schweitzer NOTES ON AN ENTITY, by Robert Bloch A LITERARY COPERNICUS, by Fritz Leiber, Jr. THE FOUR FACES OF THE OUTSIDER, by Dirk W. Mosig THE FIRST LEWIS THEOBALD, by R. Boerem STORY-WRITING: A Letter from H. P. Lovecraft CHARACTER GULLIBILITY IN WEIRD FICTION, by Darrell Schweitzer SOME THOUGHTS ON LOVECRAFT, by Arthur Jean Cox THE DERLETH MYTHOS, by Richard L. Tierney GENESIS OF THE CTHULHU MYTHOS, by George Wetzel LOVECRAFT’S LADiES, by Ben P. Indick WHEN THE STARS ARE RIGHT, by Richard L. Tierney LOVECRAFT AND LORD DUNSANY, by Darrell Schweitzer H. P. LOVECRAFT AND PSEUDOMATHEMATICS, by Robert Weinberg TEXTUAL PROBLEMS IN LOVECRAFT: A Preliminary Survey, by S. T. Joshi H. P. LOVECRAFT: THE BOOKS, by Lin Carter H. P. LOVECRAFT: A BASIC READING LIST, compiled by Darrell Schweitzer

Echoes of an Old Bell

And Other Tales of Fairy Lore

Author: Augusta Bethell

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fairy tales

Page: 231

View: 162